Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Miroir du Mort

by graebor - Jam Entry

You play as a vampire holding a mirror. You can reflect beams of sunlight to use as a weapon, but watch your back - you’re vulnerable to it, too!

Controls:
Keyboard: Arrows/WASD to move, K/L to rotate
Controller: Left stick to move, Right stick to rotate


Code by @graebor
Art by @amymja
featuring music by Kevin Macleod

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#5Overall(Jam)4.37
#6Fun(Jam)4.24
#7Theme(Jam)4.46
#11Mood(Jam)4.32
#20Graphics(Jam)4.63
#22Innovation(Jam)4.17
#207Humor(Jam)3.48

Comments

christophowa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Very cool game, love the setting and mechanics. Very fun and will come back to replay this with a controller.

Ludomade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Great concept, requires quick thinking and logic to get through. Very nice!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:07am

Good and very polished entry, the candle challenge is a good find, very professional game. Winning is sometime easy as zombies suicide themselves on light so you just have to run around ad wait

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:14am

Fantastic graphics and atmosphere. Great sound too, I loved the "ting" of the lights bouncing off each mirror. I really enjoyed the tension/chaos once once of the mirror vampires started shining at me. The candle thing added a nice element of replayability. I got 43.
A couple of things you could improve. The controller support wasn't great, I fared better on a keyboard. Also it often felt easier to lure the bad guys into an existing beam than employ my mirror. It would be better if they were only damaged if the light came off a mirror. Other than that excellent work!

Kihira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:22am

Very cool game. Interesting mechanics, and I love the spooky art style and music.

th4t says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30am

Love the vampires, the death cries remind me of my first zombie game sounds :D Great levels and mechanics.

Conk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:39am

Absolutely fantastic! Managed 49/60 Candles. Game is pretty much perfect all around, the mirrors are just super awesome. Going to be hard to beat.

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Great game! Would love to be able to rotate the mirror with the mouse though. Loved the effects and the art style. Seen the mechanics before, but they are solid.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Phew did it. Awesome game. Visuals are spot on, excellent use of lighting effects and very satisfying to reflect tonnes of beams about the place trying to hit the reflective enemies. Lots of levels and some good puzzly waves, all in all an impressive quickfire little game.

My only niggle is playing on controller the aiming seemed really sensitive. Hardly enough to dull the experience though, excellent work all!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Really nice! Very beautiful art and levels, and the game runs very smoothly. Would have been nice if the vampires could hurt you if they're in your face, and also that the candle challenge/bonus was announced before starting the game, not after completing it. Anyway, excellent job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Impressive! I really like how you polished the title screen. The music and the 3D graphics are lovely. The game is a bit hard but well. Congratulations ^^.

UserAnon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:17am

Very very cool, love the concept :D

CireNeikual says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:56am

Very well made! The graphics were very nice! The AI could use some improvement though, the enemies would usually just mindless run into the lasers.

Ghen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:01am

cool idea!, i love the halloween type music and graphics, quite good mechanic, and unique use of light as weapon, very well done indeed!

Hambone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:02am

Art was very cool.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:04am

Very innovative and great game design.
5 stars for you, Fantastic!

snapman_GT says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:52am

Very nice puzzle mechanic, but the huge amount of life I had to make mistakes with kinda meant I ended up blundering my way through your nice puzzles. Perhaps a directing control not based on slow rotations would allow for the kind of precise control that would make the generous life system less necessary? Overall a nice and charming actionpuzzler game.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:11pm

5 for GFX!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Nice idea and very good graphics! Sound also feels nice, but the game needs mouse controls.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Had great fun playing it (also great take on the theme). My only wish was that there was a larger variety of encounters later on (rather than just the two simple types of enemies).
Graphics/mood is all perfect. The audio also fit well, but I guess that wasn't made by you.

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:19pm

I love the concept, it's really a great idea for the theme well done =)

dydx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Awesome job! I beat the whole game, it's so much fun.

Anas Azmi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:30pm

So polished! Good level design too. I like the fact that you're also damaged by the light, as if you're the same creature as your enemies. Kinda reminds me of Boktai because you use light to defeat an enemy, you require some thinking to pass a level, and (specifically in Boktai 2) your weapon can be your enemy. All in all, fun game!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:41am

Absolutely blown away by this game!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:30am

A really novel game mechanic. Really enjoyed it. 5/5 for theme.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Pssst - We played your game on Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://youtu.be/bmGF2UmUdLM

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Really well made game. Very fun to play. Well done job

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Excellent graphics, extremely polished. Great sense of atmosphere. Very cool mechanics as well. Nice job!

ALobker says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:00pm

I came here from the Button Masher Bros and I really liked your game. Occasionally my GTA2-brain would ruin things (up is forward, and not up)

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:05pm

I saw your game in the video. Really, amazing work! Congrats =)

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Super polished!! congraz!!In love with the spooki music!!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:53am

Phenomenal! The game is super polished and well designed. Fast paced too! One possible minor complaint is that there doesn't really seem to be a reason for carrying over the current health of the player to the next level, since there are no lives and such. I personally think it would be better to just reset the life after each level. That's a minor point though, amazing job!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:06am

So polished! The mirror mechanic is genius. I think the control scheme could use a little refinement, just so the player is able to control the reflection angle more precisely. Perhaps if you smoothed the input a little bit that would do the trick. Congratulations on an awesome game :)

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Oh man, that's my favourite game so far - great idea and fun game - congrats!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Loved the art and the way that light works in this game. Very cool (I had to use the Web GL version which was a bit slow and I couldn't get the controller to work on, but it was pretty easy to use the keyboard instead)

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Awesome. I loved pushing the enemies into the lazor beams of death.

BIZM says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Really great job you guys! Innovative concept, nice mechanics and smart level design. The graphics are very polished and the characters are really cute and fun! Congrats :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:46am

Great use of theme and incredible art - that bat transition is perfect! Mouse controls for aiming might be something to test - k/l felt a little slow/inaccurate in certain situations (particularly on higher levels)

Split82 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Very very nice. If the controls were a little bit snappier this would be perfect.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:22am

This game is graphically stunning. Nice game mechanics fun levels. 5 stars.

Clavus says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:47am

Great work! Lovely art style and solid game mechanics. The enemies with mirrors are quite tricky to beat and usually turn things into a laser show.

f7f5 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Loved the idea. Superb production. The game is very fluid. Some levels could be improved, as you can just hide near a side and wait until all the enemies commit suicide.

jprogman says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:59am

Very well done entirely! The game, the graphics, the music... all superb! Clever level designs with a simple objective. Most of the times the enemy just walk right into the light, which saves me some work, heh!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Great game, I love that you got that little replay challenge with the candles in there.

scumbly says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Great mechanic and a perfect fit for the challenge.

May 1, 2015 @ 4:33pm

I wish I could spend more time on each of the levels to just play around. Sometimes the controller controls were a little bit over sensitive. Really nice idea, and wonderfully executed.

micahcowan says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Awesome. Left me wanting more. Those guys with the mirrors could be so infuriating. How dare you have weaponry equal to my own! Heh. :)

Fantastic graphics and ambience, and really polished. And the game feels like a puzzle game (love puzzle games!), even if it's probably more action than puzzle.

joekinley says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:00pm

A pretty cool game. I liked the overall idea, and the completedness of the game. A lot of levels, nice polish, and even some hidden stuff for replayability value. I like, good job.

FeniX says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Very enjoyable game. I like the fact that some zombies also have mirrors. However, that's a pitty that sometimes it's easier to wait for zombies to kill themselves. ^^ The candles challenge is a good idea, it made me play the game again. :D

Team-KwaKwa says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Very interesting concept, the progression was a bit unbalanced and AI a bit dumb, but it is still a 5-stars game for me. Would like to see it fully completed as a released game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]