Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ice Princess

by pinkmonkeyhead - Compo Entry

---------PLAY ON WINDOWS/MAC TO GET FULL GRAPHIC FEATURES----------
---THE GAME WAS MADE TO WORK ON 450x300. DONT TRY TO FULLSCREEN---
--------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy birthday Mrs. Cookie! Happy... I guess.
Use all you have to fulfill you wife's desires. Sometimes even using your own children as weapon!

Ice Princess was made in Unity5
3D models: Assembled in Autodesk 123D Catch and refined in Blender
Music: FL Studio
SFX: Bfxr.net
Images, textures, fonts: Photoshop

Known bugs:
- The first child takes a while to create and sometimes crash the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics4.73
Coolness78%
#30Humor4.06
#70Audio3.78
#74Mood3.75
#76Innovation3.94
#87Theme4.00
#163Overall3.66
#755Fun2.82

Comments

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:33am

The Windows download link isn't working! 404!!

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34am

I was not expecting child kamikazes and bread sex to be in a game called Ice Princess lol!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34am

Very cool game! Love the music and graphical style. I had the same reaction as the main character when I found out what to do with my kids.

Awesome job!

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:35am

i like it!
the controls are off. i got frustrated after trying to escape from the enemies after the mountain since I could not see them until it was too late.

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Wow, this has some serious graphics!

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24pm

This is both adorable and really weird ! The controls are frustrating, but the graphics are great. The "children exploitation" mechanic is fun. Good job finishing your project in time :) !

Static 64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38pm

The graphics in this are amazing! The game itself was kind of strange, but fun anyway.
I had trouble getting passed the enemies, and the pacing was a little slow, but it was interesting to play.

Static 64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Oh, in addition to my other comment, I have to say it kind of reminded me of the Pikmin games, probably because of the art style.

Ellian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Astounding graphics. The blur effect makes it really good, and... hell, the writing is nice too!
Love it, amazing work here. Thanks. :D

Polyomino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:05pm

loved the Tilt shift effect! really gave you a sense of tiny-ness, music was good, writing was funny.The controls were a bit wobbly and that enemy is impossible to get past. fantastic game!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:34am

Very nice entry! I think the 3d scanned visuals look great!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10am

When I start windows version it launches in small window. I press Alt+Enter to switch into full screen. But in full screen mode I see text, but can't see anything alse. Only text and black screen. And what if more awful - I can't switch back. Every time I launch the game it starts in full size window. I try to open source files in Unity to play there. But something was not right. I found one one empty scene. So sad. I can't play in your game. I thought you have a web version.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:41am

Great idea! Wondeful atmosphere! Black humor! :D
Freaking nice audio! Overall - insane good game!
Ps.: Controversial children mechanics :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:55pm

@Yaroslav Kravtsov I removed the web version exactly because of this problem you stated. I thought it was happening only on the web version... I will enable again

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:41pm

I will comment with a link to a gamplay and review video soon!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:59am

I can't say I've ever played anything like it.

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:34am

I love the 3D models. Very unique game.

benjamck says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:30am

Very charming little game. I never thought I'd care so much about little pebbles! I love how all the little children have their own names floating over their heads. So sad when you have to blow them up! It gave me a good chuckle. Well done! And thanks for sharing your behind the scenes process, how you were able to create some truly photo-realistic art. It was like watching a video play out under my guidance.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:07am

I went into this game thinking that I would only really find the visuals impressive. Well the visuals ARE very impressive, but it turns out the rest of the game is also very appealing.

The writing you did for the dialogue was surprisingly witty and clever. Sure it's sort of silly, and it's mostly just demands to go do stuff, but it really adds to the game where I wasn't expecting it.

Speaking of things I wasn't expecting... turns out the game mechanics are also refreshing and just as clever as the dialogue. Sending your kids to go self destruct for the common good of the family? Pure gold.

And of course the visuals... oooh the visuals are a treat. I just adore moving the super realistic tiny objects around. Seriously it's incredibly impressive looking. It reminded me a little bit of Pikmin to be honest, what with moving tiny little random objects around.

It's not without a couple of issues however. Trying to go backwards is a buggy mess. The camera view turns but the character just... yeah, it doesn't work very well. I think you probably should have just prevented the ability of going backwards rather than keeping that in.

I downloaded the game for windows and was initially sort of perplexed as to why you chose to go with such a tiny resolution. I got accustomed to it after a while though. Also even though I like the tilt-shift edge blurring effect, I think you may overdone it just a bit.

I did have have problems with the bear soldier, I just couldn't get past him. I did stun him once, but didn't take advantage of it and run away. I tried to keep bombing him and well... "woke up" again. Which, btw, the difficulty of that portion is emphasized even greater because you can't skip dialogue and you have to make the little trek back. I probably died almost ten times and just started to not enjoy playing after that.

I also did Alt+Enter and it messed up the files or something permanently. I even went so far as to re-download the files and it still didn't work properly afterwards. Do you save other files somewhere or something? I thought that was extremely strange and I literally just can't play the game on my computer anymore, locally anyway. I can still run it from Firefox.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:12am

Delightfully weird.

strega says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:37am

This is so gorgeous! Thanks for sharing your technique in a post it was really interesting to see and brought me to your game. Which is totally wild and pikmin-esque! So much charm!

I accidentally clicked on one of the images on the page and it closed the game and lost all my progress T____T

Lerc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:52am

Delightfully mad.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:51am

Well wow, it looks really good. Not quite sure where to go, but cool

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Cool idea and aesthetic, but the controls really get in the way. =( Trying to walk in reverse just makes the camera flip out. Turning feels too fast; this might be less of an issue if the camera position was elastic with respect to the character (lerp to position/rotation) and if the character's rotation speed was absolute, no acceleration. I frequently detonated my children prematurely because it's difficult to execute a right click on a buttonless touchpad without it getting interpreted as a left click occasionally.

I'm not sure what you were supposed to do with the enemy. After half a dozen deaths I gave up because the dialogue was unskippable and there was a significant trudge back to the fight. Improving the character controls and drastically shortening the delay before child detonation would probably help there.

The tilt/shift effect was nice, but a little too extreme. The candy characters were cute, but it was also tough to tell which way a round character was facing. The candy box art was fantastic, and the ground surface was nicely textured. The exercise-induced growth and reproduction was a great idea.

With better controls, this could be really nice.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:47pm

What an interesting game - did the story/mechanics occur to you after capturing the models, or the other way around? Very impressed with the look that you have managed to get with this technique. Congratulations!

Skiddings says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 10:57pm

It looks great and is lovely, but the controls make it very difficult to play

Mantlair says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Cool. But couldnt done anything about the soldier.

LeoM says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Very good one !
Kids may be usefull. ;)

FrederickK says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:16am

What an unique experience!
But I must say, the control is awful, is very hard to retreat and when you send your bombs is already too late.
Despite from that, very well done!

May 11, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Such a cute game, I really love it. So lovely. I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/eqkTJc6zIls

binasa says ...
Jul 24, 2017 @ 4:43pm

"The best thing about the future is that it comes one day at a time".http://gagarina27k6.ru/Android/descargar-mvp-caribe-2011-para-pc-gratis.html When I tried to sign up for an account, I noticed that their SSL certificat (secure connection to their Web site) was expired, WHAT.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]