Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Collapse

by phaze112 - Jam Entry

You've found the controls to an old tunnel collapser, or some such.
Press and hold (mouse or spacebar) to collapse the trap. Release to expand.
Each activation costs 1 token.
Don't let 10 people get past, or you lose, because reasons.

If you get bored, you can add more people by pressing 9, add a mechanic by 0, or go straight to upgrading with 1-5. Oh, and right click to splatter blood.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Humor(Jam)3.63
#230Theme(Jam)3.76
#257Mood(Jam)3.43
#335Innovation(Jam)3.36
#443Graphics(Jam)3.44
#467Audio(Jam)2.88
#543Fun(Jam)3.00
#574Overall(Jam)3.15
#1497Coolness45%

Comments

chanko08 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13am

The idea is pretty amusing. I liked the sound effects added for the hamster

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Cool concept! but I think it's missing something

The graphics were quite nice and made for a satisfying crushing of the mole people. The flickering of the lights and the hamster wheel were a nice touch, but it got grating after a bit.

I feel that the gameplay is missing something, because it often doesn't feel like there's that big of a challenge. Granted, it is super fun to crush people (morbid of me to say but whatever, it's fun). I often found myself waiting eagerly and clapping my hydraulic metals hands with excitement at the growing stack of people. Thennnn, smush.

It is a fun idea, do more with it though!

-Sirmi: Team Toast

dvdfu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:16am

Very gruesome! I like that a hamster controlled the whole contraption.

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:36am

Ha ha! It's great! Very fun. But I think you need more game play.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:41am

There isn't much going on in this game. It lacks challenge and diversity. Having the crusher be hamster powered was pretty funny though.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:43am

I actually find the fact that your deathtrap is pretty much controlled by a little hamster on a wheel to be rather hilarious. It's a pretty fun entry to play but it doesn't seems to be quite challenging enough.

gormed says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:42am

Cool idea, but i think base defense lives from base building. I think that is what is missing. But cool theme and art :)

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:39am

It's interesting but it could use some more context

dallonf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Not really sure what's going on here... Seems most effective to simply wait with the piston collapsed for a bunch of guys to cluster up, then let them in, then quickly collapse the piston again. No upgrades needed.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:17am

The sound, while probably better than nothing, got really annoying after a while. Needed something else to really make it a game, just felt like a weird crushing simulator.

someone says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:31am

Nice idea.
Seemed to slow down a lot after a while though.
Also applying camouflage to the top crusher never seemed to work.
There doesn't seem to be any point to the power upgrade other than make it slower so you lose

Dorgam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:38am

Killing people is fun. Killing people who tried to screw me is even more fun!
* I couldn't figure out how to restart after I "died".
* I didn't know what the upgrades were. It's just like the 0 mechanic, isn't it? :D
* I wished I had a way to regain life.
* The game got more sluggish as the number of people increased. That could be my system.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:46am

Nice! I love the simplicity of it, and the mechanic is a great touch. I also love how the people will start moving faster when you try to crush them, so you have to take that into account. I want to hear sound effects when you crush things, though!

SowiHowl says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:23am

Good work, but as others said, adding something to the gameplay would improve it, it looks like something is missing to make it great.

shyupuff says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:48am

Nice sound design. Awesome graphics and animation and sense of progression. Nice job :D

davient says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:23am

Splatter! Could do with some gameplay variation. Enjoyed, and I feel bad for doing so

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]