Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dollheart

by Chaoseed - Jam Entry

Dollheart!...is incomplete.

I had big ideas, and I was able to put together a mini-visual novel engine in Javascript. There's an intro to what is planned to be a fascinating cyberpunk story of an abandoned "companion android", colloquially known as a "love doll". However, it's more of a proof of concept than anything else.

The artwork is random stuff from Open Game Art, most of it of wildly clashing styles.

But hey, you can check out the code. It's free!

Tested on Mozilla Firefox 37.0.1. Who knows what other browsers it works on.

EDIT April 28: NOTE that on the Dollheart page there is now a link to a "post-jam version"! That page has a list of updates. (The original game is still playable and hasn't changed. The only change is, in fact, the link to the post-jam page.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#541Humor(Jam)2.81
#817Mood(Jam)2.61
#897Graphics(Jam)2.31
#928Innovation(Jam)2.27
#960Fun(Jam)2.33
#999Theme(Jam)2.24
#1032Overall(Jam)2.41

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:36pm

neat I guess. I'd like to see what this would look like if it were a finished game

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Well I like how you can turn in to a bulldozer.

lody says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:08pm

turning into a bulldozer threw me off a little XD good job on this system - its really cool :) maybe it could support mouse controls also? or could preventDefault so arrows don't move the page? ~well! i liked it meow! :3

nassi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:42pm

"Oh, is that you, Lexy? You look a bit different. Are you going after some particular client?

...Are people really into that?" who wouldn't love a bulldozer (I think that's a loader though :P)!

Took a peek at the source and you managed to separate the data and the engine quite nicely. Too bad you didn't get much done with the story. Still, an interesting tech demo.

philipp says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:10pm

It works on Chrome, too.

Too bad, that you couldn't expand on the idea, but it is a big idea after all :D Cool engine though.

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Stuck in bulldozer part, but I liked the way the story was heading. Simple and effective, keep it up :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Despite it is not finished, it was an interresting and inspiring experience ! thanks !

gnx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Engine seems to work alright :) Not really a lot to play in a sense of a game, but it looks nice and like you said it is a proof of concept.

el_kloklo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:03pm

I would love to see more.

jordgubben says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Nice to see more VN stuff on LD. To bad you did not have time to complete it.

mathmadlen says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Would be cool to see where you'd take it... Very intriguing story!

and the bulldozer... .D

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Interesting game, I enjoy visual novels. Good luck with its future development :)

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:40am

I'd recommend using proper engine if your goal is to make a VN, not to build engine. The story is really too short.

I think some long lines got a bit cut, btw.

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:49pm

caryoscelus: There are several reasons I made my own engine. First, I don't have to worry about the rights to the engine I'm using or whether I need to buy a license. Second, I had total control over how it worked, and I know it inside and out. Third, it was good coding practice.

And yes, I did say that the game is incomplete!

As for the long lines, during the contest I didn't have time to look into measuring and wrapping text. But I've done it now; the text in the post-jam version works better.

nihilaleph says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:14am

Very interesting! Good work on your engine! I would like to see the finished game~

LandoSystems says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:07am

Very good artwork and a nice interactive storyline. Good work!

caryoscelus says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:34am

Chaoseed, i obviously didn't meant using any proprietary engines, i mostly referred http://renpy.org/

Your third point (well, and second) is still valid, though, which is why i written "if your goal is to make a VN".

May 6, 2015 @ 7:59am

Played through both the LD version and the Post version. (Rating is for the original LD version of course)

I really enjoyed this game, although there wasn't too much I would like to see where this project heading! Great work! Loved the fact you could just turn into a bulldozer XD

jakub.gemrot says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:59am

You're a quite good writer, the beginning of the story is pretty catchy. And turning into bulldozer :D ... has potential!

Norgg says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Coolio. Played through the post-jam version and like the setting so far.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]