Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Randomsmith

by Catman - Compo Entry

You are the Randomsmith: the go-to weapon dealer for all the spy agencies in the world. Given any set of items, you can fabricate a very powerful weapon, and your wages are also really competitive!

Connect the given objects and make your clients happy by creating awesome weapons in a matter of seconds!

THE GAME IS PROCEDURAL, RETRY IT TO SEE DIFFERENT ITEMS (some are rare!)

----------------------
Goal:
- Connect as much items as you can to form a weapon.
- Get money as score!
- 6 levels, then you are given your final score.

----------------------
Controls:
- left mouse click to move an item
- right mouse click to rotate an item
- get two items close (and correctly oriented) to connect them

NOTE: The 'base' item (with the green pulsing sign) is the final weapon's handle, everything else MUST be connected to it someway, and you can drag and rotate the whole weapon by dragging it!

SEE THIS GIF: http://i.gyazo.com/17671ddb5e5a56e1c40613c10aeb6ad9.gif

----------------------
Score (money):
- You get points for each item you connect
- You get (more!) points for following blueprints (just connect the two shown items, no need to check orientation)
- You get less points for elapsed time! Be fast!

----------------------
Note for source code: you need DOTWEEN free version to build it!
Get it at http://dotween.demigiant.com/


Note: if you are using google Chrome, you need to enable the NPAPI plugins by opening a new tab and writing chrome://flags/#enable-npapi in the URL!

Note: I'll try to get a WebGL build running later.

Note: Mac and Linux builds were not tested! Let me know if something is wrong!



Post here your highscore!!!!! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Humor4.34
#22Innovation4.17
#83Theme4.02
#109Audio3.63
#114Graphics3.98
#129Overall3.72
#143Fun3.67
#286Mood3.26
#1601Coolness42%

Comments

Madball says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Lol, such a funny game! Why would we put a pencil in the cat's mouth, and a flashlight from the other side? Because, obviously, it make a very good weapon!
The game is too short, 6 levels isn't enough. But, if I play it twice, it has 12 levels!
After several tries, I managed to get 605 earnings.

Mimus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Fun, I do not understand everything, but fun.
(Google Translate, I'm French)

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:11pm

This was weeeeeird, why am i stuffing pencils into fish?! I quite liked it though!

Fenaer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Love it! Awesome music, fun concept.

Catman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Thanks guys!
My highscore was around 580 area, so good job Madball there! I'm going to get a higher one soon ;)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Very cool! Interesting combinations ahah

PixelMind says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Nice one. Took a little while to understand the concept but your gif video helped. After that it was a fun little discovery game :)

cicanci says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Really fun game!

Sogomn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34pm

What the *** did I just play? :D
REALLY cool idea and completely random (which is always good).
Nice music aswell.
Can't find the theme, tho.

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Fantastic game, hilarious! And really well polished too, I'm thoroughly impressed!

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:38pm

This was awesome, really funny, really enjoyable little game, great job man!

Catman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Thanks to everyone!

@Sogomn: these are awesome weapons, it's just that you don't get to use them since they are for undercover spies as the description tells! :D

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Even though I couldn't do what the blueprints told me to, and my high score was -9, I still found it unavoidably addictive. Awesome job. 5/5 stars.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41pm

The graphics are great! The game mechanics could use some polish (of course, it's LD game after all), but I really love it! Well done!

longshorts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:42pm

This was absolutely nuts. And I loved it.

Shared says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Very fun game, took time to understand the mechanics, but fun game

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:49pm

I'm confused right now. That poor goldfish. It will take me years to get over that.

I love this. Make more of this.

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Very silly. Basically my day job.

Polyomino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Really nice take on the theme. Well done!

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:55pm

It's a pretty good and funny game, but it's kind of annoying and tedious. I gave up after awhile. Nice job!

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:00pm

I got 480 :)

As for the game itself, it's pretty fun! I think some more interesting objects would have been good, and possibly collision detection (I'm pretty sure I made one of my weapons just loop around itself) Great audio and graphics though! And a really cute idea!

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:07pm

this is amazing and highly disturbing. O.o great submission.

Hatsome says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Loved it, the only thing thats left is a game where you can use all these weapons

Nysten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36pm

One of the top submissions! This could have been an endless game too. Funny, simple and very enjoyable. Funny combinations and the names get pretty weird, I made a thing called "Peanases"or something like that. ~430 was my best score. Thank you for this game.

Darkgoon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:57pm

It took me a while to start up but it's really funny, nice idea!

FungalCactus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:51pm

I can't figure out how to connect things.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:04pm

This was hilarious! i was pretty confused at first but after figuring out the connection points it became pretty clear. awesome job!

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Excellent job, great concept and so funny to create new items! But are you making weapons?

drludos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Nice idea!

It seems there is a problem with your Windows build archive - I've downloaded it and when launching the game I have the "this program is not a valid Win32 application" error message (I'm using WinXP)

Anikki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Weird.

HayBee05 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:17am

It was so random and funny. My highest score is 209 but I'll most likely play it some more.

flyingbear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28am

I just love how ridiculous this game is. It's one of those games where you can be so focused on the matter at hand (in this case connecting a pencil to a cat) until you take a step back and think "What on earth am I doing??"

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:35am

I don't even know how to pronounce what I'm making. This is great.

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:57am

I've seen your post on Saturday about the cat, it was rememberable))) Funny game)

dix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:36am

Very nice funny game :D Some of those puzzles are impossible XD

orukinawa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40pm

brb gonna go make a real life phtinguischligh

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:22pm

This was super fun to play around with, great sense of humour and fits the theme well. Awesome stuff!

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:48am

It seemed like a good idea, but I could hardly ever get anything to work. The graphics and music were good, but the gameplay didn't seem to work very well...

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Funny game and nice artwork haha But the gameplay seems confuse.

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Nice game. Good mechanics of combine things. I like it.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:56am

This gane's so fun, it's harmful! My cheeks hurt from laughing hahaha! "Catasebencil"? Hahahaha

The graphics style, audio and the concept, they fit too well and the way the game mixes the names of the objects was really well done! :D Loved it! :)

marinalucio says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:01am

This is a great idea! Really original. I still had problems figuring out how to connect things, the gif helped, but i guess your game is too difficult for me. :) I guess if i could see more of how all these crazy things i was creating could be used as a weapon the game would be perfect. Nice game! :)

SledKnight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I couldn't get anything to connect. Not sure what I was doing wrong... :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]