Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Shield Maiden

by bitslap - Compo Entry

Shield Maiden

A Mega Man vs Captain America vs Thor ripoff.

Best enjoyed with a gamepad.

Keyboard:
Arrows
X Jump
C Attack / Retrieve shield
V Action

Xbox Controller:
D-pad
A Jump
X Attack / Retrieve shield
B Action

Linux: 64bit users might want multiarch support.
OSX: You might want to lower the security settings if the file appears broken.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Graphics4.52
#30Fun3.98
#33Overall4.06
#84Audio3.72
#122Mood3.60
#295Theme3.66
#431Humor2.94
#433Innovation3.27
#1667Coolness40%

Comments

td2tl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:14am

Awesome entry! I like your pixel art and the animations are really cool.

ocarinasurge says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:44am

This is really awesome! If this doesn't become a full release, I think I'll die a little inside!

handkor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12am

I like your pixel art.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:18am

This is pretty damn amazing, love the art style, love the feel of the weapon, definitely a very very solid game here. Amazing work!

Maxr00 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:43am

Love the art, great job!

oranebeast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:50am

An amazingly executed fun game. Hit me right in the nolstagia. I noticed a small bug which I kept moving into the small goomba-like enemies great particles and not damaging me. Other than that; I'd love to see it fully expanded.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:25am

Excellent. Saw this being updated on the ld homepage, was not disappointed. Great, love me a shield.

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:29am

Weeee fun.

Wish it had a better learning curve tho :(
Getting too mad when i only advance 10 pixels per run.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:50am

Great graphics which isn't a surprise anymore. Love the amount of character you can put in such small sprites. The shield mechanic was well done and like that I felt like I was playing as Captain America. Hoping to see more levels.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Lovely art 'n effects, good bit of polish. Got kind of stuck when one of the flying enemies hit me and just sort've wobbled about, but like the Cap 'Merica mechanic!

nopogo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:50pm

This is so far the best pixel art I encountered playing this compo. Really well made. The animations also feel really polished

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Overall solid game. Pretty hard, but that's why I like it so much. Also, great graphics and audio as well. Awesome job!

aroymart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:37pm

This is the best game I've seen this LD. It's very fun and it looks beautiful. i love the shield mechanic, and finding out that the shield actually protects you was nifty. Overall really really great

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59pm

The shield throwing and retrieving mechanic is brilliant. I would love to see a full game of this.

rnlf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Looking really sweet, as usual! Took me a while to get used to the gameplay, but after that, it was a lot of fun.

The boss fight took very long and I had to retry several times until I noticed there's a glitch in the game that makes it a bit easier (muahaha).

Very good entry!

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Really great art and gameplay. The sound didn't work for me on linux but I will probably download the windows version and give it a try.

Hatsome says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Love the pixel art in the game and really cool weapon feel. I personally would add some lives instead of death on contact.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Very good! Keep it up!

GanonsSpirit says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:06pm

The boss took a little too long to kill for my liking, but everything else was great.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Great art, great controls and great enemy variety. Very impressed.

rxi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Really lovely; 100% bitslap style.

hexagore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Really nice use of colour to create a bit of depth. Also adorable. :)

Managore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25am

A fantastic game as always!

ryguydavis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:31am

Really, really good. It's easy to believe there's a much larger game there. I would be really excited to see a later release of this.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:47am

The pixel art is amazing. The innovation of the shield mechanics is amazing as well~ (And also exploitable when spammed) I certainly had some fun during the run~

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:19am

This is awesome

Humanoid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:52am

Very nice little platformer, but sadly very painfull to play on a QWERTZ keyboard :(

Almost says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:23am

The art is sweet and the shield throw is pretty decent. One hit death sucks and death that cuts to the menu instantly instead of after an animation or a delay is even worse since it looks like the enemy hasn't hit me yet and then I am on the menu.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Awesome game, without any doubt the best I've played so far in the compo category! Love the game feel, the concept is well-executed and your pixel art is gorgeous ! Excellent job overall bitslap !

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Wow, really nice and funny game, good job i really like it.
Have just one life is a bit frustating, becouse i die all the time!!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Great consistent style, looked very nice. The shield mechanic reminded me of Athena in Borderlands, it was well implemented and satisfying

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Keep working on this! Great idea and great gameplay!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I'd buy it. 10/10.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Looking good. Reminds to me megaman =)
But game too hard, because of perma-dead.

arhpositive says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Great graphics. Hardcore gameplay. One hit to die mechanic really tested my patience but on the other hand, I'd waste a ton of coins to this game if it was in an arcade cabinet. The base mechanic is simple and efficient. Solid entry.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Great entry, fantastic sound and visuals. I especially like the simple but quality animations. Gives me a very old school feel from the action to the level design. Although I wish the player had life so you didn't die in one hit.

LadyEnigma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Loving this game very much! The controls aren't very keyboard friendly. I kept forgetting which was the jump and which was the throw button but it is very fun to play and addicting. Really nice graphics and audio.

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:57pm

The game is really hard, I lost my shield a lot! I could've used some save points but otherwise the game is fun!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:07am

Very well polished in every aspect, but it's so unforgiving D:

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:58am

That was pretty epic. IT took me a while to get the hang of pulling the shield back to kill difficult enemies (including the boss.

If this were a longer game, I'd suggest dialing back the difficulty initially. Those enemies who float down from above were REALLY frustrating. :D

I loved this game, though. Great job!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:51am

Beautiful graphics, as always!
The game is hard and unforgiving... But you got a lot of material for a compo entry!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:03am

Awesome game man, had a lot of fun playing. Art style is great!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:05am

Excellent on all accounts.
I want more of it.
You're very talented.

Suese says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:17am

Nice colours. I can tell you are a real palette fetishist! I like the visual / audio feedback on things. I'm a big fan of white flashing objects. The gameplay is maybe a bit uninspired.

hellforge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:19am

Very well done! Love the style and everything else :D

bror_charlie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:30am

That was incredible buddy! A compo entry as well! I would happily play a full game of that. Good luck!

omaha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:38am

I'm confused about the mac port. Can you explain what's going on with this?
“Shieldmaiden.app” is damaged and can’t be opened. You should move it to the Trash.

What security settings are you suggesting that we should lower?

Split82 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:54am

Great graphics and a lot of fun.

shcromlet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Fun! Really difficult, but I imagine that was intentional.

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Super fun, super pretty, super sounding!

One major critique: the deaths are super jarring! Need a death frame and a fade to black to smooth that out a little. Great work! :)

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:33pm

definitely amazing game, will be waiting for the full release ;)

rogberth says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Intense game. Very well designed from the start to the end. Great job!!!

renatopp says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:10pm

It is the best entry so far. A bit frustrating given the single-hit kill, but still great. Will you do a full version of it?? I DEMAND!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:45pm

The art and gameplay are both absolutely fantastic. The sudden death is an annoyance though (being thrown straight to the title when you touch an enemy). I see that you already noted that in the post-mortem, so if you keep building this further I guess that would be one of the first things to polish.

kaype says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Damnnnn, this is hard :P

Reminds me a lot of Cave Story. Amazing graphics as usual, and the audio/music is pretty good too.

Chris Delta says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:04pm

I liked the Rom-hack style difficulty, but the things which your shield protects from seem random and inconsistent

dos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Really feels like an arcade game from 80s - with a learning curve of the arcade games from 80s ;D

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Excellent game! I really thought I was playing a NES game :)

xbcw says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Awesome. Really fun. The shield mechanic is great.

TravisChen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Awesome mechanic. Love the boomerang effect.

careless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:12am

Fantastic game, the pixel art is top notch. I have no idea how you got it so good in such a short space of time.

The controls are really good and I like the shield mechanic you have. Dragged the shield back and took out two enemies at once, very satisfying. I played on the keyboard but an old NES style usb controller would have been nice to use, I will try out the box controller later. Its tough on the keyboard and one hit kill is tough.

Really well done on a great game, one of the downloads I will be keeping :D

* * * * * you got my 5 stars

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:12am

Radicool!

zakchaos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:30am

Well done! eeerily similar to an idea i've had in my head for quite a long time, I love LD.

Manu & Wan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:42am

This was hard but very cool. Thanks for this game ;)

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:54am

very beautiful and well crafted game! I really like the feel of it and the sound effects were spot on ^_^

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:32am

Best game I've seen so far! If you made more levels I would pay for this lol! The art, audio, theme, everything was awesome. Only thing is I don't really know how to damage the double crow-head-type enemy, dunno if that's a bug or not, but it seemed like sometimes I hit him and it did nothing and sometimes it killed him. And also dunno if this is a bug or a feature, but if you shoot your shield under the boss, then pull it back before it hits the floor, it damages the boss multiple times. Such creative enemies and the mechanics were awesome, sometimes took a bit long to pull back the shield after sending it off into the distance lol, but was cool imagining what it was doing to any possible enemies ahead.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:55am

Reminds me of some sweet-ass Rygar Diskarmor! I love your art and the music is great but that jump sound gets old after a bit. The game is hard and requires good reflexes and concentration... and that's a good thing! Rad entry. Good work!

trenchgames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:20am

Awesome game. Great pixel art.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:11am

Feels great with an XBox controller. Wish I could get that kind of control feel in my stuff! :) Awesome work.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:44am

Nice platformer! You totally nailed the "megaman-like" style of the game in everything: art, sound and gameplay.

I think this would've also been a nice entry on that "you only get one" themed LD that happened! I like the art and animations, but the sound...oh boy...it's so good! :D

Wished there was a lifebar or something like Sonic's rings, though. :P

phi6 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Love it! As someone who also made a platformer/Metroidvania I was on the lookout for others and your pixel art grabbed my attention. Shield mechanic was really fun, game was pretty difficult though - not managed to beat it as of yet! Overall, top notch :)

rmc says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Just loved the gameplay! Animations and level design are awesome! I don't really think that a shield is an unconventional weapon, but nevertheless, awesome game!

drludos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Excellent game! The art and music are gorgeous, and the game is very fun to play. It's quite challenging, but I like that - it reminds me of Megaman :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Cool game. Nice art and music, and solid controls too. Might have been better with a life bar or at least more checkpoints. Good stuff!

pss says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:13pm

It's both pretty to look at and fun to play. Awesome!

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Excellent game! Loved it a lot

morokiane says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Awesome game.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Wicked game! Nice mechanic. Simple, consistent graphics. Great little backing melody. Insta-death = HARDCORE :D

Great job man!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:42am

artwork and music are great - i need to work on the controls when i play it again - nice job

voxel says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:01am

sexy pixel times nice fun happy shield sim good work hot job top dog

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:50am

Captain America!!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:00am

Great feel, great art, woo!

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Awesome!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:26am

I really wish it supported joystick, but even with the D-pad the controls feel great. Top notch quality overall. Good work.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:46am

Just beautiful!

Arche-san says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Excellent job ! The shield mechanism is really good idea for the theme.
The game is difficult but once you understand the shield protects you and you don't need to spam it, the game is a little easier. :)

Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Super well made entry with great graphics! I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Q11RJey0954

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:46am

Virus scanner Avast keeps rejecting the rar file on Windows. I'll try it on other OSs when I have the time

bitslap says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:53am

I have scanned the file, it is fine. Avast is a bit too eager in your case.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:52am

Wow, this was great! I had a tough time with it at first, but it proved a really cool mechanic that was thoroughly engaging and fun. I'm not sure how well it'd scale up to a larger game, but for a short game like this entry it was more or less perfect.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Pssst! You are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysM6emYb6ZM

Jokerbomb says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Nice and tight =) sort of wish there was a health bar since I got to the boss and died.

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Really really good entry. Short, challenging and complete. I liked how responsive controls and how nice graphics are. Innovation part was a bit missing but still.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:01pm

This game is way too difficult. I'd like to say that the boss fight was amazing but I really didn't get that far and I don't think I want to anymore. U no checkpoints ?! Otherwise, really good mechanic, nice pixel art and cool music.

joe40001 says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:17am

This is a compo entry? How did you do the art? How did you do the music? It's really really polished for a solo 48 hour effort. I'm blown away by it.

It's so well done for such a short time it makes me want to give up game design because I could never make something this polished all by myself in 48 hours.

Well done

bitslap says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:48am

Joe. Art about 2 hours music 2 then the rest :)

hexdie says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:23am

Really great entry! I enjoyed this a lot! Everything is fantastic, including the art, music, controls, mechanics, and design. I think one of my favorite things about this is that the shield actually protects you and you are left defenseless when you attack. It's such a nice mechanic with good risk/reward. I have a couple of small criticisms but they pale in comparison what is good about this game. Those criticisms are:

1) It's hard to tell what actually kills those birds. The first couple took a ton of hits to kill and the last one I killed took just one hit. I'm not sure what exactly killed them.

2) It could have used some sort of transition or better indicator when you died. The sudden jump to a black screen was a bit jarring.

3) The music has a bit of silence at the end of the clip before it loops again. It was pretty noticeable to me.

Like I said though, those were incredibly minor complaints and what is great about this entry far outweighs those. Awesome work!

Snicklodocus says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:39am

Great pixel art! Cool idea to use a shield as a weapon. The game is very polished, though I thought taking you right to the title on death was a bit abrupt. I'd love to see more.

Crumpet says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 9:49am

Wonderful entry, marred only by the fact the game is short, the story somewhat inconclusive, music was too repetitive, the gameover screen is a bit sloppy, and the boss is so frustratingly health tanky.

Of course, I'm only pointing out the downsides because I feel that's more helpful, it's still an incredible entry.

cmayhem says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 10:54am

Great art, really solid gameplay. Well done!

May 6, 2015 @ 7:12am

Loved it. would like to see some more levels for this.

Druid says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Really solid entry! I love that retro vibe!

Pinpickle says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:21am

Art and audio are really good, and so is the concept and the controls. I'm not sure why but I can't seem to get into the gameplay itself.
Still, awesome game.

ehtd says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:58pm

The shield mechanic es very well done, nice art and feel. The controller did not worked for me.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:44pm

The windows version is undownloadable :(

Norgg says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Want mooooooooore! I was definitely hoping to find a doublejump powerup somewhere. :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]