Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Agents of YIELD

by nightlord - Compo Entry

In the future the world is invaded by aliens and they overpower all of our armies. But the international farming organization YIELD finds that the alien robots use an element in their circuitry that fails when it gets in touch with a corn seed. So they send one of their seeder robots to fight loaded with corn seeds. Agent Cornson…

I tried to do a fast fluid action game. I hope you enjoy it.

Gameplay video at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_blO0MMoE8

sorry for the source code being slightly messy. you know how it is when you code in "LD mode" :)

UPDATE(4.21.2015-1.45): there is a v1.1 with:
- 8 db lower volume for sound fx compared to music.
- ogg vorbis support for sound and is therefore a much smaller download package (1.14 MB vs 7MB compo version).
- looks slightly nicer since the walls also cast shadows now.
Everything else is same as the compo version. you can get v1.1 at:
http://nightnetwork.org/files/games/agents_of_yield_v1.1.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#344Audio3.09
#658Overall3.06
#729Mood2.72
#738Fun2.84
#805Humor2.23
#877Graphics2.48
#890Innovation2.59
#1050Theme2.39

Comments

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:26am

Controls feel a bit slow and clumsy. You could improve that.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:30am

Hey, great game!
It's really challenging and you kind of have to think forward because of the restricted movement type. Throw in some upgrades and you have a complete roguelike :)
I enjoyed it a lot!

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:32am

Great work on the classically rotating camera and the enemies that shoot back. I would lower the volume or randomize the shooting sound a little.

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:53am

Fun game. The enemies seem to shoot fairly fast. The moving blocker guys were a nice touch.

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Very fun game. Well thought design and great fun. Because you need to think forward makes it much more fun then other top-down shooters. You know you could die very easily, that makes the mood great. Great music, which makes the mood even better. The theme wasn't really obvious, thought. You can play it for very long. Controls seemed a little "slow", but later I realized that was a handicap to think better of your actions that you take.
Only one very annoying bug: Sometimes you can't rotate to the right. A typo somewhere in your code?
Best game I played so far. Great work!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:55am

Great concept and it's very challenging! Being easily killed and being thrown back to the beginning... So harsh xp. I got to the point where I would just stand still where they shoot me but always miss me kkk. The camera movement took a while to get use to though.... I got really dizzy until the end >.<
Anyway, great job!

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:02am

Fun and action-packed, but could really benefit from a strafe button. Also, why are the enemies also shooting corn? :P

Azure_Kyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:03am

This is a pretty cool game! I like how you've made the levels reading .txt files to piece together the map. All in all, I enjoyed this game a lot, but you can easily cheese most purple enemies by shooting them around the corner. They will only ever shoot at the core of the player, so it is easy to avoid their fire in this way.

If you were to continue work on this game, Upgrades would be nice, but I'd also like to see some randomisation in the enemy's firing direction. +- x degrees from the player's core, to make cheesing a little trickier.

qapn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:11am

Making the enemies more interesting and varying some of the sound effects (they became grating after a while) would improve this game a lot!

Music was some of the best I've heard so far in games I've reviewed, congrats. :)

Uruca Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:05pm

If the cam stay fix and the char rotate i think will be better to the player.

Ershany says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Really fun game. However the controls weren't so hot

NMcCoy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Fairly solid! Some more feedback on health/death would be nice, as it's a little surprising to be dumped back to the title screen with no ceremony. How'd you do the music?

nightlord says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:57am

@NMcCoy: I composed the music on Sunday morning at my home studio. I use Reaper for my DAW and I have the EastWest Composer Bundle for my sound libraries, all the sounds in these two musics are from those. In particular Symphonic Orchestra Gold, and StormDrum in this case

rgehan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:26am

I personnaly never encountered a game with this type of camera, and had a hard time figuring out how to kill the ennemies without getting killed too.

But once you get the mechanics of the game, it's nice. The graphics could really be better, but it's still good :)

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:26pm

+ very cool music
+ small download
- player steering
- enemy ki

Well done, thx for commenting our game!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:17am

Small, fast and challenging game, though the controls were a little awkward. The music was really professional on this one. You did a good job with it - keep it up!

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:44am

I laughed a lot when I read the description. It takes too many shots to take down an enemy, so many that I preferred to run around them and away. A lot of difficulty polishing.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:29am

Like others have mentioned, the main thing this is missing is a strafe key, which would make simultaneous offense/defense possible and the gameplay a lot more dynamic. As it is, I just exploit the enemy's inability to aim precisely at certain angles, which feels more like I'm cheating than outmaneuvering them. I like that your levels are just flat text files so they can be edited and modified by end-users really easily. The rotation effect was pretty cool too--reminds me of the special levels in Contra 3.

arhpositive says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:42am

Decent game with hard controls and an AI that can be exploited. I enjoyed the game and finished three levels but got killed twice in the final level before I quit. One more enemy type could've been interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]