Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bubble Trubble

by Jon Reid - Compo Entry

NOTE: AS OF CHROME 42, UNITY WEBGL EXPORTS DONT WORK, THEY WILL BE FIXED COME TUESDAY ​21st APRIL: http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/uncaught-abort-at-error-only-in-chrome-42.319121/

Bubble Trubble is a puzzle platformer create for Ludum Dare 32 - An Unconventional Weapon, created with Unity 5. As its been exported with the preview WebGL exporter, sometimes things may be not work, like the controls in some browsers. If this is the case, please try one of the downloadable versions linked below.

Your unconventional weapon here is the ability to capture creatures inside bubbles, rendering them helpless and floaty. You can use them as platforms, move them around or just get them out of the way.

Controls:
Move with A and D, jump with Space.
R to restart the level.
Draw bubbles using your mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#105Audio3.64
#188Innovation3.69
#281Overall3.47
#316Humor3.18
#317Fun3.35
#329Mood3.20
#429Theme3.49
#445Graphics3.21

Comments

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:06am

I love the sound! The confetti is also amazing. I wasn't able to get past the second level though. I drew a bubble around myself but couldn't get to the star.

madhoe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10am

Extremely well polished! Very juicy, love all the tweening and effects. That confetti is fabulous.
Pretty okay puzzles, but like many physics-based puzzle-platformers, can feel unfair and frustrating sometimes.
One particular nitpick: I wish jumping was easier. When you jump near some stairs holding a l/r direction, you'd hit the sides which would reduce your vertical velocity and thus be unable to jump onto the next step. Pretty frustrating.

Overall, great work!

madhoe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11am

Also, as above comment mentioned: I was also stuck on second level! It's hard to figure out that you can step on bubbles.

bazld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:18am

Very clever puzzler, cute style too.

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:21am

I got past the second level.. but that third.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:25am

Original idea, polished game. Well presented too, though I would like to see different color schemes.

georgebatch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:19am

I find myself in a world of blue and pink, soaring on the back of a bubble; made by my own hand. I am a white circle. I am a Great Game.

rallebauz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Very pleasant and funny

Tselmek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Probably and by far one of the best games I played during this Ludum Dare, the juiciness is great and it just felt amazing to go through the levels. The jump was a bit tough but didn't get too much in the way of playing.

Awesome work, good luck!

smbe19 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Yeahhh!!! Shhhh :D

furriKira says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38pm

This is really really fun~
Actually, I also broke the game!
I bubbled myself then bubbled the star, with the line touching the wall, then suddenly the character popped out of existence and it wont restart or draw bubbles anymore!
Something worth I would play through~ More on android!

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Liked the concept. Liked the sounds and the simple graphics. Great theme interpretation. But it was waaaay too hard to jump over those boxes, I got stuck on the corners all the time. Controls felt a little awkward that way.

Rulrite says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:28pm

A fantastic and very original idea. I managed to complete the whole thing, even though some levels seemed impossible at first... Some of the wins seemed a little fluke-y (throwing yourself off a ledge and catching yourself in a bubble can get you far), but I think that's part of the fun! You did a great job of exploring the concept.

ohai1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Well done! I love the sound effects. Graphics are nice too.

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:51pm

cool game like the sound and puzzle elements.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Really great stuff! Love the bubble mechanics and the strong visual style. Physics could use work though; the jumping is very sticky and it can be hard to control overall. But a very good entry! Congrats

Robinerd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Nice one! Really polished and I like the smooth and soft candy-like feeling in the graphics. Game mechanics were pretty unique and worked well except for being a bit too easy when I realized that I can just jump between bubbles and catch myself. Overall great work!

ehtd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Cool game, just didn't liked the jump, felt sloppy

Havacore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:20am

Music was awesome, and the bubble mechanic really fit the theme well. Jumping could've been refined a bit, but it worked. The puzzles were challenging, though not impossible. Overall pretty fun game!

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:36am

I've got to say, this was a great concept!

Bubble Trouble? A pun? Im on board. The sound effects were great, I laughed a lot and it was awesome. Cute simple style as well and it fit the mood and music.

Jumping was finicky. when jumping against a rigid object, like the wall, it felt stiff. It broke, er popped, the illusion I was a graceful bubble. The difficulty level was also extremely steep. Not that it being difficult was bad, but maybe one or two more levels in between to lead up.

All in all, its a delight to play, just needs more work. And please do work on it more, I love puzzle games.

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:07am

Quite nice! Loved the visual style and sounds, just needs a bit of fine tuning on the platforming.

leondryaso says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:05am

Great work, the mechanics are amazing! Only the jumping could be a bit better :)

Mase says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:43pm

It seems that the jump triggers after space is released; it should perhaps trigger when space is pressed.

Capturing the star in a bubble broke the game for me (no more bubbles could be created, lines could be drawn infinitely). In a different case, I think I drew a new bubble on the white cube as I exited a bubble... this permanently removed the cube, even after pressing R to reload.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Overall really cool idea. I got stuck in the second level when I made myself a bubble and floated off the screen, and when I came back I got stuck in a wall :/

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:57pm

little buggy, but i love the idea

ElectroYak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03pm

The SFXs are great, style is great, and theme is great. My only criticism is that its pretty tricky to control the character.

Yoon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:06pm

My sister and I just finished the game ! For a long time we didn't know we could just circle ourselves to float up. Once you know about it the game is less challenging however.

The sounds got us laughing (especially when you beat a level) and the background music fits in nicely.
It was a good experience playing this, and it is very inspiring too.

goblin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Great game. Music fits really well with the gameplay, very relaxing. Love this puzzle games where you need to draw things
Check ours too if you want http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Jordan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:47pm

First level is a little hard, but other than that, it's amazing and very well polished for a compo game. Great job.

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:28pm

The sound effects are really great! I like the circling mechanic although it was sometimes hard to draw and then jump at the same time since the bubbles move up really fast. Great use of the theme, good job!

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:39pm

this was really pleasant and fun ^_^ I really really liked it!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:36am

Interesting game mechanics! At first the controls were a bit frustrating (the stair case + a very tiny jump on space release), but after I got the hang of it, it was quite fun! I managed to complete it. Well done. :)

tigerbyte says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:48am

the level with the wide gap and 5 enemies had me stuck. good execution on a cute concept. nice style, nice audio, nice bubble physics. great entry.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:52am

great music, love the concept of drawing the bubble around things, very cool - but not sure where the unconventional weapon was? nice job

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:31am

I played this one like 3 times in a row. Really love these kind of games, and it's really relaxing. Great job!

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:12am

Great job guys!

Theme: Well done!
Graphics: Nice!
Audio: GOOD!
Gameplay: GREAT!
Mechanic: PERFECT!

Nice puzzles. I found some bugs but it's okay for a game jam. Sometimes when we use the bubble on the the player and it passes the screen, the ball doesn't return.

Congratulations!

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:46am

Very nice idea! Would be much better if the controls were more precise, but still enjoyed it.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:51am

Really great communicative and simple art - I felt like the pace could've helped things along alot though

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:39am

Such a feel good game.

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:47am

Great job! The graphics and the audio are awesome, the gameplay is very inovative and overall enjoyable.

It's kind of hard to draw the circle if the ball is falling, so it may be better for mobile.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Great game. The controls could be better though, it kinda makes the game harder than it aughta be (or I'm really bad at drawing).
The audio also fit well in, and it was pretty innovative for this theme.

BermudaCake says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Cool concept, done really well! One bug: if I bubble an enemy and rise them above me, then bubble myself and have the enemy fall onto my bubble, it pushes me through the floor downwards.

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:30pm

An excellent and very challenging submission, well done. This is by far the best sound design I have seen in this Ludum Dare, reminding me a bit of Tear Away. My only suggestion is more confetti. Best of luck to you.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Good Game overall

jprogman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:49pm

The platform engine needs improving as the jumping is too awkward and sluggish. Hope it isn't too difficult to fix. Nice game though.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:16am

Very good entry! Lots of fun, can get difficult though.

tininsteelian says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:44am

Great game! Pretty challenging, too!

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:14am

YEAH!
I was very happy while progressing through the game. Very cool concept, nice puzzles, simple and beautiful. Spot on!

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:59am

I think it is a good representative of a good game! Moreover, you've tried to make a game for almost all the popular platforms. Hope, you'll not ignore mobile ones ;D

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:34am

Good job. Nice idea and implementation of it. The jumping was a little uncomfortable, but everything else worked really well. I'm always a fan of mouth-made sound effects.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:50am

Great concept and awesome audio but it was really difficult to control, would be totally amazing I think with a little tweaking

maunovaha says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Nice puzzler and rather innovative game mechanic. good job! :)

Dege says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Great graphics! The music and sounds were also really fun and good... great job!

daredevildave says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Very nice. Great minimalist style. Good audio. Well polished. I had a few problems with being knocked out of the world. But good fun overall.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:21am

I find this game funny!
Well done! :D

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:15am

Loving the sound it makes when you jump or make a bubble! really cool game, would love to see the controls made a bit more controllable for the player, otherwise it is super fun to play.

dos says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Completed it! Very enjoyable, interesting mechanic, nicely looking design and adorable sound effects, I dig it! :D

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:27pm

love the aesthetics! as others I couldn't get past level 2, as it was not easy to control the protagonist. good work for a ludum dare!

Zeriver says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:42am

I really like music (plus sound effects) and art style. Concept is interesting and well executed. Sometimes i run into bugs like getting outside of level or inside walls but it's a still solid game overall.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Interesting concept. I dislike controls, especially the mechanic which you have chosen so as to jump. All works well. I think that this project can be improved by adding some features, but it's good enough. Well done ++

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:25pm

i think this looks good, sounds good and is a pretty great puzzler idea. physics and controls can use some work. I would frequently get stuck on the steps, because the force to jump was being dampened by the side wall. also you can get too much velocity. I think it was when I created a bubble on an enemy, he floated to the top. I was underneath and created a bubble around me, and the speed of his fall pushed me through the floor. Also some levels have no ceiling, so you can float forever. which does sounds peaceful actually.

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:03am

That music is awesomesauce. I sat on the start screen dancing for a couple minutes before I played. :D I love the bubble mechanic and the whole aesthetic is very fun. Movement controls need work, though.

freeholdgames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:08am

This is a beautifully done game. Excellent premise and really solid execution. The physics felt like it could use some tuning, but I'm sure with a couple weeks of fiddling you could get it razor sharp!

SledKnight says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:10am

Excellent entry! WebGL locked up on me, but, it is new for Unity. Look forward to see the full version. Negative: Fix the jump. Not being able to jump as high when rubbing against walls was annoying. :) That's my only negative. Good start!

Interface says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:51am

Great puzzle game, not easy though. Jumping is a little hard to master. Well polished with the animations including the menu. I did manage to get stuck in the walls a few times =)

CamRFWhite says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Loved the concept, great job! Art was minimal but colours fit haha. I would love to see this concept continued :)

dcRfj15 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 2:14am

Super creative, fun to play. I really liked the audio, and the mood created by the game. The concept was interesting and accompanied the theme well :)

I experienced a crash at one point in the game, where everything stopped moving, and all the enemies started to change sizes when I caught them in a bubble. I am not sure why that happened, but refreshing the game fixed the problem for me.

NAL says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:04am

Loved the concept, and very nice level design! Seemed a tad glitchy though. If I was in a bubble an enemy landing on me could push me through the floor. I couldn't jump up a one-high block if I was too close to it/moving towards it. I also got a bit of drawing artifact stuck permanently on the screen.

xandy says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:54pm

interesting and fun concept. it's a bit hard because enemies sometimes move if you bubble them but all in all its fun and the sound&music are nice too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]