Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Color Commander

by kristof - Compo Entry

In Color Commander you try to control all minions on the board and make them follow you. A very unconventional fighting mechanic ( :-P ) lets you take minions from your opponents.

You win by taking all minions or all tiles from your opponents.

If you capture a tile by controlling more minions on it than any of your opponents, all minions on that tile will switch to your color.

Controls:
Left Mouse Button: Move command
Right Mouse Button: Rotate the camera

Tools:
Emacs, cfxr, JavaScript, WebGL, WebAudio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#66Fun3.85
#108Innovation3.87
#167Overall3.65
#662Audio2.42
#734Mood2.71
#769Theme3.08
#770Graphics2.68
#867Humor2.06

Comments

Photon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:57am

Simple but nifty mechanic for sure. I like it! Not sure its that unconventional though. Also, the pathfinding wasn't too great, so enemy minions would sometimes get stuck on tiles I already had captured or get surrounded by my own horde of minions. This made finishing games a little tedious as this often led me to try and lead them back to their own commander so I could capture them. All things considered, still pretty solid stuff!

salmonmoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17am

0

handkor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:09am

Nice very original idea. Good job

Dustician says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37pm

I really like this game. I'm not very good at it though apparently

Marcellus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Very nice take on the theme, AI is quite clever, I had fun playing.

This is the most innovative game I played so far. Well done !

CireNeikual says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Interesting mechanic! Could using some pathfinding though. My minions often get stuck behind walls. Would be a nice multiplayer game!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Hi! Great game! Cool mechanic, took a while to master! Love that it's so simple but still so fun! :)

Good luck!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:43pm

The visuals are basic yet really really cool! Solid game, although getting your minions caught behind a wall does cause some weird effects with the AI and there is a bit too much luck involved with the random layouts.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Fun mechanic. Took me a couple games to figure out, but I eventually got it. I like that you put barriers to seperate some of the minions.

grifdail says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Once again, some great game here ! I had a lot of fun ! Thank ! I really liked the fast gameplay !

psychonull says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:37pm

The game is really fun, and as others commented, it would be great to have this as multiplayer.
I found some minor "bugs", such as some aisled AI minions left alone in my coulor area making it difficult to capture (they have to go to an uncaptured area first).. but that's just being too picky! good job.

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:18pm

didnt know how to win

Kevlanche says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Great game! Quite simple, but it seems most great LD games are simple. I can imagine this being a ton of fun as a multiplayer game. Imagine yelling at your friends in the couch to "stop stealing my f#¤"ing guys" :-). If you have any plans of post-LD work, I highly suggest looking into getting gamepad+multiplayer support. Theres room for multiple maps, powerups and more as well if you feel like turning it into a full game. I'd probably buy it as I'm a big fan of couch-multiplayer games.

M9Josh says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Fun game, I had a problem with the camera once I got to the top of the map however, a player-controllable camera would have been nice, besides that I enjoyed it!

balom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:22am

What a fun game! Great mechanic, I really enjoyed trying to get every one of the units to follow me. Simple and effective. With some tweaking and polish, this could be a really nice little game!

Jimjam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:57am

Very cool concept!

Chris M says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Good design to adjust the hall width and follower circumference allow follower siphoning. I was a bit confused exactly how followers were stolen- perhaps you could make this more explicit. A lot of potential here, hope to see you iterate on this!

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:53pm

That was very challenging and amazing. I loved it!

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Gives a nice feeling of cleaning up :-) Neat little game. It crashed a cupple of times and took the whole browser with it :-)

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:30pm

A nicely ambitious game! Bit confusing over why i was losing so many chaps until i figured it out though :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I really like the mechanics here. They're smart and have a nice learning curve!

I really wish this game had some pathfinding though, but solid with or without it, esp because its 3d!

Tipyx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Very nice, and very addictive :)

megahold says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:08pm

I'm confused be I'm having fun.

Plustech says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:53pm

I really like the concept, is like a simplified version of total war, really neat. I wish there was pathfinding but besides that I really like it, very addictive. Not really sure on the theme though, the mechanic is very unconventional but is hard for me to see it as a weapon.
Great job nevertheless! =)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:55pm

I am already addicted. Fantastic. Better sound and graphics could do it al most perfect.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Nice and original game mechanic! The game is a bit too easy perhaps, better AI and bigger board? It's sometimes boring to convert that last enemy minion even though you've practically won.

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Nice job on the AI, and the game itself is quite challenging! Reminds me of Splatoon.

frogcheese says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:42am

Cool idea. It's deceptively simple, but requires some strategic thinking to prevent your opponents from stealing all of your units. My only complaint is that I would've liked a button for quick restart, since it's possible to become impossibly outmatched without losing completely.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]