Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

H2O

by Spit Tex - Compo Entry

Use the mouse to shoot the water in one direction, use momentum to move the player in another to get to the goal.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#703Innovation2.88
#711Fun2.87
#1112Overall2.29
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

masterboth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

I like it, but It felt a little short...

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:23am

Even though it's short, that's not what matters.
Did you have fun during that time: yes!

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Really nice game that felt good to play. The levels were essentially the same though, perhaps if you made a maze for the player to navigate around.

-Neith

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:46pm

It's a bit too simple and has some minor issues. It loses velocity if you hit any wall so sliding is off the table. Hope you go for something a little more complicated on the next one. As long as you're learning there's no time better spent :D

MoogleSensei says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:50pm

I did not like how I would touch a wall and immediately stop moving, it made it frustrating to navigate at times. But the controls were smooth, your concept was sound, and I did enjoy playing it, so well done!

SledKnight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:53am

Issues have already been mentioned by others, but overall I loved the concept. It was fun! Nice job.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:08am

Sponge-like effect of sticking to surfaces was a bit funny, made the star level a bit annoying. Fun enough but could of used a bit of audio and it didn't seem much like a weapon, even an unconventional one.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Cool idea, but the game is about unconventional mechanics, not weapon

Mantlair says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Good idea. Pretty short. And needs more elements. Like red areas which you must not touch. (That much friction on side walls B'()

Jajo says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:28am

Simple graphics, simple concept, fits the theme. All it needed was music.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]