Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dino Bros

by josefnpat - Jam Entry

This game is entirely self explanatory.

You are a Dino Bro, and you eat sandwiches. What more would you *really* want?

v27 is the JAM release with game breaking bugfixes (and a few very minor cleanups), and is the currently linked release!

v23 was the original JAM release, and for the LD purists can be downloaded here: http://missingsentinelsoftware.com/game/dino-bros

Big shout out to @thejotne for the fantastic art!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#67Humor(Jam)3.87
#83Audio(Jam)3.84
#141Graphics(Jam)4.10
#199Overall(Jam)3.61
#217Mood(Jam)3.49
#277Fun(Jam)3.37
#358Theme(Jam)3.58
#598Innovation(Jam)2.97

Comments

sxmn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44am

there's source, but no compiled executable?

chanko08 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:58am

Looks like only a source link is available right now. From the looks of it this is written for Love2d. If nothing else, if you could provide a .love file that would make it much easier for people to rate your game. Cheers.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:27am

Hey guys, I was putting this up as a placeholder until I could build all the binaries! Please try now!

VividReality says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23am

I AM THE KING! No seriously, I voiced the king :D. Impressive how you came up with a scriptable cutscene library in such short notice. The art is fantastic(al), and the music is good too!

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:43am

Simply hilarious. I loved the voice, the music, and the art were all top notch. I also enjoyed killing the dead toast. Cheers!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:44am

WOW! This is one of the best entries I have tried so far. The art is super awesome and coherent to its own unique style. The super goofy animations are super hilarious.

The voice acting is top notch, the music is nice.

It just feels so well polished, intro, menus, everything!

5/5

SiENcE says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Hey Bros. very cool Jam Entry! Graphic and Sound are def. 5/5! Top Bros. I want to play as bread ;-). Muah.

recursor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:31pm

This was hilarious. Loved the art and the music. The cutscenes were also a nice touch.

kristof says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:19pm

This is way too awesome! That voice acting!! :D
You did a great job!
Minor complaint: The movement felt a little slow and the hit boxes were not so obvious. But thats a very minor thing compared to the awesomeness of the rest!

Dickie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:26pm

as much as i loved the derpy little breads maybe 100 was too many for this dinosaur to fight in one go.

enjoyed your fiction, you paid more attention to your world than most have even if it was about fussy eating dinos

genuinely laughed at points but the gameplay handled a little like ass which is a real shame, really wanted some castle crashers-y smashemup fun

dydx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Great writing and animation!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:53pm

So much carb carnage!!!

Yoon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:06pm

I love dinosaurs, I love bread, and I love this game.

The narration and the animation make this game particularly lively. The dying toasts' animations are priceless (needless to say the dino is cute too).

However you pushed the difficulty too far. When the screen is filled with toasts and you see there are 40 remaining, you can have no other reaction than "OH SHIIII...".

But it left me with a nice feeling. And I forgot to mention the background music is cool, too.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:07pm

I just wanted to let you know that your game made it into my list of top 10 games for LD32!

https://love2d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80063&p=183180#p183180

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:12pm

This is just so great.

Headmade says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Very good voice acting and animations. Good job.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Ok, this entry is hilarious. Did you smoke or something to create a DINO BRO XD? The intro is just perfect. Good oice-over BTW!

sathorn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:45pm

This game looks awesome but the actual gameplay is kind of dull.

randoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Loved the art and sound but gameplay became a little repetitive after a few minutes

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Good art and voices, gameplay a bit hard to manage but it is compensed by history script.

nassi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:59am

Got overwhelmed on my first try, but managed to beat the onslaught after that. Too bad it said there were 2 breads left even after beating the king. I was sure the ending would be worth it though, so of course I took it upon myself to paint the fields of war red with jam. Figuratively, since there was no jam to be had. Only... Game jam. Apart from that the only bug I noticed was that the attack sound would play even if you pressed the attack key while jumping.

I love how everything about this is so over the top. Well, expect for the quite simplistic gameplay, which to be honest didn't really bother me as it was quite brief. The animations were enough to distract me from the fact that all I was really doing was spamming z while making sure that I had enough breathing room.

I think the game really fits a game jam - something short and funny with maybe just a bit of a challenge thrown in there. That way you can even polish it into something as nice as you have here.

masterboth says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:14am

hilarious game! It's really fun and loved the art. I have to say, the dino walking cycle is probably the best thing I have seen. Great Work!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:55am

The animations were cool but the dead bread jumping up and down was distracting

Selzier says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:56am

GOOD JOB!!!

Junber says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:20am

Cool game really fun but it was strange that dead bread got thrown up too.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:27am

I liked this a lot! Nice graphics and colours, and I really liked the voice acting. GG

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Nice! Great art style. I particularly liked the weird dino walk animation. I liked the cut scenes but found them a tiny bit long, but then again I always dont like cut scenes so that's just me. Voice over was good and had it's funny bits. I found the delay on jump a little weird. Overall really good entry though!

BIZM says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Hilarious game, bread vs dinos has to be the weirdest battle we've ever come across! The story was great and I loved the voice acting, good job bro!

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:56pm

That was quite impressive. I enjoyed the idea and some of the gameplay.

As others have mentioned, though, the difficulty is pretty steep when ir ramps up.

Also, while having a jump button is nice, it really didn't do anything that I could see, so I mostly ignored that button. If there's a use for jumping, I was not able to grok it.

But, visually and audibly, this was a stellar entry. It had humour, too. A few tweaks to the gameplay would make this game truly stand out as one of the best entries.

TheJotne says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Thank you all for the great response, made me very happy to hear that you all enjoy my art.

Mr. Jif says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 2:15am

Unfortunately the gameplay was lacking.... But the art was wonderful and the story was pretty funny. This really gave me a Castle Crashers vibe.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]