Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Beats High Mountains Down

by Galan - Compo Entry

What beats high mountains down?

Time.

As an alien trapped on an isolated planet, use Time to make your escape. Not just your ordinary everyday 'time', but 'Time'; With a big "T". Grow rock formations and watch them fall down. Move mountains. All in order to make your way home.

Beats High Mountains Down is a short puzzle platformer were you can move certain objects forward and backward through time to overcome obstacles and defeat planetary threats.

Controls:
[A] & [D] : Move left and right.
[Space] / [RMB] : Jump
Mouse : Move cursor to select objects
[W] : Warp selected object forward through time
[S] : Warp selected object backward through time

Bug Fixes:
Export bug kept objects from spawning
Crash on title screen on Windows
Missing cursor on Windows and Mac
Various audio glitches
Minor control glitches: unresponsive jump, disappearing cursor, cursor targeting.
Note to self: don't use beta releases of an engine for LD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#511Innovation3.16
#641Mood2.83
#646Audio2.46
#769Theme3.08
#817Graphics2.60
#882Humor2.00
#900Overall2.77
#1039Fun2.20
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Hmm, it kept crashing right after the Godot splash screen when I tried to move the mouse or click.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Very buggy and difficult to move. I liked the first "puzzle", though.

morokiane says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:33am

Little buggy, like the premise.

rantt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:09am

Couldn't run it on my Mac (osx 10.10.3 yosemite), crashed on opening.

Galan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Huh, strange. I tested it on OS X 10.10.3, and it works fine for me. If anyone else has problems with it, let me know.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:24am

Nice little game very buggy though

x1212 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Runs fine for me on Linux.
Nice idea, but there were too many instant-death situations with no proper warning or chance to react to anything ... and they always sent me back to the start ...
I guess with a little more work this would be great :)

richiebranson says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:10am

concept definitely has potential. With a little polish, the idea could really turn into something bigger. Good effort.

n8 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:16am

Ran good on linux. I liked the creepy atmosphere.

aeveis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:04am

interesting concept. I was able to kill the big stick figure and the dinosaur, which felt a but cruel but they were also chasing me haha. I killed myself a lot by going backward and having rocks or tunnel spawn on me - maybe if you could see preview was back used to be as well? nice job!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:26pm

The bad stickman got stuck into the cave entry where the water flows. I could not send him backward in time. Maybe I waited too long before trying to get rid of him ?
Also, I got a crash ...
... as for not using a beta release of an engine for an LD, seems I got luckier than you since I had no complaint about crashes so far haha

Hambone says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:35am

Cool! Was this your own engine?

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:36am

Wow, the loved the lighting, animations, and mood. This is very cool.

Anti says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Pretty buggy but the first puzzle was ok

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]