Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Apocalyptia

by manabreak - Compo Entry

A nuclear bomb (or "an unconventional weapon", seriously, Google it!) was detonated a day ago. Our hero survived. The question is, for how long will he live?

Controls:
- Arrow keys / IJKL : Movement
- Space: Jump
- C: Use selected item
- 1, 2, 3, ..., 0: Select an item

This game was created using the following tools:
- IDE: Eclipse
- Language: Java
- Library: libgdx
- Music and sounds: Psycle / Audacity
- Graphics: GIMP

Additionally, the font used in the GUI is "Press Start 2P" which can be found on Google Fonts.

Hope you enjoy the game, and please, feel free to leave feedback. :)

Changelog:
- Fixed a bug that caused the game to crash when launched
- Initial release

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#41Audio3.94
#52Graphics4.20
#54Mood3.83
#191Overall3.61
#325Fun3.34
#850Humor2.10
#978Innovation2.41
#1096Theme2.00

Comments

Justin Mullin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:34am

I'm getting an exception upon trying to run the game, stack trace is here: http://pastebin.com/vYQQPnJ7. I'm assuming you left a flag on that triggers texture packing at runtime?

masterboth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

I'm getting that error too.

manabreak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40am

The bug should be fixed now!

kaype says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:41am

Same error.

kaype says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:42am

Nevermind, it's working now!

kaype says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:52am

I got a really good vibe from playing this :)

The graphics are pretty good, I didn't like the first song though (the second one is pretty good). The physics are good and do what they're supposed to do, but my biggest criticism is that this doesn't have anything to do with the theme from what I'm seeing. Still a good game though!

Nice entry.

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:48am

Music is pretty cool and fits in well with the theme.
Lighting is great, and art is really smooth/consistent.
Death screen is nice, but shouldn't the game go back to a menu or simply restart rather than closing itself? It can be annoying restarting the jar each time you lose.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54am

The interaction with the zombies was kind of weird for me, the first one fell into my shelter and we touched multiple times without me losing hp. But the later zombie touches did indeed hurt ;)

Cool mood.

The boss fight was intese (the "eye" that lasers you). I beat it.. and then was disapointed, that nothing happend and I was stuck in its room. - or did I miss something?)

Also, up until this point there was absolutly nothing relating to the theme.

ShIxtan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54am

It's not much to do with the theme, but the graphics and audio are great, and I had fun.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:56am

My only problem is the theme.

It seems like you just slapped this game into LD not even doing anything with the theme.

The only trace of it that I see is in the description. How is a nuclear bomb unconventional? xD

shyupuff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:56am

Wow really awesome! I love the lighting and the graphics and the hair movement. This is really fun. Keep up the awesome work (:

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:57am

I'm loving the atmosphere and lighting. Some normal maps would have made it spectacular.

Art is well done, as well.

Doesn't really fit the theme, unfortunately.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:59am

The eyeball boss was pretty cool, though the fact that he was able to shoot me through the platforms led to my swift demise :(

Great game though, nice visuals and solid platforming. Impressive amount of content!

n9Mtq4 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:01am

Looks great, very fun, but a gun is conventional.

manabreak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:03am

Thanks everyone for the comments. For the complaints of the theme: an "unconventional weapon" can also mean a weapon of mass destruction as noted in the description. As my interpretation, this game takes place in a post-apocalyptic world. Who said the theme has to be a quirky weapon the player uses? :p

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05am

A nice cute little game. I like the graphics, specially the blood effect after shooting.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:43am

Sweet Game! I really like the graphics and music. The death particles for the mutants are a nice touch. The game crashed while I was fighting the floating mechanical eye monster.

noxuma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:08am

Really awesome, the eye monster seems to shoot through walls =( Made it really hard to win, matter of factly, I didn't win. Good job though.

Almost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:47am

I couldn't walk off the left at the start so I assumed that I couldn't walk off the right either and was confused for a little while.

Later I died to the eye and decided it was too much walking to get back to him.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:57am

Nifty little atmospheric platformer. Reminds me a little of Lone Survivor. Game closed itself when I was fighting the Boss though, wasn't sure if I'd won or it crashed. Nice job overall though!

SiENcE says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:02am

Nice animations and music! Impressiv amount of scenes.

I really like the red and green blood :).

Zeriver says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:11pm

I like art-style, music sets right tone to the game. Overall it's really fun game, maybe could you some variety (killing zombies gets old) but boss fight was fun (i had to jump in right intervals to avoid projectiles, like in a rythm game :D ).

rnlf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Pretty cool game. The collisions seem to be off a bit on my machine, where bullets (including the first bosses lasers) would just go through solid tiles.

The game itself is really cool, nice music, perfect for the setting of the game and your pixel style is very inspiring to me, might totally try to copy that for my own games :-p

frokes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Nice graphics and the lighting creates a nice feeling. Enemy damage underscaled? Boss damage too high?
Nice work!

frokes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Nice graphics and the lighting creates a nice feeling but i think the enemy damage is underscaled except for the boss, that damage is insane!
Nice work!

Wevel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Nice Game

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Your graphics are fantastic! I really like the slight spotlight. I was waiting for a weird weapon though...but only got a gun. Would love to see some crazy things in my room to use as weapons. :)

stevenlr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:25pm

The graphics and lighting look nice, so does the character animation. The physics works well except for the zombie's hitbox that is a bit too tall so you can get hit by jumping from a ledge where there is a zombie beneath.

Hambone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:19am

Really fun, great job! Take all my stars!

Jaloko says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:54am

Very cool game. Love the graphics.

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:29am

Great art and music. Cute, and definitely atmospheric. Gamepad support would have gone a long way, but still really impressive given the time limit!

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:38am

Beat it on my second try - I assume I beat it, there didn't seem to be a way out of the boss room. Neat game, nice aesthetics!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]