Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

RELIC

by CptDustmite - Compo Entry

RELIC
A space adventure

---

This was my first attempt at a 2D game in Unity. Had to learn a lot (without internet!) but I had fun creating it :) There was so much more I wanted to do but alas time did not allow - I would love to continue on with it though! Hope you enjoy.

---

Controls:
- Left/Right or A/D to move
- Up or Space to jump
- Up/Down and Enter to select dialog choices
- E to interact when prompted

---

Tools:
- Engine: Unity
- Language: C# in Visual Studio
- 2D: Piskel and Photoshop
- Audio: SFXR, Audacity and TTS

---

Known bugs:
- Legs may glitch out when on the floating rocks (you may not be able to jump when they are moving down)

---

Time spent:
~ 18hrs

---

NOTE:
- Windows Standalone build is a lot smaller in file size than the WebGL one
- If running the WebGL build, use the blue box with arrows to run in fullscreen (Escape to minimise)

---

Update: I am now expanding RELIC into a full game! You can follow my LD posts or check the Facebook page for updates: http://www.facebook.com/relicaspaceadventure :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#35Humor4.04
#56Mood3.82
#91Graphics4.05
#175Audio3.41
#313Overall3.44
#685Fun2.90
#737Theme3.13
#841Innovation2.67

Comments

met44 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:59am

Haha man it's too bad it's so short, story really had its funny moments !!!

Good work though, I liked the space physics too ^^

peejaygee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:04am

Very 'Deep' for such a short time for getting it together, well done!

GravityScore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:30am

Great job!

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:39am

That was stunningly beautiful. The game felt like a prelude for an epic space odyssey, and I'm now sad that it's over. I really enjoyed the dialog as well as the humor. Awesome stuff!

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:41am

really wish I could make the text go faster! Love the art style and the voices are pretty good too.

bnhw says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:41am

Very moody. Good job!

TwiiK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Looks great. Loved the robot voice.

reheated says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Excellent art and a very entertaining story! The scenery is great and the characters too. I enjoyed the speech synth - nice touch.

mantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54am

I really love the story. The jumping seems a bit off (problems with jitter on moving objects), but I WANT MORE! :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54am

Loved the graphics, the story and the humor. My only complaint would be that the text moves a bit slow, but that might just be me. -Weloxux

phi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:57am

I like the graphics style and the narration. It's a good start, but the buggy physics are a bit annoying sometimes. I'd love to see you do more with this game! Nice work.

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:59am

It made me laugh a lot :) The thing reminded me a bit of Gary in Red vs Blue.

BobMorate says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:07am

This was actually an amazing entry! It's short, but extra kudos to you for having to learn without using the Internet at all! If I may ask, what TTS tool and effects did you exactly use to make the robot's voice? I'm very interested on this!

Detocroix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:38am

Best entry thus far. Really nice use of colors and nice visuals in general. The character was perhaps a bit janky because he only "moved" with his legs, rest of the body didn't do much to support it, and I found it odd there was "high detailed" -style mixed with "flat no detail" -style. Especially when comparing the floating rocks with character :)

sbot1101 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:15pm

wow that was amazing! really nicely made.

ajopart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Wonderful little story. Humor, Fun, graphics, mood *****. Sadly no real gameplay. Great job !!

Prowler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Awesome Graphics and a nice story :D. The mood is excelent although it's a short story.

Great work!

Orava says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:46am

Looks pretty and has great mood. Gameplay could use a biit more.

dydx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:18pm

That was great, I really enjoyed it.

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:28am

Eh, not my kind of game, I like more actiony stuff, but was funny :P. Great graphical style and humor.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:05am

Very nicely done game. Great art, loved the Steven Hawking robot voice. Amazing job!

Tuism says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:50am

It's barely a game, but I guess I say that in the best way I could mean it. The writing's pretty good, the graphics are decent, but as a "game" it was hold right, push enter a few times, jump a few really terrible platforms really slowly, and listen to some more MS Word robot reading.

The moving platform is glitchy when moving down. It's almost impossible to jump while they're moving down.

ChaosCult says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:12am

Great little story. Really like things like that. Good job.

jhell says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:30am

Nice entry, nice atmosphere that could really have used some more music and sounds for immersion! I was a bit sad that there wasn't more choices in the dialogs, but what was there was cool.

retrophantom says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:32am

nice ambience, would be cool if it had more adventury elements to it

Horsed says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:05am

Very nice story and very, very nice graphics. The music is also really great. The platformer part felt a bit clunky. Other than that I definitely enjoyed the game.

shrapx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:32am

a fun mix, i like the pixel art and the audio, and the little touches like the robot malfunction and his showing off of abilities :D

Dickie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:01am

Really nice universe you've created to tell your story in, I liked the depth of characterisation even though we were only with the characters for a couple minutes.

gameplay was a bit bland and could probably have been longer but due to the 'can't jump when rock is floating down' thing the platforming was unnecessarily difficult so appreciated it being so short as I didn't get too annoyed before the story wrapped itself up abruptly.

very nice branding and the other art was pretty nice to boot.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:36am

Nice job. I liked the sci-fi theme a lot.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:17pm

The story is nice and fun, but the game has little gameplay.
Spoiler: I laught at the Batman joke.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:26pm

A bit short but I loved the story and the robot was pretty humorous. The only problem was that the player moved a bit too slow (the floaty jump physics is fair game since it is set in space).

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Good "voice acting"!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Really pretty backdrop and great overall look. I enjoyed the robot conversations

sbarrio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:00pm

I like the graphics and audio a lot, they set a really nice mood. Gameplay was a bit bland, though.

hmightypirate says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:57pm

The game has rather hilarious moments.

As a downside, sometimes the astronaut does not respond correctly to a jump command.

The music and the graphics create an amazing atmosphere. Great job!.

ianburnette says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:08am

Love the atmosphere and the story!

Photon says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:13am

Gameplay was pretty standard, but it had its moments...

"Except Batman, unfortunately."

Oh boy... definitely had some good stuff in there. :)

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:22am

I thought that the robot would become my worst enemy, like in 2001: Space Odyssey which you clearly got inspired on. I was afraid that a colorful trip would start after I collected "the bed" hahaha.

Great humor and graphics! Good job making the robot's voice out from a voice from text software!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:35am

Ha ha ha! Batman! Great graphics and loved the humor!

Great job!

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

Very humorous story. Maybe too short and without any challenge. It looks rather like a movie. Also the main character could have a real voice too.

muromets says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:46am

Very fun, great sense of humor! liked it very much !

SledKnight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:55am

Very nice looking. Loved the fades and story. Some weird issues trying to jump on platforms moving downward, and really short. I laughed several times at the robot. Nice entry.

chaosed0 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:14am

I think it needed more of a consistent tone, but otherwise a nice entry.

flwns says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:23am

I liked the dialogue, but had problems jumping, and I didn't the the lack of any ambient sound

novadream says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:33am

Sorta got slow at times; but the graphics, audio, and story were amazing! :D

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:49am

The overall experience was enjoyable for the narrative and art/audio work. Though it was fairly disappointing in regard to its interactivity.

The parts where you do assume some control over what's happening generally feels like filler to try and meet the requirements for what a game should be, rather than serving any true purpose other than to break up the story progression a bit. I don't mind experimental games that focus more on a specific narrative, but in this case it feels like it would have almost been better executed as a short animated film than as an interactive thing.

The jumping/collision bug with the astronaut platforming doesn't help the problem either. The platforming portions already were a bit bland, but that bug just makes that whole section frustrating. Btw, I think the bug seems to be something to do with the switching or keeping track of the astronaut's "jump" status improperly. It seems like it keeps getting toggled to him being in a "jumping" state, then hitting the collision, toggling off, and somehow him getting toggled back to a jumping state again afterwards every frame. If you slide around on a platform it eventually sorts itself out somehow.

The narrative was well done and humorous. The main character being a "I'm just a guy doing a job" template made him less interesting character-wise, but the robot ironically enough compensated for his lack of personality. It was written pretty well otherwise and actually having the robot voiced was a big surprise (and a very nice touch).

The visuals were fantastic, and the audio as well was very fitting. The polish in these areas help maintain an air of mystery to the whole experience. References (and I'd assume inspiration) from 2001: A Space Odyssey were abundant and were pulled off well.

If you can figure out how to mesh some interesting interaction with your storytelling/art/audio you'll have something superb. As this currently stands however, it feels rather hollow. I think even small changes like having dialogue play while doing the platforming would at least give those sections a tiny nugget of cohesion with the gameplay. It feels too separated, I would recommend trying to find ways to intermingle things together so that the elements of the interaction compliment everything else you're trying to achieve.

hexdie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:15am

Really fantastic entry! The writing was very good and I enjoyed the humor in it. There were a number of times where I expected things to get dark, like the robot would have turned on me. I actually hadn't expected the ending that was there and I enjoyed it more because of that. Great art as well. I think the only thing it was missing was some ambient sound or music in the background when you're trying to find the relic. Very nice work!

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:34am

Intriguing storytelling. Enjoy it very much. Thank you!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:37am

I loved it! Would be awesome to see more of the robot

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:43am

I like your humor and that you prefer to make game with story. I hope next time you will merge your story with gameplay. Because there gameplay is something not nescessary.

scottthoo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:55am

Good mood ! Interesting story

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:13am

The conversation is very fun to watch. the jumping is a little odd, the legs shake on the stones.

camlang says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:06am

Nice take on the theme. Sadly too short.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:02am

Enjoyed playing your pixel-art adventure story. Loved the minimalist graphics. The robot voice was a nice touch - did you use a text to speech engine? Well done all around.

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Truly awesome, Galdis incoming! I really like the robot with it's bed and pillow! Super awesome story! graphics are also very nice and +1 for audio voicings.
Controls though felt a little bit "floaty" but problably this is what it should be like on a distant planet with no gravity.

Gunzil says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:44am

Nice little story, short and sweet. The sprite work is very good, though the text a bit small.

Despite having simple floaty platforming, you were able to make a little jumping challenge that contextualized the floaty physics with jumping on floating space rocks, and had it so you had to time your jumps when the rocks were at the correct heights, which was a pretty smart use of what you had. A death state when you touch the lava and a jumping animation would have helped a lot visually.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:35pm

I feel as though the bot's dialogue would have been better without the text-to-speech synthesizer. I found it more annoying than anything, personally.

Mikel says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Cool... great story... but definitely too short :-D

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Aw, man. Seemed like you didn't have the time or resources to make everything you had in mind. Oh, well, I thought joke was funny.

jplur says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Hahaha nice! Perfect length for a LD entry, and great interpretation of theme

CScribes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:01am

I couldn't really see the theme too well, but loved loved the humor, mood, audio, and general aesthetic. The ability to restart quickly was a nice touch. And, if you rid out the rock glitch, it isn't too bad. Great work :)

CptDustmite says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:26am

Thanks to everyone for taking the time to play, rate and give feedback on RELIC, I very much appreciate it and am happy that it made some of you laugh. I've read every comment back to front and wholly agree with much of the suggestions.

I'm very motivated to continue working on this little prototype and will take your feedback into consideration, including:
- more gameplay (I have a lot of ideas on ways to make it more fun and challenging, and not just a little interactive story)
- ambient audio
- more dialog options
- fix the buggy floating platforms
- ensure lava collision areas are correct
- better sprite animations
- integrate conversations into gameplay
- better death sequences
- shorten conversation speeds

As for the TTS that some of you were inquiring about, I used a website but unfortunately didn't write down which one, if I remember I shall let you know.

If any of you are interested in keeping up-to-date with the post-LD game, please follow my posts for some updates, postmortems and links to social media soon.

Good hunting,
- Camille

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Being able to run through text faster if desired would be great. Otherwise a great job with the graphics and I like the mini-story going on.

hbocao says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Very good entry!
The art is beautiful and I loved the "Portal-esque" humor. Nice job!

renatopp says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:01pm

It is pretty awesome work for 18h (not enough for a compo thou, IMHO), but the narrative is great and I would like to see a post compo version of it. Congratulations for you game.

Robber says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:26pm

love the style, very nice graphics and colors/mood. controls/jumping felt a little bit stiff, but the experience was just great, wish the character had a voice aswell

kirbytails7 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:36am

Not a bad first attempt. In the future, consider making dialog skippable; reading is much faster than listening.

Embalaje says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:55am

Very funny! I love it. You made a great character with the robot.
Congratulations!

killako says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:39am

Theres a bug when standing on the floating platforms, that doesn't allow you to jump. Otherwise, great game!

pixzleone says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Nice game. Could have used some music during the game itself.

jmborden says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Cute game. I kept getting stuck on the platforms, had to wait a second to "stabilize" before I could jump again. Don't feel too bad, this happens in a lot of Unity games. High marks for humor and graphics from me.

Mechamew says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:08pm

What a winner! Great mood, artwork and writing. Main place where I can see some room for improvement would have to be on animation. The player character felt like he could have been brought to life a lot more than they were. Regardless, I think this is a great entry - hoping it does very well!

Chaoseed says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Interesting, it kinda started out as one of those "spooky ancient space" stories, but it went in a different direction. Cute, though! The graphics were quite good. The controls/jumping were a little unreliable, but I suppose since there really wasn't to it there's not really any point in complaining.

volkoivan says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:21pm

That one was really great!
Nice-looking, good music, funny dialogues and good plot that really have a plenty of ways to expand.
I give you 5/5 on all of the rating, because it was totally awesome for the compo entry!

Novodantis says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Would love to see this with more meat on the gameplay bones (the moving platform glitch was also a pain, but it's one I'm all too familiar with from the old days of making platformers). I really loved the story and the mood was great. Nice dialogue, too.

Jexel says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Despite having the latest firefox, this doesn't appear to run.

jordgubben says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Not the most complext gameplay, but definitely the best writing of all the games I've played so far.

Nate says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 10:08pm

I don't understand how this fits with the theme. I like the art though.

Sublustris says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:39am

Great work! especially for a Compo. 5 for GFX and mood!

May 6, 2015 @ 10:44am

Like other said, it was too short! I love all the references and the humor put in the game.

I'd like also more gameplay elements (moving stuff, and so on) if you plan to continue the game.

lamogui says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:56pm

nice graphics

Demy says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Graphics and humor are awesome. And it's finished wich is rare thing here.

FrederickK says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:36am

Not very much gameplay but GREAT humor! :D
Definitely 5 stars on that!

SteveSalmond says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:05am

Nice work, I really enjoyed the dialog. We seem to have similar tastes in space backdrops! :)

panurge says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Seemed to have some slight collision detection problems when jumping from moving objects? It's testament to how good this game is, however, that I persisted to the end despite that. Great writing, sound, visual design and atmosphere. I'd like to see what happens next!

ehtd says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Really nice game, short but interesting story. I guess only the controls were off. Jumping feels weird and that glitch on the rocks. I like that you are making this a full game, I have some comments that can make your full game feel lot better:
- Add moving arms when jumping or walking
- Voice acting. Use fiver.com for $5 buck audio. Cheap and awesome.
- Fix the bugs
- Improve controls

Good job. Looking forward to the complete version.

wilsk says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 5:27pm

The jump key didn't seem to work sometimes on the floating rocks, but other than that an interest and good looking game with a cool concept.

May 9, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Very interesting idea and I liked the robot thingy. The controls are a bit stiff though but overall it's quite impressive for a compo entry! It only needed some music to ease the mood =).

May 9, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Neat game. The narrative is quite well done and funny. Nice use of the speech synth on the robot. Nice graphics too! The gameplay is a bit slow and not that interesting unfortunately, though I understand you can't do everything in the time limit. For the full version you're doing, hopefully the platforming can be a bit more exciting. Overall a good entry!

omaha says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Nice work. It's amazing how much fun I had despite having much gameplay. Rather than "fixing" that, I think you embraced it, and it worked out wonderfully.

Dorgam says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Batman Joke 10/10

JenniNexus says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Visually-pleasing w/ some humor.. great work working with WebGL to submit in LDJAM! Beautiful portfolio online as well. <3

vortex says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:25pm

The player should be able to move faster. It was really annoying having to wait for the rocks to bob up and down in order to jump up, but the (sadly short) story made up for that. I would have liked to have some voice acting for the player. It seemed a bit odd just hearing the robot and having to read the player

Dejvo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:32pm

graphics are very good and music too. but you need to make it faster to walk and jump and also the lesser words the better but i liked it anyway

strega says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Nice little story! I liked the art and the humor a lot :D

sorlok says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Great game, and one of my favorites. Love the humor and pacing. However.... jumping while a platform descends doesn't work and is really frustrating (since some platforms don't have the ground for comparison). Glad to see you're working on this past the compo, and good luck!

MrShoestore says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:19am

you've got some collision problems with the moving platforms, I think this game looks very cool, but the pacing at the beginning is very very slow, and it was hard to keep my attention.

abuzreq says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:55am

The narratives are really good , the gameplay weren't much fun .

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]