Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Functor

by Enneract - Jam Entry

A game about using functions to terraform the surface of a planet. Built using my own engine Omicron: https://github.com/DavidSaxon/Omicron-Base

CONTROLS:
Move mouse to rotate the camera and scroll wheel to zoom. Fire your weapons with the left and right mouse buttons. Escape to pause. Backspace to return to level select.

OBJECTIVE:
You must stop the inhabitants of each planet from building towers. To complete a level you must survive until the timer runs out. You lose if a tower reaches 15 blocks high. To destroy towers raise or lower the ground beneath it. If the bottom block is red then then you must raise the ground and if the block is blue then you need to lower the ground.

KNOWN BUGS:
- Sound distorts on Linux, seems to a problem with the sound library I'm using.
- The game can stretch across multiple monitors (I think this is only on Linux). You can run the game in windowed mode from the in-game settings menu. Or you can change the value of "fullscreen:" from "on" to "off" in the "config.omi_pref" file in the top level of the project.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation(Jam)4.52
Coolness74%
#47Theme(Jam)4.14
#112Audio(Jam)3.72
#146Overall(Jam)3.70
#167Graphics(Jam)4.04
#243Mood(Jam)3.45
#413Fun(Jam)3.20
#809Humor(Jam)2.24

Comments

eXpl0it3r says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:31pm

The idea is really interesting, but it's rather odd to play, because the rotation locks sometimes (gimbal lock?) and it's rather hard to see which color one can destroy.
In addition to that one needs to think about the math and what color is matches and which button to click.
For me the speed stuff was built, was just too fast while having to rotate around, trying to spot the right block etc.
Graphics wise it's really awesome looking especially the transformations and the fact that you "shoot" the math formulas that get applied is really interesting. :)

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Awesome ! You can really do whatever you want to your planet. It's really fun to see the effet of different math functions. Congrats.

indigo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:22am

Doesn't work under Linux in wine, sadly.

Enneract says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25am

Hey @indigo I've just uploaded a proper native linux build

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:29am

I really want to play this game, it looks adorable, but it crashes on Windows 7, unhandled exception, no clear debug message (Unhandled exception at 0x7546CB49 in Functor.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation executing location 0x00000000.)

Enneract says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40am

@Marek Oh that's strange, does it happen right on start-up? Or even before the window opens? Could be an OpenGL problem, or a loading problem, make sure the stuff in the res/ looks ok and is not corrupt.

ryguydavis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:42am

I would really like to see a slower paced game using the same deformation system. The game mechanics are so tough and somewhat difficult to understand, but the sandbox they are sitting in is SO interesting. I especially love the world wiggle at the end. Great touch.

DomNomNom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:12am

The game looks gorgeous and also sounds nice. My main criticism is that important information on how to play the game is miscommunicated:

When I first started the game, I didn't even notice the text on the side as the challenge was already on and I was blasting away at the towers randomly.
There seems to be no way to see what the maximum tower height is or what specifically to do to reduce tower height. Since big text at the bottom was "tower height" I presumed you just had to dig all the towers as low as possible.

Also the placement of the functions is really awkward as the player constantly has to look back and forth between the corner of the screen and the center. Wouldn't it be better if the two options were on the left/right side of the crosshairs?

I haven't found good use of the sin and rand() functions
they don't seem to do enough to affect the towers.
I find some of the x*x function name misleading: x*x acts more like 2*x rather than x^2. at low values of x (between -1 and 1), x*x should decrease (tend towards zero)

Overall I still enjoyed the experience given it's very appealing presentation.

Enneract says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:44am

@eXpl0it3r It's not gimbal lock, there's actually just a clamp on that axis. It was due to some problems I had to do with directional vectors which I ran out of time to fix.

@DomNomNom you're correct the x*x and -x*x aren't exactly what they say they are, they're more like ( x + power ) * ( 1.0 - ( focalPoint - distance ) ). I just couldn't think of a nice way to show this on the UI.

To people saying it's too fast or hard understand... sorry about that. I spent most of time getting the surface deformation working and didn't spend enough time on the game-play and balancing it. The first two levels are definitely possible, the third one I'm not sure about yet.

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:48am

I rly like this concept!

morazor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:57am

Very original and nice visual style. I like it!

AdamW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Is rly gr m8, I r8 8/8, No but seriously, great game!

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Excellent Game. It is unlike anything I have played before and you deserve credit for how innovative the game is. However as a side effect of how different this game is I did find the rules initially difficult to understand. Well done on this entry

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:32pm

It is a bit difficult at first, but after I got it, it was really nice, also the idea of changing the planet is really nice, great wok.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Wow, impressive. Full concept is amazing!

Junber says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Amazing. Very cool graphics style, cool concept. Really good game.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Stretched onto both screens when launched, and i couldn't figure out a way to close it short of by external kill command. A windowed version would be much appreciated because this looks like something i'd have fun with!

blob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Interesting concept and very nice realization ( with option menu and all). Didnt understand the gameplay at all though :S
Tutorial says I need to lower the surface so I used only function that do to destroy the towers but sometimes raising it would kill them, and bunch of times lowering surface would destroy any block. Maybe I misunderstood?

Enneract says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:55pm

@SpringCabal was that on Linux that it did that? It runs fine on my multi-monitor set-up on windows, but linux machine is only single monitor so I haven't tested that. There is a windowed mode; you can change it from the game's pause menu's settings (you have to get past the intro first). Or in the top level directory of the game folder there's a file called "config.omi_pref" you can just open this as a .txt file and you should find a line with "fullscreen: on" and simply change it to "fullscreen: off"

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Absolutely beautiful presentation, fantastic music, and a really unique mechanic. I'd be excited to see where you could take this in the future, adding more interesting decisions for the player to make, beyond use using a positive or negative function depending on which color a given block is. This is already super impressive for a jam, and I think there's lots of potential ahead. Well done!

Enneract says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:57pm

@blob yeah sorry gameplay is pretty confusing. I spent most of time on the implementation of the surface deformation and didn't spend enough time on game-play that fitted around this. You need to lower the surface to destroy blue blocks and raise the surface to destroy red blocks (the ground colours match this, low ground is blue, high ground is red).

kaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Super game! Very interesting idea which is suppred by huge variaty of situations. Really well done!

HenryBell says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Love the game man , congrats

Birke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:32pm

A lot of innovation going on here and the presentation is excellent. I had a difficult time understanding what I had to do to destroy the towers though so a tutorial that makes sure you understand that concept would be a good thing to add.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Genial concept and great realization.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Really great concept! Firing 'functions' against a mesh is really interesting; and the "Choose 1 of 2 randomized inputs" adds nice depth.

I could definitely see the mechanic being applied to all sorts of puzzle / building games.

Ouro17 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Ey, great entry, I like how functions are represented! Congrats!

NIGIC says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:51pm

I had also set out to do something with terraforming initially, but after pacing around for an hour trying to figure out how to translate it into gameplay, I dropped it. Makes me appreciate this game even more.

Visuals are simple and yet look great, and along with the audio give a nice atmosphere to the game.

Like how your transformations persist after finishing a level. Would be even better if they stuck for repeat playthroughs.

A bit of a repeat of previous comments, but yeah, camera controls can get a bit disorienting, and it can be hard to see whether you're supposed to push or pull. Quaternion-based rotations and some visual feedback as to the status of the current base (like a colored glow, a billboarded dot, or something) would solve those issues.

Great game overall. Good job!

JALgames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:46pm

A really nice idea and I think you implemented it really well. I also like that you sued your own engine!

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Really interesting et superb graphics.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Very good idea and implementation!

dieblume86 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Nice game.
But hard to understand the gameplay.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Fantastic presentation, and very cool from a technical standpoint, with the terraforming stuff. The gameplay was a little obscure, like I'm not sure what the requirements for damaging the towers actually were, and I'm not good enough at maths to really judge what the functions will do to the landscape. But otherwise very cool!

Lyje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Incredible idea. Graphics and audio are fantastic. Unfortunately it's really hard to see, in many cases, what the bottom box is, making it virtually impossible to play once the landscape gets complicated.

Luke Nizik says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:28am

Awsome game!

dallonf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Fantastic visuals! And you really nailed the camera controls - that's a tricky thing for planetoid game.

Unfortunately, I really have no idea what's going on in terms of gameplay. I couldn't figure out how to destroy the towers and I mostly just wound up clicking randomly in their general direction.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:26am

I didn't read the instructions very well, so it took me a while to figure out exactly how this works, but once I did I really enjoyed it. I like the simplicity and the kinds of planet formations you get.

GengisKhan says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:00pm

The idea is really nice, and the functions applied to the planets are rather amusing and interesting.
Still, the gameplay feels weird. Even after playing 15 minutes, I still can't understand which mouse button kills what color, nor if my shots have any effect. It seems like sometimes they do, some they don't. Also, sometimes it's awkard understanding what color I should try to destroy becuase they overlap.
Couldn't beat the easy level, nor get close to it. Still, using functions as a weapons for me is 5/5 on theme. Wish I could have enjoyed this more =(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]