Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Lickitank

by Beanalby - Jam Entry

Madmen combined the strength of a tank with the licking power of tongues, to create... LICKITONGUE!

Tank and ground asset packs from the wonderful Kenney.
http://www.kenney.nl/assets

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Humor(Jam)4.25
#12Theme(Jam)4.29
#39Innovation(Jam)4.05
#181Fun(Jam)3.57
#215Overall(Jam)3.59
#404Graphics(Jam)3.53
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:43am

Man is that licking sound effect creepy! Great job though, pretty funny and a solid game all round :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:43am

Very cool idea! Game seemed a bit short, but the various puzzles were all very well executed. Certainly fit the theme. Great job!

Liam :D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:12pm

I shouted out "GROSS" aloud and made this face -> D: <- yes, that exact face, when I extended the tongue!

10/10 :D

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:16pm

nice concept.

RoryD says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:31am

"Nuuuuuuuuhhhh"... That's all I'm thinking. A decent concept executed pretty well. I would like to see what other puzzles could be done.

ianb96 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:31am

Feels kinda floaty, but other than that it has very nice mechanics!

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:32am

Great concept! I just wish there was a bit more. Maybe enemies that could hurt you, and something to lick to gain health...?

diiq says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:33am

Love it. Love everything about it, and hope you make it longer.

Love the sound effects, love the look, love the mechanics of it, love the way the tongue falls limp after it mlehs.

The jump sound is a bit harsh and grating; and you might find a better way to communicate that the wall and the enemy tank are connected in a "kill this to open that" relationship.

Great work.

JulioC says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:54am

Man, that licking sound! Great job

doitle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:57am

The licking sound totally makes this entry!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:00am

I love it! Really cute and immediately fun to play. The title alone is worth its weight in gold.

pkenney says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:07am

Cool physics-based exploration of an unusual ability! Controls a little floaty for my taste but I can see why you went that way.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:08am

So funny! I wish there was music though, the mood felt really incomplete. The mechanics and puzzles were good though. I beat it- took me a while on the kill the tanks to proceed level tho ;0

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:05am

I didn't expect to find a puzzle game like this in LD32. Bot only the idea is really cool, but you aced the implementation. Graphics are nice and work well with the game. (licks the keyboard to press the enter key)

clegamecoop says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Ahahaa that was pretty clever. I found myself getting a little warn out a little ways in though. I only got to the part where there are two of those orange tanks. I couldn't figure out how to get to the next part and I died a few times.

I gave you a 2 for the theme because while the tongue mechanic is interesting, it was used more as a tool than an actual weapon. Maybe it was used as one later on, but didn't see it where I was. Either way, not too bad. Pretty good concept.

--David Mckee (ViRiX)--

shadow64 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:37am

Okay this actually made me laugh a lot. Thank you for playing my game and rating it. I wish you had had time for music, but the licking audio cracked me up. The jump could also be just a LITTLE tighter for my taste (no pun intended), but I didn't mind the floatiness that much.

The art style is really cool! I wish like others that there was just more of the game.

Thanks for making it and congrats on meeting the deadline!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]