Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Glyph Valley

by recursor - Compo Entry

Instructions:
You arrive at the valley with a confused mind. You are not sure how you got here. The way behind you is blocked somehow. Best keep moving...

Controls:
WASD = Move
Look with mouse
Left Shift = Run
Tab = Change Word of Power
Left Mouse = Say currently equipped word
Left Ctrl = Crouch

Version log:
(4/20/2015) Fixed the following
-Scroll was floating into the ground
-Title music was not fading correctly

(4/21/2015) Post-Compo Version
-Limited player's rotational view
-Text dialog now fades after a time and can be shown/hidden by pressing 'L'
-Added another sage
-Changed Lighting a bit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#271Audio3.22
#367Graphics3.37
#450Mood3.05
#488Overall3.24
#599Theme3.29
#749Innovation2.81
#789Fun2.78
#802Humor2.24

Comments

peejaygee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:01am

as of 11.00pm EST on 04.19.2015 I'm unable to locate the download or web links to enable me to test this game for voting.

recursor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:45am

Argh! The links were there but the 'http://' prefix was missing. It is fixed now.

kristof says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Interesting. I like the graphics and sound effects (cool voice acting :-) ). After finding some spells and playing around with them I did not know what to do anymore though. Is there an objective?
One minor thing: The dialog text box should fade out after a while. It blocks to much of the screen.
All in all, I still hat fun exploring the world. Nice work!

recursor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:30pm

@kristof: There is an objective. Escape the valley.

Good suggestion about the dialog text box.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41pm

The style and puzzle design are really impressive, and the voice acting is a nice touch.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Nice low poly, also the puzzles were very challenging.

Chadivision says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25am

Very cool! I love low-poly 3D. Interesting concept and well executed. One of the best I've played so far.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:42am

Fun game and world. Would have liked to have the shouts or words as you will be a bit quicker to come up, but glad you changed up the voices so I didn't have to hear the same thing over and over again, haha. Looked nice and fun too.
Also I think the character model kept clipping into and out of the main camera. Prob shouldn't have that on there. Good job!

Integershift says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:24am

Interesting game.
I agree with kristof... the text box takes up quite a bit of the screen. The graphics are decent, the music is good.
Great job overall!

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:30am

Interesting game ! Strong sense of story telling, I love the map but not a big fan of charm design.

calavera says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:31am

very fun to explore, very fun just yelling PALOOSH over and over =D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:45am

Interesting style I like it.

Could you people possibly take the time to try my entry:
All nighters were pulled the get it finished in time.
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=27330

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09am

nice idea.. maybe a bit confusing gameplay.

Ershany says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:02am

Well done. Thought it was really neat :)

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:33am

The graphismes are great, the voice acting is really funny... I will spend a lot of time throwing objects and yelling PALOUSH !!
But you don't really know what to do and where to go, you end up yelling at everything to see if something work... lika a crazy guy...

terryg says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:34am

I like the 3d game realm. The feel reminded me of "Unturned". The voice work is well done. I felt like I got stuck moving once, but was able to get out ok. That was getting the nakazulu I think. Didn't really seeem to take damage from the ninjas. It was nice getting hit by them because they seem to give you some lift. Hmm? Maybe that was the way out. I got the sphere thing stuck to me in the pond. Seemed to ride it, but I didn't understand its purpose. Couldn't seem to find anything else after 15 minutes so I gave up. But well done. I think I need more patience.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:22am

Nice world and interesting concept. A good entry, but what is the final objective? Maybe it's just a travel? Thank you ++

terryg says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:31am

I like the 3d game realm. The feel reminded me of "Unturned". The voice work is well done. I felt like I got stuck moving once, but was able to get out ok. That was getting the nakazulu I think. Didn't really seeem to take damage from the ninjas. It was nice getting hit by them because they seem to give you some lift. Hmm? Maybe that was the way out. I got the sphere thing stuck to me in the pond. Seemed to ride it, but I didn't understand its purpose. Couldn't seem to find anything else after 15 minutes so I gave up. But well done. I think I need more patience.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:08am

Nicely made game. :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:05am

cool art style and idea! the voice was funny XD

jushii says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:23am

Loved the sounds when using the words! Found third word after killing the enemies but then got stuck! :D ps. Trees are lovely!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:42am

Nicely made, the sounds are just awsome, but there is verymuch space with very little to do maybe some more direktions what to do next would have been nice.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:59am

I think you can add walkthrough to description. Usually people play the game and read description only if they finish or something goes wrong (stuck, for example).

Mimus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:29am

Pas mal, je suis juste sortie hors map.
(Google translate, I'm French)

Mimus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:30am

Not bad, I'm just off exit map

jhell says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Pretty cool, I got stuck after nakazhuluu, but the controls are nice (except no Azerty support :(), the game world looks cool and the voice-overs are awesome =)

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I got stuck on Nakazhulu! Was very pretty though and super ambitious! well done!

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Anybody know what should I do after I learnt parlosh and zinotele? Something with the lake?

Ptolo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:24pm

That art style is very nice, I enjoyed the exploration and the receiving new powers. Good that the enemies only caused knockback instead of making you have to restart from the beginning :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Great audio and visuals, the level design was cool too.

Eigen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Although I never got out of the valley (have no idea what to do with Nakazulu nor the sphere beneath me) it was quite an enjoyable experience. As others have said, the voice acting is pretty funny, adds a lot to it. Graphically it's a bit rough and even though everything's coloful, eerily eery. Good job!

Headmade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Could you please provide a downloadable version for windows? I really don't want to install the unity plugin.

Mase says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:42pm

The writing is very amusing.
The camera focusing on the treasure as it flies was a nice way to show its location.

I thought there was an orb in the lake but I guess it was just my torso.

oparisy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Very nice world to explore, liked the rocks and mountains rendering.

Varying the voice was a nice touch as over already commented.

I had some difficulties to reach the ending, which was satisfying in a sense. But sadly, I opened the *spoiler* chest from the wrong side and did not see its content! Was there any?

Thanks, nice experience anyway.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:53pm

It doesn't seem to work properly for me. Nearly all of the scenery was replaced by a big brown and white grid type pattern. I'm using Safari.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:35am

Very impressive for 48 hours. I wasn't sure exactly what the last power word did, other than reveal the chest.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:26am

I really like the look of the environment.

marinalucio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:52pm

I really love low poly art (hence my game :D) so i really like the overall mood and feeling of the game. I couldn't understand why it was unconventional weapon, but it's a really cool little game. Good job! :)

vidarn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I loved it. The game world was mysterious and it was exiting to figure out what each new word did. Good job on creating a compelling game that managed to hook me completely until I finished it. Great stuff!

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Nice little adventure game! I know getting a FPS up and running in Unity is no trivial task, especially in one weekend. The voice recordings were a nice touch, especially with the different tones for the same spell to keep it from being too repetitive.

eastes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:51am

Great idea for an unconventional weapon. Thanks for reminding me about the source on my game - http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=34676. I forgot to include the link.

Love the similar graphics style!

Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:09am

Pretty cool game! I played around until I got stuck in the pool in the mountain. Either way I spent a good 20 mins playing around and quite enjoyed myself. Great work!

SledKnight says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:51am

Cool entry! One of the few I've stuck through to the end. Very nice concept. Would be cool to see it fleshed out. I love a good puzzle game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]