Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Underground Hangovers

by Deconstructeam - Jam Entry

Underground Hangovers is a metroidvania platformer sorted with several bizarre super-unconventional tools.

Play as a member of a group of miners who were left behind by their company since they were having a party at the depths of the excavation site at the moment of departure. When they woke up from the party, no one was there. If they want to see their beloved ones again, they'll need to build an improvised spaceship to reach the escape velocity that will take them outside planet Urult.

HAVE FUN.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#26Audio(Jam)4.14
#36Overall(Jam)4.02
#69Graphics(Jam)4.36
#73Mood(Jam)3.90
#121Fun(Jam)3.69
#266Innovation(Jam)3.48
#495Theme(Jam)3.38
#522Humor(Jam)2.85

Comments

Libipl Joe says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24am

Old school in a good way. Nice look, fairly open to player choice (patience vs skill at times), interesting world.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:58am

Nice game, reminds me of sunset cowboys from snes. good entry.

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01am

The music is amazing! Nice game

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:20am

Gráficos chulos, música que acompaña y todo lo bueno de un divertido metroidvania.

Gran trabajo, chicos!

headchant says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55am

One of the best LD entries I played so far. The concept was great and I played for about an hour. Any chance for a OSX verson?

Ludipe says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:49am

Nice metroidvania ^^

Both art and music were superb and set the mood up. The "rope-mechanic" was interesting, I wish it was less limited because everything is always better when you can do crazy things :P

The level design was pretty solid, the entry is very polished and with a great ammount of content.

Great work!

Zayron says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Nice job. I love the Art and Music. It sets a nice mood. :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:15pm

THIS IS AMAZING

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:31am

Really enjoyed this - found that I had spent quite a long time playing, which is always a good sign :) Well done team!

Sublustris says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:56am

Great art, dude :) 5 for GFX!

flwns says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:03am

really nice, but feels grindy

petitpois says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:12am

Love the graphics and puzzle elements. Fun game :D

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:34am

I always like how look your games!

Saker Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:36am

Woa, this game is so cool! Awesome graphics, music and gameplay. Very well done, congrats! :)

rgehan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Absolutely wonderful. Beautiful graphics, an awesome soundtrack. The rope mechanic is really a good idea.

5/5!

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Yeah so basically everything about this game is amazing! Thought the physics were quite floaty at first but then I realised it's on another planet and the ores weigh you down - never seen a burden mechanic on a platformer before! Anyway really enjoyed it so far and I'll keeping this on my computer as I want to finish the whole thing later.

By the way, your entry really interested me as I also created a platformer for this LD, although perhaps so quite so polished as yours. It's called Nuclear Autumn and I hope you'll have a little try of it as well :)

renanlindner says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Amazing!!! Nice teamwork guys!!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Excellent game! Very polished with great graphics and music! Congratulations, one of the best entries i played so far!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:05pm

I can't believ you managed to do all this in just 3 days. Amazing!
There are a lot of little details: the rope intensity slightly changes when its climbable, the music, the importance of carrying too much ore, the hangover/party story, etc
I feel guilty not having time to finish thi one :s

coderitual says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:39pm

I'm impressed. For me this is one of the best game here. Fanstastic graphics and mechanics. 5/5

Indiestry says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Really well done, love the art. The introduction could have been a bit "lighter" but but the game is still really really good.

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Nice game: very good graphics and music. But you could have just mined the first few ores over and over again without buying anything right?

taviandir says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Absolutely beautiful game with a super lovely and fitting music theme to it, the effects were good too!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:04pm

I'm having trouble opening the zip as archive - this looks really cool though! Wish I could get it to work

lubiterum says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:38pm

very good!!!!

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Awesome music!

Zener says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:58am

Excellent! Very nice concept and mechanics, every aspect of the game is very polished!!!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:45pm

I got stuck in walls a couple times and didn't want to restart all over again. I got the powerdrill like three times, but got stuck while trying different things while looking for green ore and couldn't bring myself to do it again.
Would definitely play and finish a post-jam version.

hbocao says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:03am

Amazing entry, guys. The art and sound are just incredible. The game is solid as it should be expected from you. :) It really didn't felt like a LD game. See you at the top :)

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:19am

Great game but I can't put my finger on 'unconventional weapon', I have experienced all the unconventional TOOLS, they were absolutely awesome!

flummox3d says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:40am

Grr, those goddamn monkeys. :D Amazing game :)

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:30am

I HAD FUN.

Another amazing entry. Really great feel to the whole thing with the look, the music and the playing of the game.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:23am

Brilliant! It felt really solid as a whole, with cool mechanics and an amazing level of polish.

BIZM says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Really great looking art and super high level of polish! We love the music. Great work!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Great mood and atmosphere. A little repetitive, but not bad.

I was able to get myself stuck in the ground using down arrow to drop off of my hook when it was really close to the ground

Simon says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:32am

This rocks :)

rgehan says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:50am

I didn't reach the end unfortunately, because I kept getting stuck into the ground while using the power drill near rocks.

Really annoying because the game is awesome :)

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Not my favorite of yours (as you can guess, I'm not much into platformers) but it is really really good

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Awesome entry! One of the few games that I have played that has some pretty long gameplay. I love the opportunity cost of hauling too much loot with you. Instantly reminds me of being over-encumbered in Fallout or the Elder Scrolls series. I did like that I could set my grapple in a placed that I knew I needed to go and then collect my loot after it was placed. Otherwise, I would not be able to place it correctly after I had collected more gems. Awesome all around.

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Hey, I liked this entry so much I included the game as part of my Top 10 Platformers of Ludum Dare 32:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/27/my-top-10-platformer-games-of-ludum-dare-32/

norwalnate13 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:15am

Very intuitive. I've never seen anything like the double hook claw before. Nice job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:55am

Very mood but, pretty difficult game. Took me some time to figure out how to play, even with tips =(

jushii says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:22am

Got stuck inside the ground after playing for a while. Noticed a bug: When exiting a screen while still walking on the dual hook rope, the animation continues on the next screen and the game thinks you are still walking on the rope! :) Anyways, a solid entry! Feels really polished.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:46am

There's a huge amount of content here, and it's well polished. I'm really impressed! Love the art and music. Great job! Will definitely be coming back to this game.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:54am

Nice game with a fun mechanic. Crashed on me a few times after playing for a few minutes, but I'd really like to come back to it.

Curial says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:58am

Mates, you always do great stuff. Love all the ambient, love too much things about this game. Only maybe I would put another sign post with message "Watch the dog" xD

Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Psssst - you are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCpIrD_PaBM

chaotikZA says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Awesome entry! Kept me coming back till I could finish it!

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:29am

This has been one of my favourite games so far. Very interesting, lots of puzzle-like challenges, and great mechanics. It was a bit frustrating at the beginning with the smaller bag, though. Felt like it slowed the pace down too much in the beginning.

Great job!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Very nice game, the graphics are very nice and fit very well with the music. I found a bug where when I was pushing a stone that was in a pile of stones, I moved in the pile and got stuck here, too bad, I was really enjoying the game but having to start everything all over is a bummer. Very polished game, good job!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Great entry! Graphics and audio are nice and consistent, mechanics are interesting and fun to play around with. My only complaint is that it is a little frustrating at times, but that might be more a reflection on my skill than anything. Overall this is a fantastic entry, and there is so much content for a 72-hour game.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:08am

Great innovation!

Embalaje says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:35am

Wow, best music, nothing more to say!
Love that pixel art, love, love it.
A very polished game, you are amazing good

Terry says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Whoa! This is pretty incredible :)

May 1, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Impressed at the size of this and how polished it felt. Liked the different tools especially the rope mechanic. The music was also nice and worked well at giving the game this old western town mood.

DKoding says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:40pm

That was a great game. Love the mechanics.

Arche-san says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Wow! There are a lot of details for a jam entry. Unfortunately i didn't reach the end. But the game is awesome. Excellent job!

SamH says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Truly a little gem. Thanks for the good time in the caves.

(note to all: play it! there’s even an end of game cinematic!)

DesignerNap says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Excellent. Top marks from me on this. Tone, atmosphere, the lot!

HolyBlackCat says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Very very nice game I must say! Very long, but still interesting. Finished it.

filipe.silva says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:11am

a lot of fun. Art well done. Well synchronized animations. Congratulations

May 4, 2015 @ 9:16am

This game is just perfect. Don't know what I can say more :) Why not making a post-compo version and put it on itch.io or so?

Fabraz says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Metroid meets Castlevania meets Cave Story meets Sunset Cowboy. Wowza! Dig the feel of this one.

May 5, 2015 @ 8:23pm

One of my favorite so far!

GarethIW says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:21am

This game really had me hooked (:D) until I got stuck in a wall. I had the large bag and was well on the way to getting the drill, but had no teleporter to help me out :[ Still, great effort!

lochmann-apps says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Nice one, really like it!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:58pm

This is so polished! I can't get over how clever the level design is, making the hook rope only stable at certain angles was a brilliant idea. Great work!

FrederickK says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:23am

Amanzing polished, I would like somethings to be easier, but it is ok. xD
Great job!

volkoivan says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:57am

GREAT
Killed about an hour in it, but at the point when I needed the red ore to launch the rocket I became pretty tired
But I had a lot of fun from it, it is very addictive and looks really completed and polished
5/5

p.s. fucking dogs

jk5000 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:27am

A great game with a lot of great potential. Plus great music.

NuvlearGames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:10am

Absolutely loved the music and good overall. Well done

Novodantis says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:35pm

I like the rope tool, the angle threshold made using it a real skill that was great when it worked, although it could get frustrating at times. Look and feel is so spot on; this is one of my favourites here.

23 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:35pm

That's really nice! I got stuck in a wall (the dip over the higher moving block in the room with two) but I really like the direction this is going.

May 9, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Great game! I loved the rope mechanic, and for some reason mining minerals feels so rewarding. It's impressive how much you were able to get into the game.

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Wow! Awesome execution: graphics, sounds, story, gameplay. You guys know how to make good games. Thanks again!

... and remember, Gods Will Be Watching ;)

Zec27 says ...
May 22, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Nice game ! The rope system is good and there are many possibilities with it ! The power drill is funny to use, but I found many glitches. I needed to go at the beginning many times. Also the bio driver is quite difficult to use at the first sight, but with a few skills it works. I thinks there are too many useless blocks and in lot of situations, only one block is useful. Also I hate cats, lol ! But it's funny to kill them with the power drill. The music is good and not boring. To conclude, this game is a success for only a few hours, good job !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]