Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Escape

by Tiago Ling Alexandre - Compo Entry

You're stranded in a strange dimension with hostile creatures. Also you are unarmed, so your only chance is to grab enemies and use them as your weapons!

Alien Escape is my first attempt at creating a turn-based game. A lot more work than i thought, so the game is very crude and needs a lot of adjustments and refinement, but it should be playable until the end (there are 4 levels).

CONTROLS
========
Left Mouse Button - Activates the action buttons at the top-left part of the screen.

That's it, hope you have some fun playing it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#684Graphics2.84
#731Innovation2.84
#783Audio2.03
#822Humor2.18
#826Overall2.87
#856Theme2.92
#941Fun2.51
#992Mood2.19

Comments

Brael says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43am

Ran into a problem in the second level where the game stopped responding.

peejaygee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

The only thing I didn't like about it was the 'end' 'attack' etc may have worked a little better bottom left? so there wasn't as much mouse movement. Overall though, enjoyable.

igorfelga says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Nice game. I missed a BG music
With some adjust can be a great game.

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:59pm

I like turn-based games like these. With a little polish, this could really be good!

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:04pm

So wait....the enemies were the unconventional weapon? That's....kinda weird. The game is passable, the movement is kinda choppy, but hey, not bad. Good job!

thaaks says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:09pm

I liked the isometric 2.5D look and also the graphics style a lot.
The control mechanism only using the mouse felt awkward.
Pressing the "End" button could have been removed IMHO. And cursor key movement would have been nice. I think that's what I would improve. Also sound, some nice music would have been good (I'm saying - my entry also lacks music...).
In the second level the amount of monsters increased dramatically when I didn't make it to the door...
A nice game!

drludos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Nice entry, doing a turn-based game isn't an easy choice is 48h. I like the 2.5D look with a "ZX Spectrum" feeling, and the gameplay is interesting (grabbing enemies to to throw them onto others foe).

Two complaints:
- When there is no more action point, the player turn should end automatically, to avoid a useless "end" button clicking
-I encountered a bug in level 2: I was given the choice to "grab" while all the enemies where more than one black way from me, and I was stuck there.

Congrats on creating all this in 48h!

Moraleidahgo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:50am

The isometric view makes it hard to see where you're going. Also had some problems with the pathfinding, the character couldn't move to an unoccupied tile right in front of them.

borgi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Atmospheric graphics, nice implementation! Good job!

sbarrio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Really interesting.and well executed.

I have been wanting to do a turn based strategy game for some time now, and seeing this made with HaxeFlixel made me want to try it now!

Nice job!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Normally I do not like based-turn games. But the rhythm of his game is very fluid. I loved it.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Hey, I'm Rodrigo Oliveira, from IGDA Curitiba ;)

I like your art style, awesome!

Sometimes was a little difficult to select the right cell to move (when it's lower than others). Also, maybe a door indicator could be useful to show where is the exit when the map is bigger that the screen.

See ya!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:28pm

This reminds me a bit of Final Fantasy Tactics. :)

It was a bit difficult to select the square you really want with the mouse. If you work on this game some more, you might try adding keyboard shortcuts so there's not as much mouse movement. The buttons were a little small so it was a little difficult to click.

I ran into a bug on the 4th level where I tried to grab an empty square and the game apparently froze.

diegomachado says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Game is a little buggy, got stucked on the second level.

But I can't imagine how hard is to make a turn-based isometric game in 48hrs, so you have respect!

Druid says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Wow! Making turn based strategy in three days?! Pretty impressive for me! And i like this one so much because this game reminds me x-com :D Really cool!

May 8, 2015 @ 3:14pm

@Druid: Thanks! Yeah, it was two very rushed days! I also wrote a postmortem of the game today:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/05/08/alien-escape-postmortem/

FrederickK says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:22pm

The idea is super ambitious for a jam game and I like when people try things like that!
I think is just lacking content, music, more enemies, more options, etc, the base you already have.
I highly recommend to you keep working on your game, I think there is a lot of potential!

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I like the concept and I like the idea of being able to grab your enemies and throw them at each other but the angle that the map is shown at needs to be a bit higher as there are some maps where the tiles are blocked from the view (but can still be traversed).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]