Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Clumsy Crew: Incredible Tank

by TobiasNL - Compo Entry

HIGHSCORE: 230

Clumsy Crew: Incredible Tank is a shoot 'm up arena game with a twist: Your crew is repairing your tank, but they're not very good at it... resulting in engine meltdowns and strange malfunctioning weaponry.


I made this small game in about 10 hours using Gamemaker 8, Ableton, Cool Edit Pro and my microphone (it has a lot of voice acting in it, haha).

*5 weapons
*voice acting

*F4 for fullscreen/windowed
*windows only, sorry

Thanks for another great Ludum Dare! Too bad I lacked time to enjoy the competition to it's fullest!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#22Audio4.13
#28Graphics4.38
#30Humor4.06
#44Overall3.97
#65Mood3.79
#90Fun3.79
#284Theme3.67
#295Innovation3.48

Comments

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:30am

VERY NICE GAME! A humorous concept with a humorous execution i love it! the graphics are really good and the sound effects too but I think what really completes this is the banter between the two characters on the tank! My one complaint is that it's too difficult for me to get very far but I think that's forgivable considering the fact that it makes this game really funny to play

iMer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:48am

very fun and quite good for just 10 hours :)
the weapons are a bit confusing, but that's the fun, right?

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:51am

Cool voices, pretty tanks, completely goofball weapons. Lots of quick fun, thank you for this!

A333 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:55am

Beautiful graphics, and gameplay is fun. Nice touch with the engine meltdowns, could be expanded to additional effects (for example, broken gun, but fast).
If you are stuck with rockets and meltdown - you are screwed.

Wusakko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:57am

Best game so far!!

bazld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:09am

Didn't expect such a slick game - plays so well! The malfunctioning tank idea is very original - tho I did find it pretty difficult(!).

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Brilliant! Smooth gameplay with surprising mechanics. The weapons are counter-intuitive which makes them so fun to use. The game looks really good in motion, and the voice acting is hilarious!

McFish says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Great controls and graphics :)

Manou says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Incredible, loved the way the bullets work.

AnEvilEmpire says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Loved it.

nassi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Looks and sounds really nice, but most of the weapons are absolutely dreadful making the whole game somewhat irritating. Even after quite a few tries my best score was still 50 or so.

What controller did you try to use for my game btw? First time I tried Löve's gamepad features, so the implementation might not be perfect.

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Thanks for the reviews folks! @ Nassi: I used a Logitech Rumblepad 2 :)

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:04am

@TobiasNL: The Löve wiki says that "LÖVE automatically recognizes most popular controllers with a similar layout to the Xbox 360 controller as gamepads, but you can add more with love.joystick.setGamepadMapping.". I guess they don't consider the Logitech Rumblepad 2 popular enough :(.

At least I know what I'll have to do next time I plan on adding controller support, but I probably won't "fix" the current version. Maybe if enough people complain about it.

Thanks for the reply! If only LD allowed private messages...

Sublustris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:32am

Great visuals! 5 for GFX

shrapx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36pm

It has a good feel, like it means business,reminds me of amiga style games. Each game ends a bit too soon.. because of my lack of skill probably :p The voices are fun, and the the tanks and their tracks look great.

CireNeikual says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:18am

Very well made! The graphics, sound, and gameplay were all quite nice. I liked the voice acting too. I really need to "git gud" though!

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:20am

Fun to play, but it's really hard.

Hambone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:13am

Brutal game, I loved it. I loved the voice over for "Game Over"

arkelite says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:35am

Great graphics and audio!

pkenney says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:44am

Tricky in a good way, played a bunch! Very nice look and sound, too.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:31pm

This game is a lot of FUN!!!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:27am

Very nice. I had a blast! voice acting was a nice touch.

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:17am

Nice game, maybe too hard at first. Cool audio and graphics)

Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:20am

Quite a bit of fun, but I found most of the weapons very difficult to use.

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:02am

Cool graphics! Very hard to actually do some damage, the weapons are useless! :-D

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:55pm

I found it too hard. But otherwise, a really nice production.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]