Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bassic

by C# - Compo Entry

Pick up your bass guitar and rock away the forces of evil! Navigate through the map, while attacking your enemies. Becareful, your bass guitar can only shoot shockwaves if you play on the beat. The more accurate you are, the more powerful those waves become.
Play through 3 levels, including a boss fight, and see if you can top your highscore!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#159Audio3.46
#193Theme3.81
#261Innovation3.54
#368Overall3.37
#469Mood3.03
#479Graphics3.16
#505Fun3.11
#556Humor2.70

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19am

Great job on this! The timing may be a little out (or its just me) but this is really well done!

sbot1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38am

Slappa da bass! great idea. Seems like you have a fair bit of content. like the music.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38am

Good game :) I just had a problem with matching the music. Maybe I'm just terrible at keeping the rhythm, but the music could be a bit more descriptive, maybe by adding a click track, a high hat or a base drum.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:46am

Cool concept! I felt like my hits weren't registering even though it seemed like I was on the beat. When I focused more on getting the circles lined up I felt like I wasn't hitting on the beat. It was definitely tricky but fun, good work!

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:52am

The idea's really solid, but the music was wildly out of sync. If the music was synced up it'd be a pretty satisfying experience! Also, the world is pretty large compared to how fast your character moves, so it takes a long time to get from place to place.

If you can get the timing to work right, there's a lot of places you could go with this.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:23am

Basic fun Game.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:33am

Love the concept, but like people said the track is out of sync. I'd also like it a lot more if the attack sound was a bass guitar sound.

BadPaul34 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:50am

Nice concept :) Too bad the tempo is that fast, I finished spamming my space bar, randomly trying to throw a note.
Maybe it could have been slowed done, and punished on error (cooldown?) because I didn't feel the need to get in rythm, or to fit with the tempo.

But you manage to make a lot of things, and the overall game is really nice :) Well done!

eastes says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:19am

Here, take some 5 stars. I really love the concept!!!

Bardikus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:34am

5/5 Stars from me, really loved the idea. It's the first game I kept on playing for longer because I was having fun not just for rating. Hope to see Basic C 2 in Ludum Dare 33, but make the movement a little faster. Keep up the good work!

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Wow! It's a lot better than I expected (played a game similar to this). I love your art style and GUI. Music is pretty catchy too. There's only a few gameplay tweaks I recommend, level 1 shouldn't have its tempo be that fast it should be slower. Also, there should be other actions the play can do only when he presses space bar will the other ones come up. Or have it always on but not constantly moving at the top of the screen it's distracting. Anyways, I'll play more later, I got to level two (since I had to install it)

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:26am

It was really fun trying attack in sync with the beat. I liked the attention to detail with the "Nice" or "Sweet!" messages

calavera says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:32am

I always love games with a music element! I thought it was pretty hard to stay in time but i had fun!

FYI, theres an option when exporting from gamemaker to make a stand-alone EXE that doesnt have to be installed the way this one does. way more convenient for reviewing.

Demy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:39am

Nice idea of combining Guitar Hero and arcade but for me it's too fast. But I love the concept.

SledKnight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:59am

Not sure the timing is correct on this. But nice concept and entry!

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:17am

I found the timing very difficult while walking and defeating the monsters. Maybe it's because I am no multitask person.

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:18am

Very fun game. I wish the music was on sync though. Also, the movement feels a bit slow.

But besides that, great work!

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:19pm

I had fun with this one. For me having a rhythm based attack is certainly unconventional. Sound was nice and I enjoyed the pixel art graphics.

Saker Games says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Drop the bass. Fighting like a samurai. I have no sense of rhythm and I died again and again but big like for you.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]