Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Revenge of the Slimeball: Episode 9

by PIXEL^3 - Jam Entry

In a world where wooden crates are sentient who will stop the invasion other than SLIMEBALL MAN! With the amazing slime ball power of bouncing around and turning into spikes the evil crates stand no chance! Infiltrate the enemy factory in this exciting adventure of revenge! Because they killed your father... or something. Go kill crates.

Only 2 level for now because we were really lazy this LD but it's better than nothing. Sometimes you have to attack the immobile crates multiple time to break them but we're too lazy to fix it.

UPDATE: Crates should be working now

CONTROLS:
WASD to move left and right, and up and if you're in mid-air.
S to enter a pipe
SPACEBAR to jump.
LEFT MOUSE to charge your jumps, you jump in the direction of your mouse cursor.
If you don't like the controls, you can edit them in config/keys.cfg

Programming by Jellonator
Art by AlucardX60
Music by MKSTAR26

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#167Graphics(Jam)4.04
#227Audio(Jam)3.39
#363Innovation(Jam)3.32
#601Overall(Jam)3.11
#631Fun(Jam)2.88
#686Humor(Jam)2.50
#699Mood(Jam)2.80
#849Theme(Jam)2.80
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

chanko08 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56am

Interesting mechanic. Once I got used to the idea I was flying all over the place. Looked like there were some collision issues with some of the crates. I'd hit them and they'd disappear, but I'd still be able to jump on top of them.

JALgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03am

Amazing graphics! The game looks so cute and the game is very fun, although sometimes a bit frustrating...

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:05am

Interesting idea. I feel like it has a lot of potential, but it was often frustrating trying to do simple things. If I was able to charge up and launch myself immediately after a previous launch, I feel like it could be a lot of fun. Have you considered adding a visual meter that shows have much charge you have?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:42pm

The slimeball turning into a spike that could destroy things was an interesting mechanic. Would be nice if you could have more feedback to how much you're charging up cause it did take me a bit to figure out how much I was charging. Although it was fun to just charge up alot and see where you'd end up.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:49pm

composer here

soundtrack here https://soundcloud.com/emelia-kaylee/sets/ninety-minutes-revenge-of-the

ftm (source file) here https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41669097/Ninety%20Minutes.ftm

have fun with your Ludum Dare kids

-Emelia K.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:26pm

It was compelling and tricky to play so that kept me going. I didn't manage to finish it thought. Great visuals and audio!

Crefossus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:04pm

The platform movement is okay but the bouncy movement is really hard to control. I feel like if you had the s key take you directly out of the bouncy movement on demand that would help bring back control to the player. You get out of control for a really long time so failures become frustrating.

Also there could be feedback for charging up, maybe a dashed line indicator? Maybe reduce the range of motion or charging so there are less variables. That could make it feel clunkier so idk.

The art is really great all around. Some parts blend in a bit, maybe it's the background tiles? Can parallax?

phi6 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:57pm

I love these graphics, very impressive pixel art. The platforming physics were fairly good, although I think the ground friction was way too low. Jump charging was an interesting mechanic - I enjoyed flinging myself all over the shop!

Murchurl says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:25am

Music, Art and level design was fantastic! Glad you guys fixed the bug the game is now possible to complete :). Still quite difficult though because you have to get that power just right otherwise you bounce all over the place and are bound to die from enemies :p.

Overall fun game with an interesting mechanic great job!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Mechanic simple to understand yet hard to master, pretty nice graphics and cool soundtrack. Good job!

MartianGames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:07am

I love the bouncy concept, had a lot of fun, I particularly enjoyed using just the Mouse-Charged-Jump control as I needed to calculate very carefully/strategically my maneuver or I would end up getting pushed far backward, which made me laugh. I might suggest that dragging-the-mouse-action would spawn a stretchy goo like rubber band in the direction of drag, and just a slight more damping on the bounce, and remove all other controls .. this could be a rather fun game (and even translate well to a Mobile game...if you're into that sort of thang) lol .. also loved the "unconventional" music ;)

taviandir says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:13pm

A really great game and an interesting take on the theme. A few times i wasn't 100% sure what was background and what was platforms you could stand on.
I understand that you only had 72 hours but I want to make a few improvement suggestions that would've made the game EVEN better:
1) I've no idea how hard I am charging. Would be nice to have like a charge bar appear every time, maybe towards the mouse cursor?
2) Maybe a crosshair? This combined with (1) = Worms Armageddon's bazooka.
3) The last small bounces are quite redundant and only serves to make me slightly frustrated. It would be nice if the bouncing got "cancelled" faster.
4) Maybe an option to cancel the bouncing altogether and return to slime ball state?

Since it's a slime ball, maybe it can attach to walls? :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]