Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Empty Promises

by elitegoliath - Jam Entry

You, a Llamatician, are running for the Llamadency. What better way to gain votes by

engaging in public affairs.

Fight off the Llamaratzi before they can expose your Scandals by hurling bacon hammers at

them until they reluctantly submit. Gain the majority favor and convert llamas to your side

by spewing Empty Promises.

Contributers (Bladed Cyber Technologies LLC Team):
Justin Anthony
Shane Hendrickson
Kristi Smythe
Justin Fowler
Jackie Engel
Matthew Pablo

Tools Used:
Game Maker: Studio
Photoshop CS6
Audacity
Dropbox
Git
Skype
Screenhero

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#159Humor(Jam)3.58
#512Theme(Jam)3.37
#749Overall(Jam)2.94
#751Mood(Jam)2.71
#776Innovation(Jam)2.63
#808Graphics(Jam)2.63
#915Fun(Jam)2.43

Comments

Ryumaru says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09am

Ambitious amount of content with the maps, Seems like it might have been better to narrow the scope of the game to allow for a more polished experience. Definitely wins in the humor department

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:21am

Pros: Clever use of the theme, lies as weapon to convert other lamas to vote for you. Sound design was good, music was pleasant and fitting.
Cons: I kept getting stuck in trees and in the cars, that was frustrating. The experience was VERY repetitive (thus my low "fun" score).
If there was more variety and less of the constant clicking I would have given more stars. Also, I enjoyed the humor.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:00am

I didn't care for the gameplay-- I kept getting stuck in the walls, and the process by which you converted voters was a bit too abstract for my tastes. But there was a surprising amount of effort put into level design.

sorlok says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Fun and clever idea! I didn't know you could win elections this way, but it makes total sense now that I've experienced it. Collisions are a little sticky (although my game is guilty of that too).

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Hey! your game is not bad. It is fun. look at mine. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

nameoftheuser says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:18am

Llammarific

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:21am

Is it an election year? :P

diiq says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:24am

Cool idea! The concept of using lies to convert voters is great -- and everyone loves a llama in a hat. But the actual gameplay was not much different that 'shoot projectiles at enemies'.

As others said, it was hard to get around.

The occasional cry of 'Llamaratzies' made me laugh.

Dustician says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:29am

I got stuck in the trees more than once

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:35am

This is a great idea for an unconventional weapon. I think my main gripe is it takes so long to find llamas.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:56am

interesting use of theme - but really no idea what i just played - nice effort

jovoc says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Fun game and impressive amount of content for the weekend. For some reason, seeing the "health bars" go UP really amused me. Use of theme was good, but I wish it had more effect on gameplay, as it is it's essentially the same as just a shooting game. Llama theme and tone was consistent and funny. good job.

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Great use of audio feedback when thing happen. Tactical options in combat were a bit limited since the enemy moves faster than you and just gets right up in your face.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:37am

Internal monologue:

I have no idea what I'm doing...
Lies... lies...
Hah, take that llama.
Turn all the llamas blue!
What the hell? This llama is attacking me!
I am now the ultimate llamatician, bow before me!

Dege says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:10pm

I surely liked humour and use of theme is ok. I generally agree with other commenters, expecially the fact that is too easy to get stuck on trees / lakes / borders / etc. Only I found strange nobody said that "It Really Whips the Llama's Ass!" yet! XD

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Good job kinda funny considering we are having a provincial election here in early May so it gave me a little chuckle :)

MonoS says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:37pm

The collision detection is REALLY bad, got stuck in a tree after 1 minute, also the game caused memory leak in my browser and after 5 minute forced me to alt-f4 after i clicked on quit.

Maybe the game could gain a lot of "humor" if the realization was better done.

philipp says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Best setting I've seen so far :D It was a bit easy to get stuck on walls, I would have liked a more open environment and more of a challenge/a higher pace. But nonetheless, I had a litte smile on my face while playing.

filipe.silva says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:17pm

very cool, fun and well developed. the audio and sound effects were very interesting. Congratulations

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]