Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

An Unconventional Sound

by YSelf Tool - Compo Entry

Make a sound, destroy the evil red dots!
It's as easy as that.

Tested with Firefox 37 and Chrome 42.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2192Coolness22%

Comments

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 12:43am

It looks like this game wants to involve a microphone where you make actual physical sounds.

I won't be playing this one.

togie says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:37am

GREAT game hahaha , i found out a steady control requires whistling and a tolerant girlfriend lol.

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:46am

This is simply amazing :D

Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:50am

I tried to sing I knew you were touble. It didn't work.

Also, one of the most awesome ideas I've seen.

HawkSandwich says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 3:44am

Very cool idea!

Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:18am

Cool idea, hard to control/understand how to move the line up & down though

sesteves86 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:34am

Interesting game idea.
I had some trouble getting sounds that would reach the top half of the screen.

Liam :D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Wait... am I rating myself in the "audio" category? FIVE STARS!! :D

handkor says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:43am

Nice idea, I was having trouble with the volume threshold but that may be on my end.

SuperKid says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:22am

Great idea, can't reach higher ones but is fun to play :D

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Nice entry, really different then the other ones. Cool to see an audio game.
What I missed was some variety over time

WhiteVoidia says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Very very cool concept. I've found that it's pretty difficult to get to the top of the page though.

May 2, 2015 @ 2:50pm

My first 5 star for innovation for sure!

MHaton says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Extremely cool concept, but a bit difficult to play (almost impossible for me to make a sound of the correct frequency/whatever's governing this) to hit the top half of the screen), would love to see this done with some more work put into it, perhaps with some form of calibration for the user's voice

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:19pm

This is the definition of innovation! Really great work. 5/5 on audio because it just sounded so real ;D

Xanjos says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Seems pretty hard to reach the top parts (is it pitch controlled?) but this is a pretty cool and innovative concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]