Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Shark Lazer Hands

by HeuGamer - Compo Entry

Play as Duck Quackson during an invasion Duck Lazer-welding sharks! Move and shoot the enemies, while gathering score. The Blue powerup will give you a random power up (+1 Life, Faster Shot-Speed, or Faster movement)

Controls
WASD or ARROWS KEYS == MOVE
MOUSE == AIM
LEFT MOUSE BUTTON == SHOOT

Technicalities?:
Unity 5
Paint.NET
Audacity
Bfxr

Developers Notes:
Game was made for Ludum Dare 32, created within the span of Friday, Saturday, and Sunday for a total 12 hours.

I was on vacation working a tiny laptop :P
Post your score below? :3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#76Humor3.84
#248Audio3.24
#267Fun3.41
#425Mood3.08
#590Overall3.13
#681Graphics2.85
#798Theme3.04
#1031Innovation2.22

Comments

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Aaaah, I love how games with ducks can come away with pulling such awesome randomness!
Feedback-wise you definitively should have added a muzzle flash and make the bullets explode when they hit the enemies. Maybe also shake the screen a bit.
The tune is pretty nice and the art style fits the weirdness of the game perfectly!
Fun!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:03pm

*um, I meant let the bullets of the enemies explode when they hit the player

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:16pm

@Rick Hoppmann Hey thanks for the feedback! I just got home from vacation and have 3 hours left, so perhaps I can do just as you suggested.

salmonmoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:44am

Whilst I think embedding lazers in a shark is a bit of a copout - they're still just lazers. I was very amused to see the sharks wielding duck lazers - nice touch.

Dan4pope says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Loved the randomness of it and the art really worked well too! :D

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:07pm

heh, fun game. nice work.

Fenaer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Super fun to play, and for some reason the way the ducks legs move around is hilarious.

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Pretty classic game, nothing new under the sun. Still funny and fun though! I keep thinking the green gore is an attack.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Ducks are the ultimate gaming medium. 5 stars.

paps says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:22pm

OK 4421. Is there only one powerup? I could need more, those shark are to dangerous :) Fun game you got there.
And like the music too

sararyCow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:27am

Sometimes Paint-style graphics are best option. This is the case.

Great soundtrack!

BluShine says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:28am

Very funny intro. And not only are you a duck wielding laser sharks, but the sharks wield laser ducks!

Music was good too.

Gameplay was pretty basic, though. Kinda just felt like some funny sprites dropped on top of a standard top-down shooting game.

Not bad for 12 hours, though!

jfraser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29am

The duck leg-movement is amazing.

LogGiant says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:55am

This game is hilarious! It's a bit hard to tell when you get hit if you don't hear the QUACK.

FrederickK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:15am

THE GRAPHICZ, THE AUDIO, THE PLOT...
*graphics
God...May I say that I loved this game? *-*
Very funny!
It would be nice a option to skip the intro cutscene, other than job, nice job! :D

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54pm

This was actually pretty sweet. There was no feedback whatsoever if I was hit or not, or at least the bullet just continued past me. The music is of course a plus, and it was neat!

Ghen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:07am

duck quackson suck a badass, he make sharks violently blown up just by a laser :))

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:14am

A very entertaining shooter game! I dig it.

Murchurl says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:26am

Haha I love this game a little bit of social satire ;) I like it! quite fun and intense game!

nopogo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:01pm

I lol'd when i saw the feet in the walking animation xD Really funny. Also fun to play

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Fun gameplay and hilarious graphics. The gameplay wasn't especially innovative but the story certainly is... different. The music is nice too! My favorite part is the walk cycle-- simple but efficient, lol. Final score: 3371 (I'm not very good at this, haha.)

Zak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Best run animation out there.

error031 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Game is much fun, I hope you will continiue to work on it!

Chris M says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Fantastic leg animation!

LeoM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:21pm

6700 for me ! ;)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Very nicely done :)

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:45am

That game was far more satisfying than it should have been with that art style... great work!

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:12am

Your horrible, almost-rhyming poetry totally makes up for the fact that your orange gun is still just a gun that shoots orange bullets (I really do like the bad poetry). Power ups were much appreciated. Points for humor, and the audio is more than adequate.

strega says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:17am

That was fun. Loved the rotating parts animations! The intro animatic was sort of long. I almost thought the game froze at first.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Not bad for 12 hours! High score was 5560. Nice particles. A bit sketchy on theme.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:51am

Lots of fun action. Who would have thought? sharks and ducks fighting to the death with lasers

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]