Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Drybreed

by alvivar - Jam Entry

We cannot forgive the sun.


WASD or Arrows to Move, Space or Up to Jump, use the Mouse to Point, Right Click to Reload, Left Click to Fire.

Follow me on twitter.com/matnesis or matnesis.tumblr.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#31Innovation(Jam)4.10
#45Mood(Jam)4.04
#81Audio(Jam)3.85
#141Overall(Jam)3.71
#253Fun(Jam)3.41
#287Theme(Jam)3.69
#385Graphics(Jam)3.56
#739Humor(Jam)2.41

Comments

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Not entirely sure what was the goal for the game, I found what I think is the sun and a star or something next to it, tried to cover it in the blocks but nothing! Still - very cool creation and destruction mechanic and good platform physics! A variable jump height would have been nice but minor issue! Nice mood, definitely had fun, just wish I knew what to do!

jprogman says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:48am

There needs to be a hint to what to do at the end. I see a flashing black box and a big hexagon. Not sure what to do.
Very interesting game. My little suggestion is having a counter to show how many blocks you have in your gun.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:58am

Wow the music and sounds are top notch. I love the minimalist style. Everything is clean and complete. While I agree there is a certain vagueness as to my purpose there is a wonderful sense of mystery and discovery. This is certainly one of the most polished and unique games in ld3d 32 imo.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:48am

Interesting platformer puzzle mechanic, but could have benefited from (1) a counter to limit and indicate how many blocks you can store (2) greater direction in where to go for the game to develop, either through signs, levels, or a narrative.

All in all, a game with a lot of potential.

terpin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:00am

I'm in love with the graphics but not entirely sure what the win conditions for this game are!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:18am

Lovely art style, and an absolutely haunting atmosphere, from the music to the sound effects to the flickering squares and incomprehensible messages. I'm not sure whether I saw all there was to see in this game, but I certainly enjoyed exploring it.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:23am

I felt a little bit misdirected to what my objectives were in this game. but i love the mechanic of changing the enviroment!

ccglp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:27am

Nice experimental game, not sure how you win, like the others, but is nice to play, good work

grifdail says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:03am

Prety awesome ! I really liked it..
I found only two probleme. First using space to jump. This mean i need constantly switch between mouse and keyboad. Using the up key would allow me to jump while keeping the hand on the mouse.
Also, the jump physique is weird...

Otherwise I really realy like the concept... I'd like to see more of this... (I also realy like to be able to work with this mechanic).

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:15am

A game? It is a true work of art. A masterpiece. It deserves to be the winner of this LD. Everything - everything! - is perfect.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:18am

...Except using the space button instead of W or the UP arrow. But I was so blown away by the game and overwhelmed with emotions after completing it, that I completely forgot to mention that :)

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:07pm

You have a very neat mechanic. Like others, I would have liked a bit more direction on what to do.

bace1000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:22pm

What is the hexagon for? Also it would be good if there was a counter for how many blocks you have.

srakowski says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:35am

I really like the mechanics of this game, pretty wicked! A lot of potential that you should develop. Well done!

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:58am

Holy crap! This is great... just.. wow.. At first I wasn't sure what to do exactly but once the realization hit it was an awesome feeling. And that ending though. One of my favorite entries so far! Great job!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:23am

5 star innovation for sure, love the whole concept! Really cool idea but I didn't know what the goal was. Maybe you should make lots of levels? I don't know, it's your game. But overall I loved the innovation!

humbleness says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:03am

Solid game, I really got a Submachine vibe from playing it, I hope you expand on that if you continue to develop this game. Not entirely sure what the objective was, or if it was just a sandbox, but I enjoyed the atmosphere tremendously

Dejvo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:42am

This game is awesome. moody, fun, spot on platforming, exactly my kind of game. brilliant. if you will be exanding this, update the graphics, and explain the goal ;)

Yword says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Very interesting and innovative mechanics! Well done!

BIZM says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:17pm

We loved the overall atmosphere including audio. The mechanic felt really good and was pretty intuitive. The random glitching squares added to the mood!

xplicitone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Very interesting mechanic and well polished. Love the music a lot. I made it to the top of the hexagon :D

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:21am

I found that being able to talk to others and have the world flesh out a little more would be cool - but excellent mood for a short piece

Dreyan says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:43am

Phenomenal.

Everything about this game was crafted to create the perfect tone: outstanding audio, and abstract but intriguing story, and a foreboding sense that you're doing something for which there will be consequences you do not understand. There is a sense of great mystery that is conveyed without the player feeling disillusioned with the lack of explanations.

Dreyan says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:45am

Phenomenal.

Everything about this game was crafted to create the perfect tone: outstanding audio, and abstract but intriguing story, and a foreboding sense that you're doing something for which there will be consequences you do not understand. There is a sense of great mystery that is conveyed without the player feeling disillusioned with the lack of explanations. I got some heavy Starseed Pilgrim vibes from this game, but Drybreed took it's own direction.

I can unequivocally say that, out of the 175 games I've now rated, this is absolutely my favourite entry. Please continue making content like this.

Gunzil says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:02am

Really strong mood and visuals. Leaving everything up to the player to discover gave the whole game an air of mystery to it I didn't expect to see.

For the actual block placing, I fould it very difficult to draw straight lines, specifically drawing a bridge as I walk across it. My block beam would collide with the block I just placed and make an L shape instead of continuing to place blocks in a line. With all the lines you need to draw, I found this less than ideal.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:01am

Would be nice if there was some overall objective, though perhaps meaningless was what your going for. Mechnaics are interseting, but makes the platforming super simple. nice mood though.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:46am

A solid experience in discovery. Lots of the logs were too mysterious to piece together and far apart to appreciate. That said, I was encouraged to see more of the game. It kept me with anticipation.

I think the down-times are really long. I also consider the block placing controls could be more efficient.

FeniX says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Fantastic! I can't find words to describe the mood of the game. I hope to see more of your creations. Thank you for this game.

May 11, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Wow, this was an amazing experience! The art style, the sounds, the subtle and intriguing story, the exploration space, the mechanics, the "domino" effect on the end, everything was perfect!
I had to play twice 'cause at the first I didn't know what to do with the other characters, so I removed the floor bellow them and threw them to the infinity. :D
I wish I could give you more than 5 stars! Congratulations, this was perfect!

TeamQuadratic says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Cool idea and excellent mood. I wasn't really sure if there was a goal though. Definitely keep working on this! Also if you could leave me a last minute rating that would be great!

May 11, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Amazing mood!!! I got up to the hexagon and got stuck. still its a cool mechanic!

HotBoxGames says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Solid mechanic, good visuals. Really like this entry, make a full game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]