Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A Punker's Tale

by ChronusZ - Compo Entry

A Punker's Tale is an epic adventure game about one girl who would stand against all odds to save her art from the evil that would take it away. Or something like that.

Controls:
A-D or LEFT-RIGHT: move
E or Z: interact
SPACE or X: attack, continue dialogue

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#234Audio3.27
#240Mood3.34
#241Humor3.34
#259Graphics3.60
#647Overall3.07
#653Theme3.22
#789Fun2.78
#882Innovation2.60

Comments

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38am

more of an interactive story than a game but still good :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12am

Great writing and very nice visuals! The music was on-point as well. A little short, but you owned that fact. Well done!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Art is super cool, congrats!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Hi! The screenshots looks awesome, though you haven't packed LWJGL with the JAR file, making it crash at start. Good luck!

Domicuc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Finally some storyyy! Love it ! :3 also check my project mate!x

FireCamp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:09pm

very nice mood and humor !
very immersive and funny game. Rockn roll !

but too short imho. Games seems unfinished imho.
would like to see a bit more.

nice texts ! good fun and audio overall.
awesome humor.

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19am

Congratulation guy,,, very good concept

SetArray says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25am

The .jar would not run for me. (Windows 8.1)

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:11am

For some reason I spawned on top of the piano when I went outside, but the speech bubbles were in their "correct" place on the other side of the screen. Might be because I decided to keep watching TV for a while after being told to save the world.

benjamck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:12am

The jar will not run for me (Win 7) which sucks, because I really like the design I see in the screen grab.

Wolfgang_ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:13am

Fantastic graphics

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:18am

Wasn't really a game, animations could have been a bit smoother. The audio you did have was fine, but could have used more. Needs more levels or opponents or things to do, really. That second part was glitchy, hitting use on the piano restarted the scene. Not personally my kind of humour (won't rate it for that) but I bet some people got a kick out of it.

sydan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:11pm

This was interesting, certainly different and the humour made me want to play, just actually wanted it to develop into some awesome guitar smashing gameplay. I feel like so much time was spent on building up the story and tutorial in a brilliant wacky way that it deserves more.

error031 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:52pm

It was really nice expirience playing this, hope you will develop full game from this :)

Dynad says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Talking guitar, haha.. I hoped for more smashing after the piano affair :P

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Evil piano, so evil! Great art! But too short game.

plams says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Beautiful art, and good humor :)

Smiley says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:56pm

# java -XstartOnFirstThread -jar PunkerTale.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IllegalStateException: Please run the JVM with -XstartOnFirstThread.
at org.lwjgl.system.macosx.EventLoop.checkFirstThread(EventLoop.java:20)
at org.lwjgl.glfw.GLFW.glfwInit(GLFW.java:426)
at main.src.Main.<init>(Main.java:65)
at main.src.Main.main(Main.java:61)


:(

surpent says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:47am

It is not to proceed from the piano!
Cool Music :-)

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:05am

cool, i like that story and humor... that guitar... i wanna smash that too...lol.. very interesting

NoSoupForYou says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:34am

Pretty well polished for a LD game. I liked your interpretation of the theme and the game's narrative. Only complaint I have is that I was expecting more. Hope you decide to continue working on this!

agmcleod says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:05am

Like others, could not run the JAR file. Using a mac, JDK 1.8.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IllegalStateException: Please run the JVM with -XstartOnFirstThread.
at org.lwjgl.system.macosx.EventLoop.checkFirstThread(EventLoop.java:20)
at org.lwjgl.glfw.GLFW.glfwInit(GLFW.java:426)
at main.src.Main.<init>(Main.java:65)
at main.src.Main.main(Main.java:61)

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:06am

Loved the graphics, I wish the level was longer, but hey, Its a game jam :) awesome job.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:06am

Really nice art, but the walking animation was a bit weird. Also enjoyed the sound and narrative.

May 3, 2015 @ 11:31am

Great story. I like the intro with the guitar and the twist at the end (easier then expected, lol). I also like the graphic style of the first scene.

kunzbe says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:07pm

wow, impressive entry. Graphics and audio are done really well especially for a compo entry. the story was fun, i like talking guitars

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]