Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Nuclear Arms

by Logicon - Jam Entry

Tragedy has struck, and there's only one man to fix it. Craig Killbane. A Man who has been given Nuclear Arms becomes the one weapon needed to save the world.

This is our first Ludum Dare, and many of us' first time using most of the tools as well. Learned a bunch and had fun. Hope you guys like what we came up with.

Controls:
WASD = movement (Press W to climb vines, and S to pass through platforms)
Left Click = Punch
Right Click = Laser

IMPORTANT NOTE - You need to HOLD LMB to punch, Time it right to get the most range.

HEAT is your resource to fire the laser. It depletes the longer you fire it. To gain more HEAT you just need to kill enemies or destroy barrels. You get more HEAT when destroying things with your punch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#178Humor(Jam)3.55
#414Mood(Jam)3.21
#438Fun(Jam)3.17
#489Theme(Jam)3.39
#514Overall(Jam)3.22
#690Graphics(Jam)2.93
#697Innovation(Jam)2.78

Comments

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:27am

fun game. nice and simple. had a druggy riding around on my head for awhile

ldds says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28am

wow! I loved the mood of this game. The music and art definitively help keep it casual but interesting and action-packed. I wish it wasn't as hard in the beginning though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28am

I don't know, Chrome says Nuclear Arms could be dangerous... Am I going to destroy the world by playing this? :O

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35am

Intro was funny! I found the timing and range of the nuclear punch to be too tricky, so I just ran through and used the nuclear blast whenever I had energy. Lots of uncertainty whenever dropping levels, because the camera would hide the dozen goons on the ground below me.

NIGIC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:36am

So... Rambo meets Iron Man meets Rainier Wolfcastle meets... the Silver Surfer? Sure, I'll take that.

Controls could use some tweaking; movement is mostly fine, but punching falls a bit short -- literally, the range isn't quite as long as I'd have expected and the delay is fairly long, making regular close combat nearly impossible.

Otherwise, fun game with good humor. Looks and sounds pretty nice. Good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37am

I like it!

Hambone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:33am

This was neat! Thanks for checking out my game earlier, sorry it was not working... It is now though!

Hambone

mockthebear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:18pm

killing hippies... XD cool

Logicon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Glad you've all enjoyed it :D. We know the punching seems a bit off. We'll probably work more on that next time

grywhttl says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:51am

No rating for music? Shame!

43iscoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:12am

Fun game, yet controls are a bit buggy. Sometimes toxic barrel just sticks to you >_<

roving-stone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:52am

Some of the best music I've heard so far. Digging the bad action movie feel. Gameplay was ok, but the humor and music kept me going. I especially like the bong-jetpack thugs.

xandy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:58am

very cool music and funny theme.

solarexplorer says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:33am

fun idea, controls felt loose and imprecise

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:40am

Perhaps adjusting the laser damage so it wasn't one hit kill for a big length, but otherwise gameplay was solid. Some more animations for climbing and jumping would help a bit too. Spelling could probably use some work, but you're lucky that's not a category :P. I did get a good laugh though.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:53am

It was fun but I couldn't get very far. I wish there was more feedback when you got hit.

resty says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:35am

The cartoon art looks nice.
It will be better if controls and feedback improved. I fell hard to control the hero(especially the jump) and don't know when and why my hp reduced.

richiebranson says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:56am

this concept is really dope. I love the main character's subtle homage to Duke Nuke 'Em, lol. Very creative take on the theme as well. I enjoyed this!

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:50am

Haha, pretty funny theme. Platforming controls felt pretty good, and I liked the physics objects like the barrels. Good job!

Xenfare says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:42am

It was pretty fun. I did notice an 'extra'(?) green box/line to the right of the character when I jumped.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]