Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

PukeMan

by Will Edwards - Jam Entry

PACMAN THE ADOLESCENT!

CHUNDERFUL FUN! :D

(A game made in 16 hours in homespun Javascript with webGL)

(Audio from www.freesound.org)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#280Humor(Jam)3.34
#540Fun(Jam)3.02
#654Theme(Jam)3.16
#802Graphics(Jam)2.66
#817Mood(Jam)2.61
#818Overall(Jam)2.85
#993Innovation(Jam)2.06
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Gaeel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Game crashes when I get hit by an enemy, but it crashed at 420 points, and it's 4/20 today and PukeMan totally gets high IMHO, so that's a win, right?

freeholdgames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:58pm

I think it's a sound take on the social dangers and ethical dilemmas of binge eating and drinking in our culture.

Will Edwards says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:09pm

@Gaeel sorry you got it just as I was uploading and submitting it :)

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Neat take on pacman!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:59am

Do not mix booze and drugs. I love this. Pacman was already awesome, you have now made it gross (therefore more awesome)

Demy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Well, game name actually says it all. I hope no one will take it seriouse =)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:04pm

The first time around I completely missed the "press space to deploy weapon" prompt and just played a round of regular Pacman. But apparently the game is slightly more innovative than that. :)

SojaBird says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Very funny spin on pacman

efux says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Alternative version of PacMan. Nice entry!

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Funny game, I enjoyed it. Nicely done :)

Teesquared says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Great way to regurgitate a classic. Fun and funny game. I kept playing it. You upchucked a winner :)

Homletmoo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Wow, Pacman's really let himself go...

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Pacman is always welcome, pukeman ,whilst slightly more vomit fueled is an equally good, fun game, nice work!

rojo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:12am

Hey, not bad! I wish the whole level didn't reset after every death, but it played pretty well aside from that.

animanegra says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:51am

MOG!!! :D ^^ Soo crazy game :D Very funny.

Druid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:59am

Most funny pacman variation what i played so far! :D

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:30am

I had no idea what I was getting into, but i'm glad i got into it. 5 STARS!

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:54am

Good job with the animations

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Very fun! Drunken pacman, it's a great! I think you should add some visual effects. Like blur when you drunk so much.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:26pm

I liked it, an interesting idea

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:55am

Nicely done Pac-Man game, especially in 16 hours!

spin-down says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:11pm

I was never a big fan of the original PacMan, and now I know it's because of its distinct lack of booze. Good job!

srakowski says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:33am

Nice take on pac man!

Stending says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:54am

Haha, great!

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:38am

Nice PacMan remake! With extra beer. Cool. :)

MrRoboman says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Nice. I appreciate that there's always more to drink. Pukeman isn't satisfied with a mere four mugs of beer.

Joystikman says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Ahah, that's remind me some party >_< Very fun entry !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:36am

completely fun - nice humor - great

Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:36pm

A super gross take on a classic. I had to mute the sounds!

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Thas was funny! Thks! Nice game you made.

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Hilarious! What an great classic with some unconventional weapons. I love the art. Not really much to say about it. Great work!

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Great take on a classic game. Had an absolute laugh playing this.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]