Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Decipher Quest

by SiENcE - Compo Entry

Decipher Quest
==============

This is a puzzle game based on a simple geometric substitution cipher.​

I used a flat design philosophy, based on this colors http://flatuicolors.com/ .

Story
=====
You are the roboter Fred. You live with your robot family on a nice little planet. One day a Space Blob appears. He has a cryptic language and wants to destroy your world.
Your only chance (weapon) is to decipher his language to talk and convince him to not destory your planet.

How to play
===========
Drag and Drop the highlighted card-letters onto the darker ones. The Space Blobs language uses a simple geometric substitution cipher. You have to find equivalent characters or symbols to form useful words.

When you think you are ready, press Fred to read or send a decoded message.

BEWARE: If you cipher or decipher wrong, Fred and your planet gets damaged from the Space Blobs laserbeam! Fred has only 10 chances!

Press 'p' or 'esc' to pause.

Help 1:
Memorize the ciphers when letter to pigpen.

Help 2:
The latin alphabet has an order. The pigpen ciphers have the same order.

Help 3 (only and I say only use this if you can't beat it):
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pigpen_cipher


Have fun!


Made by:
https://twitter.com/crank_gaming

Linux Runtimes:
LÖVE 0.9.1 [ love2d.org ]

https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads/love_0.9.1_i386.deb
https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads/love_0.9.1_amd64.deb
https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads/love_0.9.1ppa2_i386.deb
https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads/love_0.9.1ppa2_amd64.deb

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#248Audio3.24
#263Graphics3.58
#313Overall3.44
#373Mood3.14
#386Innovation3.35
#391Humor3.03
#564Theme3.32
#779Fun2.79

Comments

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:46pm

like the characters !

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:47pm

I am impressed by the amount of polish and work that you manged in such a short period of time. It is nice that the game has a working menu with settings etc.

The game has a very nice theme, audio and visuals are coherent and contribute to putting a smile on your face. The game has a funny humor, it helps since it can be a bit frustrating trying to figure the system out, I spent way too long on it myself. But I like challenges and this is a great one! 5/5

SiENcE says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Thanks @Winmill Games

Yeah it's hard like Dark Souls, but it's the easy mode.

For the post compo version I plan a Timed Mode with onlien highscore ;).

tonypai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Pigpen to text is way more hard than I thought, but it's very creative. :D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Very well polished, and a nice idea, but it was very hard! I'm a little confused though, was it the robot who was planning to fight, and the blob that wanted to share love?

Iak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49pm

This was fun. I deciphered the code without knowing it or looking at the site you linked and only got one miss! Well done, the start made it clear enough how the code was built for it to be solvable in one go.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:46pm

It's very hard to played it if not thinking seriously. Maybe you could add hint feature so people wont stuck in same stage for a long time.
btw, it's a good game.

masterboth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Awesome entry, It was a nice approach to the theme, although I had some trouble to decipher the letter, I had a good time trying to figure out what the sign meant. Overall it was really polished and had some nice graphics and audio. I hope you get far with this game.

Shugor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:09pm

This game was a nice challenge, although it can be frustrating to play without any knowledge of the cipher. It would be nicer if the words had more of a difficulty curve; for example, the first word was a good choice because of how common it was, but then the second essentially required you to guess five different letters. The atmosphere of the game is great, but the gameplay could use some work. Good job overall~

VividReality says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Cool game! Very innovative. Very impressive that did this in the compo. It feels very complete and polished for the time given.

marcolomeo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Very nice game SiEnCe!
I found it a bit too easy, as two very useful hints are spelled already before the game starts, and possibly a third one, that I could not catch because the loading of the page was too quick; the first three words guessed are also part of that because they are pretty much tutorial, and since the code never changes... :) For a nice quick fun, it's a great little game, different. Good one!

Gunzil says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:30am

I wish there were more feedback than just getting it right/wrong but that might have defeated the purpose of doing a cipher. If your intent is to make it a puzzle game about ciphers, having the tips/instructions in game would have been a big help, also if you walked through an example.

Nice graphics, song was a little repetitive.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Great game! I really like the animations and the story. I had to start a cheat sheet to get through it!

This feels like an education version of mastermind.

Might be nice to be able to provide a seed for the cipher!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:06pm

I just wanted to let you know that your game made it into my list of top 10 games for LD32!

https://love2d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80063&p=183180#p183180

SiENcE says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:49pm

@marcolomeo : Yeah you are the first one who noticed this :-D. The first tip is directly in the mainmenu.

jprogman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:15pm

It's a good thing you have provided the wiki of pigpen because I would have such a tough time playing.
Although, I might have been able to figure out the pigpen characters by some clues like the loading screen or from easier words like "hello" during the game.
The learning curve is actually very light after I got the hang of the pattern. The wiki was too helpful and sort of spoiled me, but I didn't have it up while I played the game.
Great challenge.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:57am

One of better games this LD. Well done. Maybe giving hints too soon, but otherwise, very entertaining and intellectually challenging.

cyand1317 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Such an awesome job for a Compo!! I'll keep on having fun with it (I'll have to learn more about Pigpen cipher first, though.) Five stars!

hexdie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

I really like the artwork and music! However, there is no way of logically figuring out that second puzzle. If there was some way of actually figuring it out, it would be a nice puzzle.

arkelite says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:08am

Unique idea! Was a bit frustrating though figuring out the words but I guess that's the basis of the game but it was good.

SiENcE says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:19am

@hexdie There is a way to find it out, but you just didn't read the instructions or not carefully looked at the game. The whole game. Or just read the comments. It's not that simple, you also have to keep in mind the first solution.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Nice experience, the graphics are good and the sounds are as much. Noticed we could place more than one card onto the darker ones. Swet game either way!

MikkelLevisen says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:13am

Very nice atmosphere and a loveable character!
One the most well-polished and complete games I've played so far in this jam.

leafo says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:34am

Nice job!

May 4, 2015 @ 10:00am

Very innovative/creative approach. The visuals look very cute, too. But wow, it's hard ;D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]