Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Gun Keeper

by hadesfury - Jam Entry

--- !!! We submitted a post version that fixes most of the annoying bugs !!! ---

Ennemies are killable

Added explosion effects

The gun doesn't stop working for no reason

Feedback on firing the gun and taking dammage

Better sound design

Obviously there's still a lot we could make to improve the game and maybe someday we will, but this is the version we imagined the game should have looked like at the end of Ludum Dare. Hope you enjoy playing it.

Here's all the link for the post-jam version
Windows : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/43674973/LD32/Post-Compo/TheGunKeeper_windows.rar (Latest)
Linux : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/43674973/LD32/2015-04-22.14-10/TheGunKeeper_Linux.rar (Older)
OSX : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/43674973/LD32/2015-04-22.14-10/TheGunKeeper_OSX.app.rar (Older)

*** *** *** *** *** ***

Known issue : The webplayer version currently doesn't update the leaderboard. We hope to fix it very soon. In the meanwhile, if you want your score to show up we recommend you try one of the standalone versions depending on your operating system from the links that are available just above.

*** *** *** *** *** ***

About the game :

You are Jorg. Your great cannon is the only thing protecting the great nation of Orgullia against deadly invaders from the outside.
Keep your cannon fully loaded by selecting the correct ammo types from the loader. Keep your nozzle clean at all times if you don't wan't to jam and be sure the pressure never runs too low !
You will have to move around from station to station if you never wan't your gun to stop firing.
Do your job well and Orgulite culture will be grateful for your service.

Instructions :
Loading : The three buttons on the ground allow you to chose your ammo types. Input commands by jumping on the pads using SPACE (A for 360controller).

Cleaning : Jump on the button to stop firing and open the door. Go into the cannon to start cleaning automatically. The longer you stay inside the cleaner it will be.

Pressure : Activate the pressure valve once using Lctrl (A for 360 controller) to start building up pressure. Press Lctrl again to close the valve. Be mindful of the latency.

Tickers all around provide information about ennemy waves. Certain ammo types work better for certain ennemies.

Watch this video commentary for detailed instructions : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rSLkn2SPorQ
Scoreboards are available here : http://dev-ludumdare32.rhcloud.com/scores
And check out our trailer here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZqleda4oW8

Programming by Quentin Chevalier and Pierre Mauge.

Art by Vincent Schneider and François Mauge.

Sound design by Bruno Jarles.

Highscore Server Programming by Fabien Kalinowski.

Source Available at : https://bitbucket.org/hadesfury/ludumdare32/src

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#24Graphics(Jam)4.60
#249Mood(Jam)3.44
#285Innovation(Jam)3.45
#324Audio(Jam)3.19
#596Theme(Jam)3.25
#615Overall(Jam)3.10
#699Humor(Jam)2.49
#946Fun(Jam)2.36

Comments

FractalFox says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33am

I did not see the relationship between my actions in the game and its effect on the over all game. I loaded the ammo but what did it do? I added pressure what did that do? The activities of the game did not seem to have a purpose.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37am

Looks great!
My only two problems are: lack of a tutorial and the clunky controls

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24pm

I love the graphics and the concept! The controls are a might shonky though

pLaw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35pm

This game looks gorgeous. I love the idea of being the operator inside of a giant cannon. But it misses to show the effects of the players actions. You don't see the gun being fired and that's a bit disappointing. Ever heard of Chekhov's gun? ;)

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53pm

There is no indication of whether I'm doing something right or not. It looks nice though.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Great concept and graphics! Controls, collisions and mechanics / overview of objectives could use some work though.

Still, looks really great! Nice one!

flwns says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:33pm

the controls were off, and nothing happens, but it looked nice

kaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Very good idea! Perfect graphics and very cute monkey.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Very nice graphics, but the gameplay baffled me: what to expect after setting all controls? Do you see enemy waves at some point?
I did not hear any sound and the movement / controls are slow and the player get stuck almost anywhere.

I see lots of potential for this game, but it really needs to be more user-friendly!

hadesfury says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:14pm

One of the issues with the original jam version was that we didn't implement the sounds and all other feedback effects into the game in time. That's why it's very difficult to see what your actions do.
The post jam version fixes most of these issues, though.

ambi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Very nice looking game. Any chance of getting the source?

hadesfury says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Thanks there's a link to the source available in the description... Or right here : Source Available at : https://bitbucket.org/hadesfury/ludumdare32/src

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:15pm

It looks absolutely amazing, the gameplay doesn't really seem to work for me though. it seems like a tedious job where I get to see no fruits of my efforts.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Beautiful visuals.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:44pm

It looks fantastic, music is atmospheric. Player need to run faster and more auto controlled (stairs)
Well done!!

FeniX says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Great idea! The post-jam version plays well. Graphics and sounds are awesome. And that's lovely that you used a fireman's pole. :D

skiddings says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:43pm

It looks amazing, but I struggled with the controls and lack of feedback

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:54am

Had tons of problems with the controls. In fact, I couldn't even climb up the stairs to get to the upper floor sections. Beyond that, I wasn't even sure what I was supposed to be doing at all. :(

However, the graphics and the ingenuity of the setup were very solid (and much more solid in the post-jam version you submitted.)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]