Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Fireman Pissaro

by AnimeGeek32 - Jam Entry

Here are the controls:

WASD keys = Movement
Mouse = Aim
Left-Mouse Button = Piss

Objective: Try to put out as much fire as you can with your piss. Replenish your piss by drinking beer!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Theme(Jam)4.00
#152Humor(Jam)3.60
#467Audio(Jam)2.88
#528Fun(Jam)3.04
#587Mood(Jam)2.96
#666Innovation(Jam)2.84
#667Graphics(Jam)2.96
#697Overall(Jam)3.00
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

Nilq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Haha. Well done!

jsmars says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Fun idea even tho theme was a bit much.. movement was a bit slughish and it was very difficult! Nice work overall tho! Also don't put 4 builds in your folder, it gets to be quite a big download for an LD game

Volatile Dove says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Nice! Like the way the character is moving like a drunken person X_o

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:05pm

It was appropriate that I was drinking for this. Nice entry!

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:41am

Hilarious! My favourite part was when I got to piss on things. The game was surprisingly difficult and the pee meter went down quite quickly, it was very difficult to keep up with the blaze.

I also liked the face map, it was a nice touch. :|

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Haha, cool idea, well executed!
Movement was a little slow but good job

ARubino says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Awsome old School feeling, the sound where awsome and it was fun to play.
Liked the Idea. Nice entry!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Hehe, nice. Would have been nice with some warning or not an insta-death when touching fire, but fun nevertheless. :)

rjhelms says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Really like the idea for the theme, and the title screen is beautiful. Nice take on gameboy style graphics.

Two possible improvements I see are to make the movement a little snappier, and to check that fire doesn't spawn on the player - that got me a couple times.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:51am

Really fun idea. Solid gameplay. And a very, very bad idea in real life.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:19am

streaming! hilarious! great job

Aumni says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:24am

I enjoyed how you tackled the theme! Fun game, I only wish fire wouldn't spawn on you sometimes. Good work!

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:30am

cool music, a little difficult, more than a few times I got caught where I couldn't reach any beer, still fun

camlang says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:28pm

May be the place where the fire will appear should be marked somehow several times the fire would appear right before me so I could not do anything about it. The movement is a bit awkward as well.

Chris M says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Love the GB graphics and urine utilisation.

ajopart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Charming :-)

andreimarks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Minus the not knowing where the fire is going to pop up, it's a nice little game loop. Sweet and simple, nice work!

AnimeGeek32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:51pm

So far, one of the common complaints about my game is not knowing where the fire will spawn. I may fix it in the post-LD release.

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:03am

nice idea, good use of the theme. i like the start screen but for me, it lacks execution. it's not very playable and fire can spawn on you so that could be worked on but other than that, neat game!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:19am

Hahaha, yep! The only annoying thing is that a fire can spawn without warning right on top of you. My suggestion would perhaps be a patch of smoke that turns into a fire after x seconds.

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:49pm

A nice and simple idea, and well executed! I like GarethIW's solution to the fire popping on top of you.

LeoM says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Just sad when fire just pop on you.
Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]