Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Skids

by locknic - Compo Entry

NOTE: If you play my game, PLEASE leave me a comment even if it is negative. I love hearing feedback or some form of acknowledgement.

Santa's gift came early this year in the form of next gen RC cars. While most of the neighbourhood is busy making ☃, the elite have gathered to battle for glory!

Drive a remote controlled RC car around the screen to smash into enemies, collect power ups and drift around. Score points by doing damage to enemies, but be sure to hit them with the front of your vehicle as that is it's strongest point.

The ENTIRE game is in one screen including the level, the menu and EVERYTHING.

Controls
---------
Arrow Keys - Movement
Space (Hold) - Drift
Shift - Powerup
F - Toggle fullscreen
ESC - Exit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Fun3.86
#175Theme3.97
#193Overall3.61
#231Mood3.32
#305Audio3.12
#320Humor2.86
#334Graphics3.44
#510Innovation3.19
#1605Coolness44%

Comments

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:17am

A pretty simple and fun little demolition derby game. It might be nice to randomize the car start positions a bit as most rounds played out the same way with the green car charging right at me at the start. Also were there more power ups than the blue shield? It's the only one I saw in several rounds. Seems like the power ups might be a fun place to explore and differentiate the game.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19am

Really nice, fun and simple game. Good work.

nexyon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22am

Nice one! Can't believe there's no comment yet. It's a really good game, the controls can be a bit annoying, but that's what makes it a challenge. A nice overall package regarding graphics, sound, gameplay and AI!

resty says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:25am

Effects and Controls are good, but need something to make it more fun!

shyupuff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28am

Nice. Simple controls, but hard to master and really get a hang of. Maybe if you had more time add more levels and powerups! It was quite fun to play! nice job (:

Ozcr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53am

Haven't played it.

But the picture looks nice.

5/5 stars.

Zabuza says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:04am

Very fun little game!
Well done. c:

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:06am

Fun and simple (in a good way) on all fronts (gfx, music, gameplay). I'm pretty bad at it though :-)

Gradir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32am

PERFECT! It's super fun! Great work!

qristofer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:05am

The control display where you can try the car out is great, all games should do this! Physics is nice when you learn to slide, and it's fun trying to win. I found it easiest to just avoid the enemies an let the beat each other out. The powerups saved me a couple of times. Sweet!

Kabukky says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10am

Simple controls, no bullshit action, and good AI. The powerups really add to it. Good work!

Crefossus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:19am

Strong overall. Music was a little repetitive and didn't necessarily fit, but the sfx were great.

The skid particle fx were awesome.

The controls are okay if you're in the center of the screen or in a skid, but if you get near an edge it becomes frustrating. Trying to get a pickup can be really.

The pickups really drive the game.

dorkster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07am

Kind of fun, but I think the turning radius (while drifting or otherwise) should be a little bit tighter. I had more trouble trying to avoid under-steering into the walls than worrying about the other cars. Maybe I'm just bad at it :P

Gradir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47am

I see there is an updated version up! Steering is now so much better. Good job!

Bronaldplo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Cool game, Nice music! I had fun :P

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Managed to get 800 points after surviving the first wave, then promptly killed myself on the edge of the screen :P Fun mechanics, I found the destruction effects pretty impressive. Overall I found it to be an entertaining little game. Nicely done!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18am

Wow, there is lot of fun packed in this game! Powerups are balanced, the controls are good too. It's bit hard as AI is obviously going for the player most of the time. Maybe it lacks some other maps or arenas but I've still really enjoyed this one. Good job :-)

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55am

Not my kinda game, but fun stuff. Controls feel a bit strange too me, like I can't turn hard enough, but I feel that's intentional.

Greg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16am

Really fun game, good job!

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42am

Fun game, reminds me of some old DOS games. I don't know if that's intentional... or just in my mind... or... dunno.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:04am

Great game, fantastic car handling and physics. It's very hard though, maybe have some difficulty levels or something to make it ramp up easier. Well done.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:02am

Rocket powerup felt amazing, but felt like I teamed up on a little.

-AlucardX60

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Fun game!

Learning to drift was really hard but after getting the hang of it it was really fun! The powerups were super nice. :)

I wish I could play it with my friends! That'd be a blast.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:19am

This is a really fun, simple game that has plenty of post-LD potential.

I would love controller support for something like this. Multiplayer. More/different cars or car/color selection. More power-ups, tracks, etc. :) I would totally purchase a polished version of this on a marketplace.

The only thing I would really say bothered me was the music, it was fairly weary on my ears after a few repeats. Of course, music is the least of your worries when entering a compo. :) Great job otherwise!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Really really good and solid game! Will play more

Wertle says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:25pm

The steering in this game felt great! I loved how the subtle driving and impact sounds had something really funny about them that made this pretty delightful to play. I'm not sure how I lived in the end, because I was preeeetty on fire and the last car seemed to be mostly intact, but I still won in the end. Nice job covering all the bases in a 48 hour game (sound, music, "tutorial," feedback, etc). Really solid.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Quite fun, and hard to win. I like it! Love the skid marks.

nesis says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:02pm

A very challenging game! Would be great having slightly tighter control than the other cars, given their (seemingly?) perfect aim. Good work on the AI for the cars, they seem very intelligent in their pathing and control.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:53am

The game felt very loose, and colliding to other cars didn't feel nice. I think a lot of juice, and more impact in controls (faster cars? Better handling?) could help the game a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]