Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Duck, Jump, Die

by Divitos - Jam Entry

Duck, jump, and die as you face obstacle after obstacle in this runner.

Thanks for the amazing ludum dare 31 season!
Me and the artist have decided to carry on with a mobile version made completely from scratch! We hope to release sometime in march!

Credits:
Divitos | Programming
??? | Art

Tendo's Palace - http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/595573
Lilbassist96 | Testing
Mollydolly904 | Testing
Bronytime001 | Testing
Koayz | Testing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#152Audio(Jam)3.55
#213Fun(Jam)3.44
#347Overall(Jam)3.38
#388Mood(Jam)3.19
#435Humor(Jam)2.70
#463Graphics(Jam)3.35
#899Innovation(Jam)2.29
#963Theme(Jam)2.57

Comments

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:00am

If you play the game, please take a couple minutes to vote on rather or not we should work on a post compo version!

http://strawpoll.me/3147113

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:08am

Volume needs control other than on and off -- it's very loud, but it's awesome!

psyduckfreak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09am

Yes this game is the best man love it will spread it.

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54am

DODGE, DIP, DUCK, DIVE AND DIE

Kwask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:16am

Simple, but I really liked it! Controls were solid and the music was really nice!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:21am

Don't really love infinite runners, especially random ones, but at least you have two controls like Bit-Trip's

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:28am

I think you have something with this, audio tweaks what not but yeah I like. Voted on post compo version ;-)

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:56am

Minor graphical glitches here and there. Didn't really feel like the game fit the theme, but it looks and sounds pretty nice.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:01am

Got the Hat!

Really nice game. Great music and nice style.
My only comment is that sometimes the background buildings appear aside with the player obstacles and they are the same colour (without border) but the first times I got them as obstacles as well :P

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:09am

i like it, reminds me a bit of bit.trip.runner, sfx and music remind me of classic game boy. Wish it was a set pattern though, when i failed a jump it felt like i had to wait forever to get to try it again.

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:37am

Great happy feels in this game!

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:16pm

+1 for volume controls. Headphone users beware.

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:19pm

I lowered the volume of the sounds in-game, thank you for the feedback!

spazzarama says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Like the music and sfx and style. Not a great fan of runners, but it was more interesting than others I've played.

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:41pm

haha I got super into this, nice work

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:20am

Awesome art, palette and music, nice simple fast game.

Newt_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53am

Wow, I loved it! The simple but fun gameplay, the music, the hats, everything! Great job!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:55am

Love the art!! The game is pretty good. I'd like to play it in my phone :)

cyrixd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40am

I liked it, mood was very light-hearted and fun, music very bouncy and enjoyable. Controls could be a touch more responsive, and the wait between obstacles is a bit too long for me.

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41am

Very fun game. Played it more than a few times. The collectibles got me hooked. Not sure it fits the theme, but it seems like it has been open to all sorts of interpretations. Great job!

doos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:43am

Loved it, couldn't do the three steps and squished every now and then so it was good to have infinite lives.

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:44am

I really like it, but I don't really see much of a connection with the theme. I also hit a bug at one point by hitting the corner of a block, my player froze and continued right until he hit something and died. Good work though, I love the idea of the collectables.

felix3456 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58am

This is a nice little game.The player looks like he is dancing the whole time. Is there a flying saucer that comes every so often or am I just seeing things?

Divitos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:07am

What flying saucer? c;

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37am

Good, solid game. But I don't particularly like endless runners.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:35am

Looks pretty nice. I'd like it if the slide time was a little extended, and the collisions a little less brutal.

-Alucardx60

Dontre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:38am

Hardcore game, nice music. I think, u should write how to control, because it wasn`t obviously for me. I liked this game.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Nice music, hard to do those jumps though...
Got further by luck then by skill :p
Unlockables were a nice touch.
Found a bug too: if you land perfectly on the corner of a square, it slides on with you!

Jim Haslett says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:57pm

I died. A lot.

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Volume was super loud but once I got it down I really liked the music. The art was nice but the biggest issue is that it was very hard to distinguish background elements from obstacles and collectibles. You can address this pretty easily, though, by maybe saturation control, etc. The background parallaxing felt great, I just kept getting confused thinking buildings were obstacles. One thing that threw me off was that I couldn't duck immediately after landing a jump since I technically hit the button while still in mid-air. Supporting this would go a long way to alleviating some frustration that I didn't feel was my fault. Also, you may want to consider some feedback on the duck to let people know that it is a timed thing as it took me a long time to figure that out. Nice work!

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Nice game! Music was really cool an kept me playing for a lot of time! Can't stop listening to it! :D
Game really gets hard after some time, which is a positive thing for me :D
Great entry! ^^

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Awesome game. It was really hard at first but became really addicting. Good work.

efux says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Wow, love the retro style of the music and the overall game. It is very hard and yet fun to play. Good job!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Good game, although I'm not sure if it quite fits the theme.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Cool lil' character

ilokimo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Good mood and audio. I am not a fan of the background and obstacles with the same color

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:22am

I thought it was very well done. I'm not very good at these games, and I am glad that it didn't just repeat the same sequence from the beginning or I would have been bored pretty quick. Music was fun too.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I like the feel of it, but not really 1-screen (my opinion, anyways). Other than that, simple and fun!

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Music and graphics are great! The game is worst to be played.

GFM says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:18am

Simple and well done. :)

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:44am

Really well put together, gameplay is tight and it looks nice.

nesis says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Nice implementation of an infinite runner. I liked the light-hearted bubble particles trailing after the player.

Norgg says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Looks nice and the controls feel pretty good, but the gameplay is a bit too simplistic to keep me interested at the moment.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:34am

This is pretty damn good. Challenging, but fun and fair! Love how it feels.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:35am

Innovation n/a: It doesn't innovate.

Fun 5/5: Very fun and addictive!!!

Theme 3/5: The game runs in a single screen.

Graphics 5/5: Great graphics and visual effects!!!

Audio 5/5: Great music and sfx!!!

Humor n/a: I cannot find humor...

Mood 5/5: I felt happy while playing!!!

Overall 4/5: Great gam, but it have typical infinite runner glitches. (at least in the jam version)

gana0 says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:22pm

The music was excellent. Very jazzy chiptune. The game itself was very good too. I wish that the ducking state would last longer. You had to be very precise with the timing while ducking.

Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Pretty cool, adding collectibles was a nice touch. Good job !

Erkberg says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:33pm

A nice endless runner, I really liked the visuals and audio. Controls worked well and felt good. Gameplay was kinda standard, with the exception that not every contact with obstacles kills you but instead you have to jump onto them, which was pretty cool, although quite hard and sometimes buggy (the level elements would move together with me when I landed just barely on top of them). Good job overall!

PS: Needs more hats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]