Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Coliseum Crew

by rogberth - Compo Entry

***SPECIAL UPDATE 8 of December***
Finally I could port it to HTML5 format changing some Game Maker functions that only worked in Windows.
An archer bug has also been fixed.
**********************************


*Note: no sound was implemented*
Strategic action takes place in the Coliseum!
Create a gladiator party and survive the wave of enemies!

Instructions:
Left click: Pick gladiator
Right click: Move selected gladiator
Q: Spell 1
W: Spell 2
1,2,3,4: Switch gladiators hotkeys
P: Restart

Game:
You have 5 classes to choose and 4 slots (gladiators).
Once in the coliseum, move around all your gladiators and
set them in a strategic position, use and combine all the spells available.


Spells:
Retiarius(fish guy)
Q:Throws a net that traps an enemy.
W:Throws a fish that restores HP to another gladiator.

Archer
Q:Fast shooting, less damage.
W:Slow shooting, better damage.

Murmillo(half naked, half golden guy)
Q:Spin to win, deals damage in area.
W:Creates an area where all gladiators get a damage bonus.

Hoplomachus(Full gold guy)
Q:Taunts enemies nearby.
W:Creates a invencible shield for himself.

Magus
Q:Shoots 4 fireballs in + form
W:Shoots 4 fireballs in x form

PD: coding organization sucks. Sorry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#417Innovation3.31
#438Graphics3.27
#439Fun3.20
#546Overall3.20
#549Mood2.94
#682Theme3.51

Comments

renatopp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Good game for a 48 hours compo. It is an interesting mechanic to control all chars at the same time in real time, which makes the game ultra hard.

Fnkee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Haha, I absolutely love this. Probably gonna play it some more tonight, see how far I can get. Didn't realize at first, that the mage's fire spell also damaged my own, and ended up killing them myself. Really entertaining, lot's of creative units. I especially love how you've given the cold one a weakness (;
Good job on this, and good luck!

Aomeas says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Using the spells of different types of gladiators and building the best team is great!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:13pm

I've even saved this in by browser to play some more in future)

Ouro17 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Nice game, congratulations. I think I managed to win the game despite I havent seen a win message. The classes are amazing and their skills, the enemies skills too, make a pretty good point in the strategy of the game. If you could managed to include some epic battle 8-bit music, it will be perfect.
Good job!
Gladiators 4 the win!

rogberth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Thanks to all for the comments.

By the way I just beat the game with fisher, archer, fighter and tank (yeah, latin names are just too hard haha)

Tipyx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Great job for a compo, but maybe a Pause system ?

pancakecity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:03am

Super difficult! I love the attacks.

pk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:06am

It feels like a mini MOBA/RTS where you need to micromanage to survive a wave. I like it a lot.

Player movement speed is a bit low but I guess it leans more towards tactics than twitch combat. With a pause and queue system this would have some FTL vibes.

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51am

i love it!

Inateno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29am

hard to control all characters but it's really funny

mrhill says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:36am

haha, the mage can kill you. Thats fantastic :D

sanojian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47am

Some really great ideas here. I found the combat a little bit slow and audio would have added a lot but overall a great game.

sanojian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:49am

Also the numbering was a little confusing. It would have been easier if it was 1-4 top to bottom.

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Lot of stuff implemented for a 48h combo! Very ambitious project which needs more work and is a bit too complex. Hope you keep developing this, is a great personal project. Graphics are nice, melting snowmans is funny and fits the theme well :P

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Really enjoyed this entry. Quite hard to control everyone at once.

GGraca says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I really like this kind of games and i loved it when the snowman showed up it :P

Check this one:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44716

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27pm

the only problem for this game is it was over ambitious. the game play was really good, and I loved it because its not turn-based. the no sound-no pause or no polishing almost killed the game, but it is still fun to play. I think this game could be much more.overall: great job.

huggabugga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Great work on the variety of gladiators and enemies.

runvs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Hi there,
nice game, esp. for 48 hours. gameplay is nice, but gets a little bit hectic, when you try to do things with more than one gladiator at one time.
I like the variety of different enemies and how they react different on attacks (snowmen melt, yes! :D)

Pierce_Z says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:18am

I find it hard to control everyone, I basically just used my 4 guys as extra lives and used one at a time. Fun game.

thiaguera says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:16am

Beautiful and fun game.I want more. MOAAAAAAAAAR!!!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:04am

nice, clever use of unit categories and tactics, but it's simple enough not to cripple the fun. You should consider adding sound and a Pause button. well done

Shivur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Good mechanics!

Yarek says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I like this game a lot :) really good game.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Really interesting mechanics to play as all of them together.
I enjoyed it really though! :D

SolomaZ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Good class differentiation of skills!

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Something about your mechanic of controlling everyone RTS style in the most clunky fashion made this very interesting, ironically. I didn't want to like it but found myself playing for quite a while. Definitely super unique.

laluis1 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:02am

great mood

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:51am

Snowmans are attacking! :) Nice game. Very well done.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Neat game and cute graphics, well done!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:03am

Hey fellow dev!
Pretty fun game, glad the hotkeys were there because the controls were a bit tricky to get used to at first.

At first it was easy but then difficulty ramped up pretty quick. Good game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]