Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cool The Cats!

by aeveis - Compo Entry

A puzzle platformer where you dig through snow by swapping places with each snow block. There are also these fire cats that want to cool down. You are some sort of fox who likes to help these cats out.

Sort of a more sandbox environment, I think the movement is pretty interesting but the puzzle element here could be better. Theme-wise the game takes place in one screen, and the level design changes by the player's own actions.

Let me know your best time!

Tools used:
IDE: Flash Develop
Library: Haxeflixel
Art: Gimp
Sound/Music: OpenMPT

Controls:
Arrow Keys or WASD and Space to move and jump
R to Reset

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#30Graphics4.26
#42Overall3.92
#75Fun3.77
#118Mood3.55
#123Innovation3.87
#241Humor3.04
#313Audio3.11
#893Theme3.32

Comments

Figglewatts says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:15pm

An interesting puzzle. Nice work!

jpmit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:02pm

That was fun. Great graphics and sfx.

The difficulty was about right for me. Almost stopped playing but managed to make it to the end.

I wasn't really sure how to do the high jumps but sort of managed to do them now and again anyhow.

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:03am

Outstanding entry! Very pleasant to play, clever puzzle idea, and very entertaining game overall. Graphics are very nice too. I spend 4:49 to cool down all the cats, thanks and congrats for creating such a great and polished game is such a short time frame.

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:08am

Nice concept, interesting and original.

Too bad the fox is so hard to fine control though.

Nice entry ;)

aslakhol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:15am

This was a great small bit of fun, I thoroughly enjoyed it. And I also got 4:49.

stray says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:49am

Really awesome buddy. Concept is great, fun, cool and theme is really nice
Good job dude.

Prox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:55am

The fox is really nice animated.

I enjoy the puzzle mecanics !

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Nice game mechanic, but would like the one big level broken down into smaller levels, that ease you into the game. But I understand time is short when putting a game together.
As @BadPaul34 says, control of the fox is difficult.

Yarek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I loved the graphic and how original it is! Fun stuff!

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Off Topic,
didn't know how else to get in touch with you.
Can you tell me what make and model you tried my game on and what graphics card. Thank you.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:25am

Neat concept, lovely art, nice job!

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:11am

Great fun! Loved the artwork, too. :)

MurrayL says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:56am

Really unique idea - I love it!

asobitech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Last Off Topic message to @aeveis.
Thanks to your bug report and one other person, I've worked out the issue with my game, P.Rick Airious
Seems some graphics cards don't like the FullScreen 640x400 resolution I set it to, resulting in the images not being shown.
So I rewrote the graphics routines to play in a window 90% of your current resolution. Please download the new Win32 version and try it out.
Many thanks.
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=11959

Javabot says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:51am

This was a fun puzzler! I am happy you made this game!

wavertron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:55am

Really good. I normally get kinda sick of puzzle games pretty quickly, but I hadnt seen one with this mechanic before, and played through to the end (time 6:49). Great job. I would encourage you to try taking the concept further.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:52pm

My god such a great game, I appreciate how it offers just the right amount of challenge for a ludum dare game, I completed it in 3 minutes and had a real good time, one of my favorite sor far.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:16am

Awesome! Great mechanic, movement feels really satisfying with the snow and sound effects, and the art style is distinct and cohesive. I quite enjoyed this one!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:28pm

love it :) very original and funny puzzle game, well done

GFM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:44am

WOW. This was really interesting! Great game!

You could easily make a harder mode by setting a maximum type that the cats can stay on fire. (I wouldn't play this, btw... I already had troubles with this mode XD)

OddballDave says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:43pm

This was fun. And avery interesting mechanic. Good stuff.

phaze112 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:59am

Interesting concept and great art, but the controls can be a bit finicky.

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Pretty interesting - there's not much to it other than the innovative mechanic though. Music could have been nice, and the physics could be neatened up a bit, and there could be a few more mechanics thrown in other than just adding extra cats. Other than that, pretty fun to play for a while, but drags on a little as you approach the 18 cats.

SumGato says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:30pm

I like the puzzle mechanics. Also, cute graphics :3

mohammad says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:07pm

You play as a red arctic fox trying to put hellcats into blocks of ice. The graphics were good, the gameplay is fun and interesting, and the puzzles were not too easy but not too difficult. The physics and controls could be tweaked, and I was kinda disappointed by the ending, but it was fun in the end.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]