Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Star Racer

by Manoloko - Compo Entry

Use the arrows to control the car, try to collect as many stars as you can in 30 seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#539Humor2.50
#608Audio2.61
#735Fun2.90
#802Theme3.40
#899Overall2.86
#1003Mood2.33
#1061Innovation2.29
#1151Graphics1.95
#1934Coolness32%

Comments

billrizer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:18am

Fun - would have loved to see more power slide action though ;)

torcado194 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:23am

pretty neat! thr drift mechanics fit really well. although sometimes stars spawn nearly off-screen. nice job!

borgi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:23am

Cool game, some enemies would make it more fun! Good job anyways!

eerongal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:38am

Nice simple game, i liked the handling on the car.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:50am

Nice game, but a bit too simple.
I like how the car handles, but it turns to fast I think.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Simple game, but well made. I Included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-qEX6yeW8uQ

Aske says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Little fun game. But you have to put up the source-code or change it to a Jam entry.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:37pm

funny game, imo the stars should give a time bonus

Louisload says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:40pm

simple game yet soo challenging! especially because of the music, when the time is running out it becomes so dramatic ahah! i cant get a highscore greater than 5 ):

d3garcia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Good game but need more obstacles or enemies and/or power ups to make it more fun.

Manoloko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:32am

Aske, you're right, I forgot about that. I've added the source now.
Thanks for all the nice comments and the constructive critics, Ludum Dare is awesome! :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I'm not sure that music is match to setting )))
But gameplay is addictive

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Intense music. :D Good simple game. Well done.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:11am

Pretty fun to play, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]