Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Orion

by feiss - Compo Entry

Use mouse and keys down/up (when required)

Follow all the steps and get to the space! I tried to do a full trip to mars, but.. timeout! :)

Chrome and Headphones recommended.

In mobile devices is runnable, although not tested and not really playable :/

Done thanks to the amazing CanvasQuery library. Thanks Rezoner!

SOURCE CODE: since it's an html+javascript game, you can view the source directly, with the "view page source" option in your browser :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#4Graphics4.68
#4Overall4.29
#6Mood4.46
#8Audio4.15
#67Theme4.23
#72Innovation4.01
#75Fun3.77

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

great concept. lovely cockpit and sounds

zanenga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47am

I love this! This game is amazing! The best I've seen so far! I hope you finish it. Great job!

kodmaster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:35am

NO i WON'T FORGIVE YOU, WANT MORE NOW 10/10 amazing haha

For the critiques, maintaining the pitch in outerspace feels odd, the same with the planet showing right below the ship all the time

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:41am

Gorgeous and incredible feeling! I got past the moon but then orders stopped coming, I guess you just got until there?

Great anyway!

molecats says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:40am

Super Awesome!!!!

rezoner says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:20am

The moment when you start the engines makes the game - literally. It would be a sin not to add some adventures now.

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:25am

Looks fun, but won't finish loading in any of my browsers :(

jackrugile says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:28am

The art in this just blew my mind. I kept on wanting to drop pitch, one to feel the shake, and two to see the beautiful planet ;) Stellar work!

Noxy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:30am

Wow this is totally hilarious, enjoyed every second of it :)

nicotuason says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:21am

I love it so much... the cockpit with all the details, dials, and glowy bits. Brings me back to the glory days of space sims. Thank you for making this!

coderitual says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09am

Really like the atmosphere.

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:06am

I love it. This is one fantastic compressed to 1 screen game! I´m not sure how this awesome cockpit has been painted in only 2 days but your game is awesome!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:08am

I have to play it on chrome (ff don't work), but it was simple AWESOME! Never feel so much in the space. Voice from radio reminds me about all the train stations, where it's hard to understand single word:D

gre says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:28am

Incredible experience.

PERECil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:29am

Nice game. Note that this game won't run with Firefox, use chrome to test it!

Zomboh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36am

Great concept, atmosphere, sound and graphics! Took me back to the old Tie Fighter days. Good stuff.

Tonasz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:46am

That's AWESOME! Good you haven't finished it, because it would go out of AWESOMENESS scale! ;) Just kidding, I wish could land. You reached with this game my little inner me who is dreaming about lots of switches to switch on board of spaceship.

Threef says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Graphics are beautiful, and amount of buttons make great feel. I enjoyed it, but got bored after 10 minutes, and that's fine because that's how I imagine space travel!

feiss says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Thank you guys! I know it's not a complex game, but I'm very glad you share this little trip to the stars with me :)

I'll take a look to the issues with some browsers..

psychomonster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:52pm

This is huge... Hope I'll on my way to mars soon :) Great entry!

Lyxilion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Great concept, great graphics, great game !

rabbeni says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Wow this was so good

Krisjet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Wow, great entry. Really loved the atmosphere. Wish there was more of it, would love to land on Mars :D

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Incredible. I am really impressed. Had a ton of fun with this. excellent work.

kalugny says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Great great game!
This is what Ludum Dare is for.
Please continue it.

Halfbus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18pm

too short, but realy great entry

sprawl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Screens do not turn on for me in Firefox. It works with chrome though.

Wow. I'm blown away on this one. Them atmosphere is perfect on this one. Gameplay might be simple but it fits the game very very well. the graphics are also very good. This is one of the best entries I've seen so far. Great Job !

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Wow, I'm impressed with what you were able to get done in 48 hours. The cockpit graphics alone look like they would be time-consuming. As a fan of KSP, I really enjoyed this experience, and I liked having to fiddle with all the different controls - it felt like I was actually prepping for a launch. I'd love to know how you did the radio noises. Felt very authentic (well, other than seeing the Earth's atmosphere when I'm half-way to Mars ;)) But please continue working on this - it was a fantastic experience and I want to see more.

DMinsky says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Awesome man! This is the best entry of #LD31!

Anikki says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Man, i love this. I want to buy the full version right now.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Wow, this was brilliant immersion-wise. The moment when the countdown finishes felt truly epic.

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Great job! The graphics were great! I'm really impressed with what you were able to do in 48 hours.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Great experience. Lots of stuff to do, only the launch was a bit tricky to do at first. Played it almost 3 times in a row, loved it so much. I really got sucked into the experience. Great art, great sound effects. Lovely absence of music. If you had time to improve some things, make all the gauges and levers inside the cockpit, the menus pull you out of the immersion.

Harsay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:56pm

10/10 - Would get into space again.

khahem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Really good game, I want more !

feiss says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Thank you guys! I appreciate the comments. I worked hard into the mood and immersion of the game, it feels good to know that it works somehow.

fleegle2000: thanks! All sounds and music are hand made (audacity, bitwig). The voice in the radio is my own voice with my nose closed and distorted, heh

Random Abductions: Thank you! Its a good tip, would be great to have all kind of levers, knobs and buttons in the cockpit to play with. I did the menus thinking of adding more kind of "minigames" in them, so it would have some more gameplay, but I had no time to do more :( but that would be less realistic, and it seems that people like the 'simulation' part of the game, so your tip could be great indeed!

Krisjet: passing near the moon, use its gravity to reach mars, and land on it could be amazing, uh? Yeah..

ladybenko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45pm

LOVED IT

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:50pm

5 stars for the graphics, beautifull game, looking forward for the next versions

frondeus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Wow. This is so amazing. I'm really impressed.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Ok, your game is just awesome.
I loved everything, from the graphics to the sound.

The immersion is amazing, good job :)

AmyDee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:16pm

I was off to a great start and then I think I got a memory leak a few minutes in. OSX Yosemite, Safari. (Safari seems to have memory issues itself right now, may not be the app.)

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Wow that was a really awesome experience.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:53pm

What a really cool idea! The sound, the graphics, just wow! I'd have loved to make it all the way to Mars and well beyond!

Really hope there will be a post-compo version!

RevoluGame says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Nice !! I would still love to go to mars :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24pm

I totally loved this game. You did your research on space terminology. Too bad LDs are so short that you couldn't finish it. The visuals are stunning.

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=8733

Definitely a premium entry!

IzaacRogers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:31pm

awesome game, i love how well all the buttons respond to everything

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59pm

This was lovely! I can't honestly say the game is "fun" but it was definitely a great experience. I can't believe the graphics, they're so great.

A few things, though:

Why is the planet or something always visible? The S shape to the right seemed to say I'm flying that path?

The game crashed just a little while into cruising, not sure why... The graphics stopped updating but the game still went because I could hear alarms go off when I left it for too long, and then I pressed up or down and it would go away again. Was weird.

feiss says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Tuism: thanks! The planet is visible because I thought it would make the experience more enjoyable than looking to a black empty space :) but is funny how some ask for a more scientifically accurate experience :)
About the graphics error.. You may turn the rocket way far up or down and exit the sky sprite. At that point you should get a game over screen, but you didn't.. Sure it's a bug! :P

rnlf: yes, i did! Well, before starting anything I spent a couple of hours researching about the actual orion and the shuttle take off sequence, and stuff like that. Thanks! :)

eigenbom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Awesome, well done :D

yanisvieilly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:12pm

This game is great! I love the details on the cockpit and the retro style graphics. The atmosphere is amazing!

lukz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Awesome game! Well done!

Ellian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Amazing. WHY ISN'T THERE MORE.
The graphics are incredible, and while the gameplay is incredibly simple I couldn't help but reach the end.
Lovely game. Amazing job. Congratulations. :)

AmyDee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:07am

Ok it broke in Safari and Firefox on OSX, but I got it to work on Chrome. Great experience! Felt anxious as the countdown began.

squirrel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52am

Amazing concept, really interesting approach to the theme. The graphics were amazing, the sound effects were good and the gameplay was fun, nice game!

Polyganz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:39am

Awesome! Please make this into a full game!

rnlf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10am

No idea how I popped the URL to your game into my comment. Probably because I was C&P'ing it into IRC and accidentally put it here too... Weird...

Valandre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:15am

How really impressive, one of my favorite entry as so far. great sfx!

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:24am

Soooo cool!An experience!

feiss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51am

I think the bug in Firefox and Safari is fixed now, sorry!

deepnight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:37pm

The theme was a bit special on this LD (imo), but your entry used it in a very clever way. Well done :)

It's amazing how much mood you can create with such a static view!

feiss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49pm

thanks man! Yes indeed, the theme was pretty odd :P

Dokthar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Very nice game. I want MORE !

Ysty says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11pm

That's really cool. I love the look and the foley work on the switches is really nice.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Very cool game. Really great sense of mood and space.

Thanks.

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Fantastic! Would really love to see this idea taken further (at least until Star Citizen is released)

hexagore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33pm

This is absolutely outstanding. My only gripe is that my heart fell when I reached the end and realised it was all over. Lovely artwork, so so very atmospheric. :(

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Wow....just wow. That was awesome, and I'm awestruck that you got all this done in the time frame. Phenomenal graphics, audio, and easily the best atmosphere I've ever seen in LD.

Bravo.

43iscoding says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Absolutely astonishing! 10/10 AAA :D I really enjoyed those 5 minutes spent on your game. My favorite so far! Waiting for more <3

arg-games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:40pm

That game is a blast!

Robber says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Yes!! I Love Space..very nice style here!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54pm

wow! I literally felt like I was in a spacecraft. Fantastic!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Really amazing job. My only gripe is that I would have liked some cool sound effects during some steps like the separation steps. Amazing game though.

Harrs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Really beautiful, amazing atmosphere for a game created in such a short time!

gaetan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06pm

I just wish you could extend the game for a loooong full flight. The game is simple, yes but this is not a problem because the experience is fantastic. I hope you will finish the game one day :)

RadStar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Really nice! I was really absorbed by your game, looking for all those button! I was sad when reaching the end :( Good job!

feiss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15pm

cxsquared: oh man, fuck! Your're totally right! I thought of playing some sfx on the separation phases but with the rush I completely forgot! Damn :D

Thank you everybody! You are very generous :)

GarethIW says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Very topical! Nice atmosphere as well!

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28pm

It worked fine as far as I know in firefox. But after the part where the order was to relax and enjoy the view either I didn't know what to do or it stopped giving orders.
Also, I think fighting the pitch was a little too extreme. It was like you barely hit the one where you have to adjust 4 bars and before you finish the first bar it is already shaking.

adrianulima says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:40pm

amazing game!!! congrats

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Really cool!!! the feel this game gives is superb. To bad the end was lacking of content. But great job!!!

MurrayL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Fantastic visuals and atmosphere, although the game itself is somewhat lacking!

Has the same sort of appeal as playing something like Euro Truck Simulator or Train Simulator - a fairly relaxing experience that immerses the player. Sadly, constantly having to manage the pitch feels like something of a conceit, tacked-on so that the player has something to do during the flight.

Apart from that, a fantastic effort! An amazing accomplishment for two days work.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17pm

This is really an incredible entry, I am in awe that this was done in such a short time span!

feiss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Yeah, you are totally right about the Pitch thing.. I didn't have time to polish the gameplay any more, and it ended quite silly :P

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Really fantastic, all around. My favorite so far, and not just because I'm a nut for space exploration.

Bravo sir. Bravo.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Aww, I never even got to press the random button...

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:11pm

That was a lot of fun! Thank you.

the31 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Wow, awesome! Cockpit simulations are really neat, I just wish you had time to put in more content! Great audio and visuals, and great atmosphere. Even though the game's on a single screen, I felt like I was on a trip to Mars. (Apparently it's very close to Earth. ;) )

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Wow, looks amazing!

qristofer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Just super cool. Like this with some more action would be amazing.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Great graphics and audio, I really enjoyed it!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:53pm

The cockpit looks great, and the sounds fit really well. Nice work.

reverso13 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Amazing game and great graphics. Congrats!

Rycoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Awesome Cockpit design you have made. Great audio btw :D.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Very good idea and fun to play. Love the mood, sound and graphics. I want more.

Bygmalion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:31pm

I love space, I love this game,I love you, thanks.

snipercommand says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Great game, I really felt like I was in a giant space ship, and somehow pressing all the buttons didn't make me explode =P Great execution I love the art style, the mood, the sounds, ...

Aree Vanier says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Epic graphics, physics and game in general!
I found it a bit long but really fun if you have the time

panda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:31pm

very pretty, congratulations! Is this all based on actual steps, or is it made up?

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Wow, amazing concept and equally amazing execution.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:47pm

The game froze just as I was taking off :( I could hear it all happening in the background but couldn't see anything change on screen. I was running it in Safari. Loved what I saw though.

feiss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17pm

JoshuaBurr: yes, something odd happens in Safari.. Chrome is the recommended browser, if you can test it in it.. sorry! :/

panda: hmm.. I researched for 2 hours about launching sequences, so some steps and terminology is actual stuff, but many is made up.. and also, I don't believe that the astronauts have to press many buttons on take off, I suppose everything is automated and controlled from Launch Control, don't you think? dunno, really.. :D

Thanks everybody again! :)

okkolobr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:36pm

I. Was. In. Space !

THANKS !

JFern says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:59pm

This is fantastic! The initial take-off was AWESOME. Great job and with only 48 hours!

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:48am

Just wow! Really loved the sound and feel of the buttons.

ShadowTzu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:09am

Game freeze every 6 seconds with firefox and does not work with IE.

Boracho says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:28am

Really great game! The instructions are a little unclear at first but once you pick them up it's smooth sailing (or launching as it were). Great art, great sound, I can't really think of anything bad to say (except the end, but that's understandable). Really Good work!

Quikding says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:47am

very laggy in firefox. cool concept!

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:32am

I loved the graphics in this, great job!

I loved the combination of trying to drive, while also making sure everything is set correctly.

Seriously, can you please finish this game?

Catwheel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:58am

This was really fun. I like the feel of this game :3

elvaq says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:34am

Definitely one of my favorites I've played this LD! I love the concept and the execution is just amazing. And the ending! Haha, It's Desert Bus in space!

ianh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:34am

What a rush!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:56am

This...is...awesome! I'm speechless...

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:20am

Outstanding graphics. The liftoff part just make the game. Great job !

Indigon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:48am

Simply wow.

Suppagumma says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:57am

This is so beautiful and awesome and other banally praising sentences! Loved your take on the theme and the clickiness of it. Would be great if you developed it more after the jam :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:35pm

love the retro style, and the camera shake effect is coool.

ajopart says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Great experience !

Tipyx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Wow... With the OST of Interstellar, it will be very awesome :p. Great experience !

Carduus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Between Interstellar and kerBal Space Program, i needed this game, awesome job dude, the mood is just perfect.
The experience of LD31.

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:13pm

I mean, I can count at least 8 screens in that interface, so I'll have to rate you 0/5 for Theme.

Just kidding (ha!). This is ace! Well done on creating such a polished and engaging experience in only 48hrs. I wish there was more of it, which is always a good thing to hear about a LD game!

lekochen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Wow, the graphics and atmosphere is just crazy.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:14pm

OK, I think this is the first LD game that I scored five stars in each category. Wow.

Carduus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Rated! Shining staaaars everywere!!!

Maurogik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:25pm

This is great ! It feels like your inside the ship ^^.

katjap says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Keep working on it please! +1 for Greenlighting!

Elendow says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Awesome work, feel like that good old games. Make it longer, please!!

Headmade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Stunning visual and sound design. Incredible!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I love this so much. <3 The only thing I want is more.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Thanks to your game I have achieved my childhood dream, all from a laptop at my dining room table. That was really atmospheric (if you'll forgive the pun). I liked it a lot.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Spectacular experience for the feel and mood. There's not much actual gameplay here, but I have never had so much fun with so little gameplay. Brilliantly executed. =)

Simon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:36pm

This hits all the right spot. Well done it's really really cool.

TravisChen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:42pm

LOVE THIS! I made a game similar a while back celebrating the space shuttle: http://www.travischen.com/DISCOVERY

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Very atmospheric game. This is just the beginning of a great space adventure game! :-)

Threstle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Amazing ! I think I have no critique to make. This is a perfect take on the theme. :D

Zambini says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:23pm

This is by far some of the best set of visual and audio production I've seen.

As far as gameplay goes, however, I feel like there could be more to it.

Luckily this is Ludum Dare, and this is simply fantastic for a compo entry.

Zyow says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Really cool! I love the atmosphere!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Just incredible! Amazing feeling!

mildmojo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:23am

I'd be happy if the entire jam was all games like this. Love UI-heavy simulator-likes (Steel Battalion, Spaceteam, Artemis). So far I've only found your entry and "You Have the Con".

Really pretty pixel art. The rocker switches in particular look great. The screen shake and blur effect is perfect and the soundscape is very complete. I do wish you'd had time to finish the mission to mars, or have the goal be to achieve stable orbit.

I played in Firefox for OSX, but the game would be perfect for touch devices.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:00am

This game is so good, and even more impressive as a compo entry. I had to check this out after @LarryChupacabra's highlight video. Very well done. This is my favorite entry so far.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:05am

Reminds me of Steel Battalion, trying to get a grasp on what all the buttons and switches do without dying. I failed the first time because I spaced on the countdown, but luckily I knew where everything was the second time so it didn't take nearly as long to get started.

I was expecting something to go wrong near the end of the trip, after I was told to relax. I'm glad it was smooth, but it would have been a nice test to see how quickly I could hunt down whatever button I needed to get out of a bad situation.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:24am

That was truly amazing. That is all.

plauk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:25am

So so so amazing. I would have given you ALL of the stars, if I'd been able to reach Mars. Still, this is wonderful.

gillenew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:18pm

wow, amazing entry! The graphic and sound immersion are awesome, congratulations for this :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Graphics work so well with the audio, was fun to play but would have been nice to have seen a planet at the end. Definitely understandable that there wasn't one with the time, I know how it is. The mood was the best I've seen so far in an entry, you really set it well with the opening tasks. Hoping you expand upon this.

nuno says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:39pm

so cool!! how dare you not letting me finish my mission?? ;P

DA_KID says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Really good. This should be made into a full game with actual planet backgrounds :P

sputnik says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Pretty good project. Really immersive!

Zayron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Lags bad in Firefox and will not load at all in IE. Game looks cool from what little I did play in Firefox. :)

Kim Sjöberg says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I want more! This looks amazing! Clever gameplay, simple at first but I was pretty sure I was gonna crash once I had to keep pitch and press buttons at the same time :P Bummer I have to wait for the sequel to see Mars! Great game!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Best game I've player so far in LD31. Amazing work, congrats.

Absor says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:22pm

More.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Wow, that was fantastic! It's like a singleplayer realistic version of SpaceTeam, and that's amazing. Great work!

sebasRez says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:28pm

The page isn't loading :( I will come back and try again but I only rated the graphics for now from what I see. Can't wait to play it.

Ulydev says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Amazing experience ! Brutal ending though :(

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:36pm

One of the best I've seen this LD. Surprisingly compelling game even though I'm following instructions and looking for buttons. The graphics, sounds and overall atmosphere really sell it. Nice work!

sebasRez says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Ah so cool, was able to play it now and that was just as much as it looked! excellent work!

doitle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Incredibly well done. I think this is my favorite of this LD. The only thing I wish was that it wasn't so linear and I could screw up the controls intentionally and see the consequences. I hope you will continue developing this and fully flesh it out because I will play the dingus out of it.

paperweight says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Amazing that this was done in 48 hours, one of the benchmark entries.

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:16pm

WHy so hard!!
I forgot to start the engines and Kaput...
But, is very very nice game, Innovation, Theme, Overall one of the most different and nice game I played in this LD
GOOD WORK!!

recursor says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Nice atmosphere and sounds. I wanted it to keep going.

pegigante says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Nice game. It reminded me of wing commander. I loved it.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:00am

Amazing graphics with a great atmosphere to it. A shame it was so short.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:33am

Awesome game, and smart use of the theme. Shame you didn't have time to imeplement more.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:33am

Wow awesome game!!Love it! Great graphics, great mood and great sound! One of the best games I've played so far.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:37am

Something I forgot to say: I have an unplayable framerate in Firefox (1-3 fps), but it's fine in Chrome.

Devark says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:42am

Great entry, really polished!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:31am

One of my top 5 games this Ludum Dare! Brilliant art and audio, the tone of the whole thing is perfect. Keeping the ship steady while finding the next control is challenging without being too difficult. It'd be nice to see this taken further!

GentlyPub says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Nice mood and nice screenshake feedback when the pitch is off!

rantt says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Wow, this was awesome. I really enjoyed it, felt like an astronaut for a few minutes...lol. Great job :)

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I'm in awe. FTL from the cockpit perspective NOW XD

bushmango says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Do a barrel roll fox!!! Hint. You can't do a barrel roll. I tried.

This game is fantastic! I would love to see a bigger version of this game where you have to control all the little knobs and switches. It's deeply satisfying to me.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Loved it. This was my favorite out of all the ones I've played so far. It's a great little experience.
The effort put into it really shows.
I don't think it's weird that people expect science or realism. We did a game that had strong roots in biology, and people loved that part of it. They loved that realism. Finding that perfect line between fantasy and realism can sometimes be a challenge, especially for simulation games like this. You've done a great job so far though.

Rothens says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Okay, now it's time to put in more content :P Nice game otherwise ^^

orion_black says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:10am

Good take on the theme. Excellent execution. Good job.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:18am

Great concept. A bit stuttery in Firefox. You should make this into a non-browser game, and people would probably love it. :)

funkysquid says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:33am

So beautiful :D

ncannasse says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:53am

Just perfect

sanojian says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:07am

I've rated hundreds of LD games in seven compos and this is the best looking and feeling one. Amazing job!

Agram says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:12am

Great game !

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:04pm

pretty awesome!, especially for a compo game. Hoped for more, I guess it's better to let know that there's nothing more instead of letting someone fly for 2 more minutes without anything :P

Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Like the mood of the game. Pretty good graphics and audio

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Interesting idea, I crashed because the value input was cocky.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Great cockpit

OttersDen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:47am

I reached Mars! Great concept! It was very enjoyable.

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:13am

Lovely pixel art :)

Mossy Frog says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:10am

So amazing. I would kill for a space sim game of this style.

allurious says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Really nice atmosphere, but dat ending! :p I was hammering the radio thinking MAYBE THEY WANT TO TALK TO ME MORE...

KeeperofBee says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Love the graphics!

AlbertoSM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Very interesting and atmospheric game! You got a good thing going on with this idea, I hope you develop it further!

OddballDave says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Great game. It crashed for me at about stage one separation. The audio continued but the graphics froze. Good stuff though.

Lythom says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:02pm

I... just flew in space. The mood was amazing.
Thank you !

Mekuri says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Loved the idea and the level of detail, I made it to "mars" :-)
It felt a bit boring at first, but after take off it gets a bit more challenging. Loved the idea. Good job!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Damn, this game is so damn cool...
Well done! I love everything, graphic, sounds gameplay! Great work!

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Just ... Amazing

victorljs says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Best game I've played so far, very good.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:59pm

The atmosphere is awesome in this game!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:05am

Everyone wish to beeing an astronaut, and with this game we can. :D

Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:32am

Intensely atmospheric, immersive, and even romantic in a kind of way. This was a pretty damn cool experience.

DevoNoel says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:44am

You should keep working on this after the compo, it's fantastic.

uvwar says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:40am

Pretty cool as is, now just put in some asteroids and martians!

eforen says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:05am

Very nicely done! Good job!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:58am

Awesome experience! I have seen game with similar idea, but there I feel like a space monkey, and here I feel like a pro astronaut. Great work with the mood.

Dagnarus says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:12pm

I don't want to be THAT guy... but this is listed as a compo entry and you didn't provided the source (and looking at you previous entries, it's not the first time)

Also I am pretty sure I heard some of those sounds on freesound.org

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Hey good job! I did something very similar with my entry, but yours looks way better

feiss says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Dagnarus:

Since it's html+javascript, you can check the source code by right clicking on the page, and choose "view source code". The main game code is in that js1k.js. (The same applies to my older entries but NONEX, which is Flash and for which I provided the source)

Don't know if there are similar sounds at freesound.org (maybe you could point those out), but all I can say is that all sounds are made with my microphone, audacity and bitwig. I have some original WAVs but not all, for I work very unorganized with sound.. :P

I'll try to stream my ludum dare next time X)

Thank you everybody for the comments!!

Todnut says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Awesome in every way!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Great art and sounds here, and overall excellent work in setting the mood and selling the scenario. A good, gritty flight sim is hard to find, and for a LD project this was very well done.

As an experience this was very cool, though it didn't feel quite like a game. Something more sandboxy, with more oportunities to misclick buttons, or do things wrong (maybe more complex or less direct orders), would have been nice, say deactivating the Radio and activating Orbital Radio when you needed orders from Mission Control, and if you didn't you'd miss a critical update on your trajectory. More options for failure due to precision or misinterpreted orders, less immediate failure (possibly your lack of precision cost you points?) and less "you took too long to hit the button" failures would have been nice ways to build on the experience, I think.

Excellent work on your entry!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Oh this was amazing, really nailed the atmosphere. Great use of the theme too

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Ha ha ha ha! Ok I really like this one. Quite funny because me playing it is like someone hired an unqualified idiot to fly the ship. Here we have a smart AI that doesn't let you screw up that much, now mash the buttons till you become a spaceship pilot. Quite fun, including the situational humor.

runvs says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:56pm

You _have_ to continue this game.

Georgeous graphics that set the mood perfectly.

Very well done! :)

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:09am

love it. impressively engaging. and thoroughly enjoyed the launch sequence.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:55am

Awesome job! LOVE THE GRAPHICS! One of the best games I've seen so far, very fun!

whilefun says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:35am

Excellent audio and graphics. I loved all the switches and stuff. One thing I found is that the windows that came up with the rocker/toggle switches closed to fast after the last switch was thrown. It would be neat if the last switch clicked the same as the others and there was a brief pause. I really enjoyed the screen shake and radio chatter effects. The mission itself was a bit misleading, as I thought once I reached near the red planet I would have to press the other buttons and do some other sequence of things. But I made it to the end, and it was pretty cool. Intermediate events requiring additional action (with radio chatter) would add a lot here I think. Overall excellent entry, very nice look and feel. Good work!

tMalicet says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:53am

5/5 for the immersion.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:19am

I had a very nice experience with this one. The graphics were lovely and cohesive -- the colors were really great, a nice space-age palette. Not too modern, not too old-fashioned. Though, it did remind me a lot of playing Wing Commander for some reason.

Even after I'd preformed all the required actions in the game, and there was basically no real gameplay but to "reach Mars" (aka, travel to the red dot) -- I still found myself casually playing. I loved the look and feel of the game. The sounds, the way it controlled. It was really smooth and peaceful. I wouldn't mind sitting for awhile and just enjoying the sights (a-la spaceship simulator).

It didn't even really need things going wrong to be entertaining. I loved switching all the switches and pressing the buttons. Really aesthetically pleasing. I liked it a lot. :)

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Neat concept and atmosphere for a game, fantastic art as well. The sound was great and really fit the game.

Although I found the separation of first and second stages quite annoying since it was almost impossible to click the buttons with the ship shaking around. That caused me to lose and I didn't want to go through the slow start again just to reach that point.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:03pm

What an innovative idea, but right know it's mainly just pressing random buttons(mainly in the beginning), so that's not really fun, but other than that great game! Everything else is great!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Holy crap, everything about this entry is just amazing from the detail of the cockpit to the sound and really fun to play as well. You should definitely port this to VR devices like the Oculus Rift as that would be even more amazing (Also you're right in that Chrome is recommended as I tried it first in Firefox and it crashed as soon as it started).

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Brilliant, let's get this thing to mars!

Canyon says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:31am

I can't even

Tifu says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Runs really bad in Safari, with gameplay stuttering every few seconds, making the timing for the countdown absolutely impossible (tried three or four times, much frustration) - downloaded Chrome, worked fine in that.

Really impressive graphics, though.. the planet being there all the time is certainly weird =P
Not much interaction once you get into space and jetison the things, probably needs some kind of "oh no the thing is overheating, do the coolants" "there's a problem! radio Huston and they'll tell you what to do" kind of disaster or the like. Ideally some randomised things of that nature to really keep people engaged through several playthroughs. Obviously you wouldn't have had time for that here, but as you're considering working on this further, then those are suggestions I guess :P

Tifu says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Sorry, I meant runs really bad in Firefox. Don't know why I said Safari.

5you says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Then end is a bit disappointing but it's a great little game overall !

PriorBlue says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Very deep atmosphere! I Like the concept.

crazyrems says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:18pm

This... is... Awesome !
Certainly the best entry of this LD31.
I would like to know what is the use of the random button ?

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Wow, this is REALLY impressive. I wouldn't be surprised if this won. Really relaxing, the only place I could fault it would be lack of content, but even that's not really an issue for a good 10 minutes of gameplay. The amount of controls was great. Not sure why you opted out of humour, I found the "Random button" hilarious :3
Good job, look foward to seeing more participations,
There's no source link though, I believe it's in the rules that compo games require source to be submitted?

Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Wowww, all the stars for you. :) This is amazing. So immersive. And cool. Although you don't really do much, it's surprisingly fun. Everything looks georgeous. Played almost 80 LD31 games now, this one takes the cake!

feiss says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:27am

Thanks again guys! :D

Alyphen: since it's an html+javascript game, you can view the source directly, with the "view page source" option in your browser :)

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Really impressive work on graphics. The game is really good when we have stuff to do. Sad the end was so long for nothing. I hope you can continue the development of your game !

anael says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:22pm

best game I played ! congrats !!

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:03am

This is a super cool looking and cool feeling game, and one among my highest rated entry!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:49am

I love this! It reminds me of a space shuttle game for the atari 2600, except way better graphics. :) 10/10

wooltech says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:52am

Great concept, I'd love to see it finished.

Dec 23, 2014 @ 8:16am

Great atmosphere Loved playing this one! it was a shame near the end though :( when the cockpit stopped talking to you I wish that there was more gameplay! Great entry!

NPException says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:46am

Lovely thing!

taviandir says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:01pm

super amazing game! It really portrays a beautiful feeling and atmosphere. It doesn't come off as fun per say - but it was a great experience nontheless!
Your timing with a game like this is so PERFECT now with all the Interstellar hype going on around the world.

taviandir says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Source code not available? It's mandatory to publish it in the compo, but maybe you are so happy with this game you'll take the disqualification and keep working on it? (thats fine by me, just wanted to point it out!)

srakowski says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:57am

Wow this is a great game! Quality interface/graphics. I eventually just went off trajectory to see what would happen... lol. Well done!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:04am

One of my favorites so far. Great job :)

feiss says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:28am

Taviandir: since it's an html+javascript game, you can view the source directly, with the "view page source" option in your browser :)

Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:28pm

This style is incredible. What an awesome concept. The only thing I hate is to start over from the beginning ;D (it lags with Firefox btw).

Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:24pm

A bit disapointed by the end but the journey was nice.
Nice mood.

Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:35am

Great work!

admix says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:40am

Amazing entry! Are we going to see a post-compo game? =)

hoqjed says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Really nicely built atmosphere and I like the brief feeling of confidence it gave me when you're tasked to turn a couple of switches on in a row.

Sort of makes you feel like you have all of this vast experience because you're THAT pilot you see in movies that flips a couple of switches effortlessly to get a ship going. And then the countdown sequence started, and all sorts of doubt went through my mind. "I'm definitely not qualified for this, I was just following on screen instructions... I'VE ONLY DONE THIS IN VR TRAINING LET ME OUT". Then everything is okay because the launch ended up going alright, confidence restored.

I think the main thing that did end up taking away from my enjoyment was how direct and controlled the whole experience was. The only part that I truly felt like I had direct control over was the pitch, everything else I turned on or off because of the plainly obvious instructions. There wasn't any experimentation, I never really felt like I learned how to do anything or that I had to learn in the first place. The game led me with a carrot at the end of a stick the whole time, and even if I wanted to try to flip some other buttons on/off I couldn't. I can't, say, turn the engine off mid-flight like an idiot, or turn the radio off and pretend I'm going AWOL. It's just not allowed and that really breaks me from the experience.

Another bit of criticism was how the game ends (both when you succeed or fail). If you try to crash, you get this really sudden and static "game over" screen. It was just way too sudden, and a quick fade to black/white with a crash sound would have probably gone a long way to help with the consistency of the rest of the game. Actually even just a slow fade to black as you enter the fail state would have been a pretty effective transition by itself (then fade the game over screen in).
The "win" screen was pretty much the same, a smoother transition would have gone a long way to help reinforce the mood of the rest of the game. Of course, I understand that stuff didn't make it because of time constraints. It was just sort of disappointing to leave such an atmospheric experience on a flat note.

Overall, it's a really nice atmospheric experience which is excellent for Ludum Dare. 5 stars in graphics, audio and mood. But it sort of drops the ball a bit as an engaging interactive experience, so that aspect would need to be addressed more if you continue work on this.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 1:08am

)))))

feiss says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:13am

Hoqjed: thank you so much for sharing your ideas and feelings. I will take all that into account if I go on with this :)

dunin says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:08pm

nice atmosphere. Too bad it ends so early...

Dans17 says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:09am

Its a very simple game at the moment, but this opens up a variety of larger, post-compo games you could make with this basis.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:03am

This is pretty great! The graphics are awesome. The idea is sound, and it's got room for expansion. Now, if only if you could get rid of the lag that happens every five seconds or so...

Knighty says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:12am

Good graphics and audio. After all the button pressing was done, it felt like a space version of "Desert Bus".

codeapparat says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Incredible! Art and sound are perfect and create an amazing atmosphere. Playing it for the first time felt quite tense (in a good way), not knowing what to expect and so many controls to familiarize with.

Ozcr says ...
Jan 29, 2015 @ 7:57am

I really like the atmosphere of the game.

Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]