Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Debug Dungeon

by veloc1 - Compo Entry

You are single digger in dungeon. And you have bombs. Many bombs!

It is a simple game with touch control. For placing bombs, touch "Bomb" :)
Maded with LibGDX, GIMP, Ardour, Audacity, Hydrogen, Rakarrack, Jackd, SFXR and Eclipse.

Also, here just debug graphics because i'm not an artist ;c

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#482Innovation3.23
#600Audio2.63
#749Overall3.00
#822Humor2.06
#830Theme3.38
#882Mood2.55
#1065Graphics2.23

Comments

Florent says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:25am

Crash when I click on the Start button on a Motorola Moto G LTE running Android 4.4.4. :(

You really should consider putting a web or at least windows build.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:27am

Hey, intrigued but unfortunately I can't get it to run on my Nexus 5 with Android 5.0

Logo fades in and out, but when I press start, it quits.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:00am

Yup. Chrash on Pressed Start. Last version of android on Nexus 7. :'(

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:05am

Crashing for me as well.

veloc1 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Oh, my bad. Thanks for responses! Uploaded fixed version :)

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Neat line of sight effect. It was kinda hard to move and drop bombs at once, but the movement felt smooth and responsive.

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Very cool basic idea with lots of potential. Lure enemies and blow them up. I like that you've added physics to the movement of the main player, and the bomb really has a blast to it.

veloc1 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:58pm

@Justin Mullin @ohsqueezy Thanks!

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Good Work ^^

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:39am

I can't wait to play a bigger version with more enemies and graphics!

BretHudson says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:57am

Tried out the Windows build, was updating my Android to 5.0.1 as I found the game, so I don't think I'll be able to try it on that. I really enjoyed it on Windows, and hope an Android 5 build comes soon so I can try it on that as well. :D

CheeseyBob says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:04am

The windows version works fine for me :)
We're rating humor but not fun? :( I found it pretty fun...

Rothens says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:05am

Hey! This is very cool, nice job! :D

veloc1 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:15am

@BretHudson Thanks for testing on Windows! And Android 5 is working fine, you can try it;)

Teesquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:20am

I tried running on windows 8.1 and the game does not start. It doesn't show up in task manager either. Weird.

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:25am

Good idea, I wish it had more graphics :). Congratulations on finishing Ludum Dare.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:06am

Pretty fun, the music worked well and the sound effects did what they needed too. Controls where very floating but I suppose it added to the effect.

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:59am

Works well on Linux. Only one issue when I leave the map (I didn't intend to - I was pushed outside be the evil purple square!)
The idea and gameplay is nice. The purple squares tend to get stuck, and I was able to get pushed into the walls (had to place a bomb to get back out). Also, some effect when I loose a life would be nice - at first I didn't even realize those squares hurt me.
Still, the mechanic works very well and it's challenging. Well done!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:30pm

nice game..
more graphics would be better..

rantt says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Neat idea with the raycasting, helped give it that underground feel. Couldn't hear the sound on the mac so I couldn't rate on that, and it crashed on me in the 3rd level. Other than that I really enjoyed it, nicely done :)

Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Really nice mechanics in this one. Great job on the pathfinding and raycasting! :)

The game crashed when I died though. :/

You can run it on windows on the commandline with:
java -jar DebugDungeon.exe

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]