Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

My Weekend in Front of a Screen

by Morgawr - Compo Entry

This "game" is a Visual Novel / Graphical Story. It has no enemies to kill, no guns to shoot. It's just a story.

I wanted to take the chance to finish and finalize my own VN engine, similar to Ren'Py but targets the web. It's still incomplete but it can hold its own now and working on this made me realize things I can improve.

Regardless, please enjoy this story. I wanted it to be much longer and more self-referential. I will probably come back to it and add two additional endings, extra and not counted towards Ludum Dare rating of course. I had them planned since the beginning but apparently writing a script is much more tiring than I thought.

Feel free to leave feedback, report bugs and give opinions.

The game is best played on Chrome. Firefox works as well but there may be some UI issues with mouse clicks and font rendering that I am still trying to solve.

If you notice anything wrong, PLEASE report it.

Thank you!

ps: If anyone is curious about my engine and wants to see the syntax I used for my game's script, here it is: (GAME SPOILER ALERT) https://github.com/Morgawr/ld31/blob/master/src/cljs/game/script.cljs

It's still more complex than I wanted it to be, so I'll be working to make it even better in the future :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#271Humor2.97
#371Audio3.00
#459Mood3.03
#607Graphics3.00
#921Overall2.83
#930Innovation2.54
#1039Theme3.06
#1131Fun2.21

Comments

Democritus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:20pm

I like it. It's a bit slow with the pacing, there's a lot of straight text and very few options for me to pick. Also the main character seems to be a bit annoyed at everyone for no reason ;)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Pretty meta. Ludumception and such. Cool idea for a visual novel. Great work!

shubshub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:28pm

It wasn't really a game more of a comic book... But... it wasn't bad I guess

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Very good concept, I like TBA's

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:54pm

It's a lot of reading, but I like it :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Thanks but a little to much conversation for my taste, interesting concept!

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:14pm

lovely! it was a nice story from the beginning to the end, and a suspiciously familiar one too! :) it was a good break overall after all these arcade games!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Well, the game is certainly interesting. But I absolutely HATE the main character. He is way to anti-everything at the beginning so it's pretty hard to put up with him.

Of course, after that initial hardship, the game develops quite nicely. Simple, yet effective.

In time, I would like to see more choices and consequences. Do that, and you'll be on the right track towards making immersive RPGs.

Best of luck. Cheers :)

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Ludum Dare may not have a contest for writing novels, but that's not stopping you!

Olive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:14pm

This is too funny! I love how open-book it is and relatable. I think I saw a type within the first ten minutes of playing it, forgot what it was, and there seems to be a glitch when clicking on options. Other than that I didn't see anything wrong. I like how the words appear on the screen. It's retro and I feel I'm reading the text extra fast. I've been wanting to learn programs like this and Ren'Py but I decided to first test out the waters with Twine. Now you've given me some inspiration! Great work, great characterization, totally funny! I appreciate your hardwork.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I like this.


Story comments:

Self-referential humor always works for LD, and it's implemented great here.

Lots of things are kinda oversimplified, but given time constraints that's ok. The most unnatural thing was probably how everybody praised themselves in the end :)

Also, details like mentioning proprietariness and console irc client added a lot to story immersion for me.

Engine comments:

Keyboard controls (space to continue, at least) would be nice and not hard to add.

Rollback (at least in form of text-only backlog) and some basic settings would be nice too, but IMO the most important thing is skipping read possibility to check branches without additional troubles.

Played in Firefox, btw. Couldn't see the difference with Chromium.

// caryoscelus

Morgawr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26pm

@caryoscelus: Yes!
I agree 100% with you on everything, I had planned two extra branches of the story and extra features that I couldn't hack together in time for the competition. This is going to be a general purpose VN engine and I will definitely add everything you said, these problems irked me as well :)

I might expand on the missing branches of the story and give a bit more closure to everything when I can get around to it (polishing the engine more is my priority at the moment).

Thank you everybody for the great feedback and comments, I enjoy seeing people's opinions on the game, both positive and negative! :)

grid96 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:21am

I love that music. And it's a really cool story.

Trixton says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:27am

Reminds me of a TouYube series I watched called "Adventures in Game Development" but with Ludum Dare stuffs. Actually I quite enjoyed it, well played...

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Only one real choice which is a let down, but the art and music are nice.

kurismakku says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:47am

Usually I don't like visual novels, but this was interesting because it was connected with game jam.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I enjoyed the dialogue, good work.

panda says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Very slow, and having to click every time just so the text shows up at a reasonable pace gets old pretty fast. It feels like the story could have gotten to the same point much quicker. Very nice graphics, though!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Pretty cool, would have liked more options though

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]