Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

To Fight The Sea

by BretHudson - Jam Entry

Game by Bret Hudson (programming), Cameron Erickson (art), and Mike LeRoy (music).

A game that evolved from a Lost Woods puzzle action game to a wave-based atmospheric experience. As we progressed, our goal changed to trying to create the smoothest, fluid experience possible. Fight waves of enemies, followed by a boss battle, as a jellyfish that uses electricity to fight.

It is much easier to aim with a gamepad that has an analog stick or similar 360 degree axis.

Controls
----------------
WASD/Arrows to move
Z/X to attack
F to go fullscreen
M to mute (but you wouldn't want to do that, trust me!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#104Audio(Jam)3.71
#110Graphics(Jam)4.18
#199Mood(Jam)3.50
#511Theme(Jam)3.55
#514Overall(Jam)3.20
#708Innovation(Jam)2.73
#861Fun(Jam)2.53

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:49am

Visual experience, but it seems to me that we cannot call this a game. Wrong?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59am

it is a game, a simple one, and i like it :)

Schwiggy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Yeah, it's definitely a game. I liked the music change at the big frilly creature in the preview shot. It did kill my poor little squid though :( Amazing work though, I kinda imagine this as the type of game that could do well on XBox Live Arcade with more to it. (and, quite naturally, co-op :P)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Simple but interesting game! Nice graphics ! Well done!

Waterman7 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Crashes on startup for me :(

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Very good visuals and ambient but the gameplay is really frustrating. The enemies are erratic and it's very difficult to shoot them.

chadiik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Visually satisfying ;)

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Loved it. Ten out of ten out of ten.

Everything moves so well! I just wish the bullets were a little faster and bigger. Hitting stuff is a pain in the ass sometimes.

Chill jams.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:42pm

I really enjoyed the mood and ambiance ^^

Alendro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:03pm

loved the art style

kaa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Calming simple beautiful game. You should add more animals and smooth rotating animations to multiply effect

Anti says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:41pm

It was amazing. I would call it a really simple game. But still a great game.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Shooting mechanics may need some working on but the graphics and audio were really well made and the game overall is pretty solid. Also this works quite well with the arcade stick plugged into my pc.

kaa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Stop, I just understood that I can shoot! I am changing my mind and rerating the game))

sr101 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:23am

Mike here- (Music guy!) I just wanted to personally thank everyone for playing, this really was a fun project, thanks so much!

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:26am

Absolutely love the music :) Reminds me of a cross between Bonobo, Quantic and TM Juke, which is no bad thing

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Really nice game !

ilokimo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Crashes on my laptop, maybe some graphic card issue?

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Very good visuals and music - the only thing I'd suggest is a health bar (or at least some way of tracking how much health you have left)

NPException says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:16pm

The music was the best I heard in this LD so far! :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Looks amazing! Any chance for a mac port?

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Really pretty, but the game didn't catch me as well as some others. Maybe you should try Cycle: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=36629 It takes the same game concept, but makes it so much more fun.

So yeah, if you can pair the graphics with a game that's a little more fun to play, you got a real winner ;)

farwyler says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Crashes right after I start it. Too bad :(

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:33pm

nice mood

talecrafter says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Nice graphics, animations and effects.
Gameplay worked good, but some minor critique:
Delay between trigger and spawning the bullet was too long. Sometimes movement got not reset to 0.
The yellow bullets felt too big and inappropriate compared to the other graphics.

Harley77 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Incredibly beautiful. Very nice job!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Man, that music is awesome. We love the way it slow down all your body and how it carry you on into a druged dimension. The gameplay is a little bit slow for us and maybe with an animation that helps to rotate 180º in one movement would be better the game experience. Fantastic the multiples "enemies" and how each one interact diferent from another. Nice entry ;)

peeweek says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:46pm

A really nice visual and music trip, really relaxing. Game rules are stripped to the simplest expression, but really nicely executed.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Great ambient game, but a bit too frustrating to be a great shooter. Still, stunning visuals.

lonely2012

Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Beautiful graphics, music, and interesting to play. Congratulations! :)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Didn't feel the best having to hit the shoot button and then wait a second to shoot, but overall nice entry. Well done. :)

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Very cool graphics, and the music adds to the under-the-sea mood. The controls are a bit awkward and I'd wish for better audio-visual feedback when I hit enemies, but for the short amount of time, well done. There's potential in expanding this!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:45pm

The production value is spectacular. But the game feel isn't quite there yet. I'd like to aim very quickly, I can't tell how much health I have, and it's difficult to tell if I hit the enemy or not. The trap feels ineffective as well.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 11:44pm

looks beautiful and relawing but the shooting part is frustrating

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]