Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pengie

by GeorgeBroussard - Compo Entry

Tempers flare in an overcrowded penguin colony.

=== Controls ===
LEFT/RIGHT - Move
SPACE/UP - Jump

=== Goal ===
Survive as long as possible. Score as many points a possible.

=== Gameplay ===

Jump up to bump platforms. Objects above will be collected. Enemies will be stunned. Once stunned an enemy can be kicked off a level by walking into them. The Hulk enemies cannot be stunned but they are a good source of points as you hit them from below. Collect coins and avoid poo, or bump it from below to destroy it.

NOTE: You may need a non-Chrome browser (thanks Unity!). OSX/PC/Linux builds may come later. Let me know if there is demand.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Graphics4.11
#95Fun3.72
#109Humor3.42
#146Overall3.68
#297Theme3.81
#408Audio2.95
#411Mood3.09
#935Innovation2.53
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

zanenga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:09am

I really like the graphics and sound! Reminded me of oldschool mario and for that reason I missed jumping on top of enemies, haha. Great game!

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Audio definitely reminded me of my old school Mario days. Graphics and colors were nice, and gameplay was quite fun.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Great visuals and it controls very well. I especially like the penguin character models and the different enemy types. Great take on a Super Mario Bros. style game.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Loved the controls, animations and gameplay! Feels very polished. It gets hard fast enough to not feel repetitive. Some background music would have added a lot to the atmosphere. Very cool entry!

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I love the graphics ! Penguins are so cute ^^
Really fun to play.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:26pm

excellent graphical look, very consistent sound design. very polished.

LMT says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Really cool game - loving the graphics. I kinda feel like a bit more depth could've been added to it (Maybe that's just me.)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Remind of an old mario - those fun days. Made me smile. Good Job!

recursor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:51pm

My only critique is gimmie more lives, say 3, and I will be happy. Other than that this plays really nicely.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Thanks, this was great fun!!!!

khahem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Very fun and good mechanics. Penguins are really cute too :)

zakchaos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01am

(I had no problems running it in chrome)

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

Awesome old school style game is a slightly 3D look. Loved it!

Solid game play with an addictive element hidden within it. I'd die and instantly restart to try and beat my last score.

I can't say I missed not having music, sure it may have added to the experience but the game is good enough to stand on its own without it.

All in all its a good entry. Well done George!

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:28am

One of the best graphically I've seen. Loved the turn-around you made for the walking animations, it feels really nice. Very difficult though :P

All hail voxels :P

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:22am

Loved the art, especially the pooping animations! Gameplay is exactly Mario Bros so no innovation points but otherwise great job =D

dsilvers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03pm

There's always room for penguins. :D
This is very well done! The walking animations are adorable and a great workaround to not spend time rigging. Some music and snow particle effects would go a long way to adding a bit more atmosphere. Also some way to eventually bring down hulks, even if I have to smash them (get it?) 3 or 4 times to do so. I think kicking a hulk and watching them bounce around like a pinball would have been awesome.

Ekanaut says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I love the art and controls are fantastic too. Well done!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25pm

@dsilvers - yup, good comments. I struggled with implementation and ran out of design tweak time. Having a small health bar on a Hulk and requiring 3-4 jumps would be ideal. Same for particles etc. Thanks for the feedback. All legit.

MrLeePerry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Love the idea of multi-hitting health bar the hulks, that'd make for a great variant. Love the feedback of screenshakes and such. Super fun.

gmaker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Greatly animated and works very smoothly! I loved it all but i can't find a safe way to play more than one min. =) Good job!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Why is my penguin so mad at the other penguins? Am I a psychopath penguin or did they kill my brother?

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:55am

Fun game! I scored 3750, but it took me a good 10 tries! - good feel, ice walking, fun game. the penguin poop was ridiculous! hah.

Taldius says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:31am

Awesome graphics, even is the game is kind of a ripoff of the first Mario game xD

triplefox says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:33am

It seems like I'm playing the villain in this game.

slarrimer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:44am

Nice game! Great mix of old school gameplay and 3D graphics.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:14am

Nice classic Mario Bros-inspired fun. The goofy 3D penguins really make it. I was able to make it to 1450 before calling it quits.

Thought I spotted an animation bug, but no, it was just gas. :P

(BTW, the fact that your screenshots line up perfectly makes me smile)

flyingbear says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:42am

This game made me realize I most definitely need more voxel penguins in my life (I love the look of those little guys!)

Mase says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:35pm

The poo-ing animation is spot on.
The difficulty seems nicely balanced. I scored 8350.
Could use some further twist to differentiate it from a certain existing game.

Mase says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:40pm

btw It seems that the poos disappear on their own after a little while but can still kill the player... after they are invisible.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:17pm

@Mase - The poo was still deadly even when it was tweening out of existence. Tossed in a 1-liner to fix it, even though it's pretty rare.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Like the graphics! Really fun and addictive ! Well done

sputnik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Great voxel pinguin

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:27am

Nice game, very satisfying game play. Well done.

sirival says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:28am

The controls feel very satisfying and the graphics are cool :) Well done

Norgg says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Whee penguins, and the graphics are really polished and super cute! The movement felt on the floaty side to me though, which kind of makes sense with it being on ice but was a bit frustrating when trying to be precise.

drludos says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:28am

A cool take on Mario Bros (pun intended), with very cute Penguins, congrats! :)

Warboys says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:54am

Once I figured out you could run off one side and appear on the other, I finally got it! Nice game. A little like a Mario combined with Super Crate Box. Satisfying feeling bump mechanic and fun challenging gameplay :) Nice one!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:57am

Web and Standalone version failed me. Just a blue screen. OS: Windows for your info

allurious says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:30pm

The voxel style was really lovely - curious what program you used to make them! Neat little platformer, well done. :)

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Although not a big fan of the Mario game similar to this one, I love penguins! And your graphics are great!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I like the global mood of the game, I think it is discreete but effective. I like the bumping mechanics but I feel that your level design choice are too "standard" to fit with this specific mechanic. It feels more like an experiment than a game (but that's cool too !)

Krisjet says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:30am

Fun little action game! A little bit too similar to Mario Bros maybe, but fun and good looking entry!

voxel says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:23am

Great work! Poops were an inspired touch. Fun graphics and solid gameplay, hitboxes weren't very forgiving (perhaps it's the perspective?)

Also web version worked fine for me in chrome

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:40am

Hahaha Great ! very smooth game, + there is deadly poo in it... Add strippers and piggy LARD cops and it will be perfect :] piece of cake.

qristofer says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:28am

Cute pingus! Lethal poop was the only "innovation" I could find really, but since it's shiny and fun to play I don't mind.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:42am

really nice super mario like game - awesome graphics - nice job

rmc says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Oh this kind of game bring so many good memories with my snes playing Super Mario!

Nice Interpretation of the theme, and love the graphics

bogdan.tana says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Really, really fun game :D Although pretty difficult, I think it feels just right for this kind of gameplay (thinking of Super Crate Box, Muffin Knight, etc).

Also, I find it really cool that you've integrated twitter for score sharing, it's something definitely worth doing for this type of games. Could get really competitive/viral. Congrats!

ruerob says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:54am

Very well made game. I like the cute penguins. Fun to play my best score so far is 9400 points. But I think I could do it much better.

radmars says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:26am

Nice! The animations are great and the screenshake makes the game just feel good to play. The gameplay is pretty fun and compelling though not being able to jump on their heads is kind of annoying since that's so expected. Solid game, great work!

zompi says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Well, looks awfully familiar. The original Mario in the penguin suit. But the graphics are really nice and it's kinda addictive.

codeapparat says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 9:39am

Amazing compo entry! Challenging and fun gameplay, cute models and animations, game events give good feedback. Title screen, instructions and score tweet option give an additional polished feel to the game. The sound is minimalist, but does the job. The game is not exceedingly innovative, but totally hits the retro-feeling. The theme as a condition is met, but the game does not go beyond by doing something special or gameplay-defining with it. I feel like there isn't much room to expand it further, but it does stand well enough on it's own as a fun mini game. Overall pretty impressive work for the 48-hour compo.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:40pm

I found it a bit hard to navigate the level (especially to jump on a plateform). My only concern to this (otherwise great) game would be that the controls are a bit hindering gameplay

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]