Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snow Cave

by Cactose - Compo Entry

Oh no! You're trapped in a cave with a bunch of murderous snowmen. Whatever shall you do?

Controls:
Z - throws held item
X - jump
Arrow keys - movement

To set up, just extract and run Snow Cave.jar.

-

Made with the Ijen framework: http://sta.sh/021hc1uhlady

One edit was made to Ijen during the compo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#498Audio2.82
#776Graphics2.75
#777Mood2.67
#916Fun2.67
#947Theme3.25
#983Overall2.75
#1002Innovation2.42
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16am

Fun, little game, but the jumping looks very unatural.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24am

This game is OK - it's just kind of frustrating. I really like the music.

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53am

On Mac OSX getting the error "Snow Cave.jar cannot be run."

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Nice job! I love the programmer art! XD

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:44am

I dig the visual style

bitapps says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:45am

remmenbers me a 8 bit NES mario, nice work

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Good Work ^^

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice one :)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:30pm

A fun entry, got stuck in a corner a couple times and jumping was a little weird.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Fun game, well done ;)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Liked:
- Intro and "You Lost" screens. They looked very clean with great font and colour pallet choices.
- The music. It was very nice, and added good mood to the game.
- The timed danger. It was cool that both snowmen and shovels could become deadly, and it made the game tense by forcing you to act quickly.

Disliked
- The controls. The jumping felt very unnatural (went up too quickly, and floated down too slowly. A good way to make jumps seem better is to add a "force of gravity", so that the character accelerates downwards when in the air, like in real life) and the control scheme (using z and x along with keyboard) felt strange.
- The in game graphics. The art seemed smaller than the hitboxes. This made it hard to know what would count as a collision and what wouldn't. In general it's better to have hitboxes the same size or a bit smaller than the art.
- The platform height. Along with the strange jumping mechanic, having platforms that were just barely low enough to jump onto (from below) made getting around more difficult than it should been

There were also few other oddities, like sprites being able to go off screen, and flying snowmen getting stuck in platforms where they were un-hittable. Overall, I think this has the potential to be a much more fun game, but it was a bit too buggy and unpolished for me to properly enjoy.

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:45pm

I can't even open it up... I allowed it to open as a game but still no.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Fun simple game. The jumping feels a bit strange.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Really nice game. :)
Sometimes it feels like the shovels didn't spawn as much as they should though? Also the jumping mechanic is sort of odd. q;

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]