Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

GhostRing

by Robotic - Jam Entry

The road. 6 cars. Friendships.

One-button game where you have to hold your key to turn.


Made by Flex Roman (Art) Lucie Viatgé (Art & Sound) Tom Victor (Programming) NAWKSH (Music)

Follow us maybe ? @RoboticMachine @LucieViatge @FlexRoman @nawksh

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#27Graphics(Jam)4.55
#33Audio(Jam)4.04
#47Innovation(Jam)4.01
#50Fun(Jam)3.87
#51Overall(Jam)3.95
#52Mood(Jam)3.91
#66Humor(Jam)3.79
#68Theme(Jam)4.16

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:13am

Ran smoothly, gameplay was hectic, couldn't figure out how to exit the game. liked the oval shape of screen

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:41am

Great feeling!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

Really fun, really silly game. I enjoyed this one

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17am

The Graphics are really nice. Somehow failed to control the game though (een in win version).

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:30am

My favourite game so far - I love local multiplayer and this game/concept is so simple but so fuckin' cool. I absolutely love the easy accessibility curve, the graphics and the sound. Great job guys!

Daveloper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:48am

Just grabbed a few coworkers to play this, great hectic fun when you've got a few friends to play with this.

Sounds effects and visuals help with the experience of crashing into each other and exploding.

Great fun!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Great artwork. It's running really good. Simple but fun gameplay. PartyGame ^^

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Nice graphics and great use of the theme :)

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Wow, this is by far the most amazing game entry...EVER...for now! Love it. Great job! :D ★★★★★

Pankoman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Really cool stuff guys ! had a lot of fun ! Keep up the good work :)

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00pm

So awesome. I played many games with shared keyboard, but there were minimum 2 keys per person. It can evolve to a game for a big party ;-)

Threef says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57pm

That's really fun!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Hahaha, this is so much fun, we really enjoyed it!!

NeithR says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59pm

What a party! Also nice concept using the keyboard input :D.

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:12am

Haha, loved this concept, you managed to almost destroy my keyboard for too much key hitting!

elvaq says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:15am

Really couldn't figure out the gameplay but I didn't really care! Gorgeous art & presentation, nice theme

onilink_ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:46am

Great game guys, very good atmosphere :D

rubna says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:50pm

hahaha amazing! very innovative gameplay, limiting the control scheme to let more people play at once! Loved the colours and the day/night cycle. Very hectic, fun game. great job!

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:42am

I can't stop laughing when I spammed all the keys on my keyboard repeatedly...

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:50am

This game is amzing, couldn't play it with anyone though :(, but even so it was fun

Bensonance says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:06am

This is utterly spectacular. Beautiful graphics, wonderful audio design and fun gameplay.

That said, I think the controls - at least while you're walking to the car are a bit clunky.

Please add more to this and make it a full game! :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:20am

yei, keyboard mashup and bloody massacre

indie4fun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Well, it was difficult to play, but really fun overall. I love the graphics A LOT. The fun really comes from the music and the visual style, mixed with that crazy and -at least for me- random gameplay. So congrats if that was your intention! :)
I love how the characters appear, I couldn't help but push every single key on my keyboard just to see all those little guys jumping from the trees haha

Finlal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Really fun game :D

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Full marks. This was a total joy. Even alone I had a great time. I can only imagine the hilarity with six friends. Wow.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:40pm

I really like the audio and graphics.
Short and fun game with explosions :)

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Great graphics, and nice game overall good job!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:13am

I wasn't able to launch the mac version of the game, I would double click the app and it would expand but nothing would happen.

Then I played the web version and it was amazing. Loved how multiplayer worked on one keyboard and could include so many people. The sound and art really carried the experience.

Robotic says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:25am

Oh sorry, that was my first time building a Mac version and I don't own one to try it. Glad you enjoyed the web version !

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Nice game, creative way to multiplayer while also allowing one player experience. A bit chaotic gameplay but its part of the charm. Overall good job.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Great game ! Nice graphims music and gameplay ! Great overall !
I play alone but i'm sure it's great too with many friends.
Ps : The windows link doesnt work from here.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:18pm

so... what am I supposed to do? I pressed all the buttons and Z won? then I did the same thing next time and nothing happed, except a bunch of explosions here and there

wilbefast says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Hehe :)

Great stuff! Kudos on the one-button game + "keyboard twister cluster f**k" :P I also really like the day-night cycle, good way of adding some visual and audio variety to a single-screen game.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I featured your game at GameARTMonday: http://buff.ly/1qT3S6k
along with other beautiful Ludum Dare games.

Cheers! :)

Mechamew says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:34pm

What did I just play?!?

Firstly, incredible art. Came here based on your feature in the Tiny Worlds art post. Of all the gret looking stuff they posted, your's was the one game I had to play!

Not disappointed I came through, though very surprised! Was not expecting the game to take the turn of events it did. Still not sure what even happened, but I know it was crazy and I know I like crazy.

Great job!

Poupi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Very nice graphics !

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:33am

That was very trippy and kind of delightful. Loved the day/night transition and the ghost cars.

sputnik says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Awesome arts!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:09pm

lol chaotic game, but yeha it was cool :)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:09pm

This is awesome. I can't wait to test it with friends.

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

A little insane, very pretty, nice sound!

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:51am

Lovely art, not just the actual art but the way its framed as well. Chaotic, fun sounds, nice day / night cycle, just very fun and cool!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]