Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Memories of Seasons

by ncannasse - Compo Entry

Memories of Seasons is a story about loss, love, loneliness and growing up. In no particular order.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.56
Coolness71%
#13Overall4.16
#37Audio3.93
#45Theme4.32
#83Graphics4.00
#289Innovation3.52
#354Humor2.80
#363Fun3.30

Comments

Erhune says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53am

Awesome work, Nicolas! I'm really impressed that you managed to put together this intricate story in such a short time! And what a mood! :*

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:55am

As always you did an amazing job. Atmosphere is great, music is fantastic, art is amazing. Just an awesome game.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:38am

The timeline principle works pretty well as a storyteller.
The gameplay is maybe too deterministic to be fun, but it makes a real sense as a reinforcement of the weight of destiny in the story.
Definitely some strong Kube's atmosphere in the different landscapes, it brings back some sweet memories.
I enjoyed the music, especially the first one.

01101101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:53am

Impressive work putting together a whole story and multiple versions of the world! Story games are not really my cup of tea though, and this one is a bit depressing, so I didn't get too far.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:58pm

It's beautifull, but I dit not manage to reach the end

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Awesome work mate! Graphics are over the top, music is nice, and everything else is pretty awesome too. Very sad tho ^^

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:59pm

The start of the game is so slow. =/
the music fits the mood. nice =)

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:01pm

What a wonderful world you created! Fun to see a game that really focuses on a continuous story, and for having the entire game on one screen you really did a great job making it interesting. Awesome!

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Really liked it. Though I didn't finish it due to it being too long (how is that even possible for a jam game?).

Ithildin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Lovely, beautifully made.
I enjoyed the way in which you reconstruct the story, which left me a bit melancholic at the end.

Brilliant work! :)

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:08pm

oh, so hude amount of work! Amazing story game. I have seen you dev. posts, it's very cool ;]

liamtwose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Really love the whole style of the game, was a little confusing having to press space to continue the dialogue. Great job.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Interesting way to tell a story, which is very well portrayed and written. I could imagine playing a fully fledged game of this with a little more polish. The pixel art is cool but a bit oversaturated and too much contrast for the story. The changing seasons is a cool concept and the theme was very well implemented.

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Very moody, music loop was crackling a bit. Longest play I've given a game so far here.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:15pm

That was so freaking amazing! Everything went together nicely to make a really enjoyable experience. I just wonder how you through that together in 48 hours lol.

Mossy Frog says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:21pm

This was incredible, I cant believe you managed to create such an in-depth story in such a short space of time. This reminded me a lot of To the Moon. Absolutely fantastic entry. 5 Stars! Also, i have to know, did anything happen if you get to the snowman at the end?

Stechas says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Amazing job creating such atmospheric story in just two days. I really like the idea of parallel world.

lekochen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Amazing work, but I feel a little bit sad :(

Namide says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:32pm

A complete little game.
Good harmony between graphic design, music and seasons.
Impressive work!

ncannasse says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Thanks to all the nice comments so far :)
@Absor : the music soft i used couldn't export so I had to record+recut by hand with Audacity
@MossyFrog : I actually played ToTheMoon last week so yes it was one of the inspiration.

I really struggled to comeup with ideas this time, tried many different things (I even had a prototype for "All GAMES in one screen" with a shooter, a platformer and an arena fighter all playing together). But none of them worked out well.

I decided on Sunday to switch to story driven content so it was hard to put all of this together in just one day. Quite happy with the result and that you like it.

Try to get to the end, it's not very long and there's no save :)

Silii says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Awesome, same as always, good job :)

OFF says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Simple but really nice, the RPG style is great and the weather system is really incredible for this kind of graphics.
I'm less fan of the story, but it's the difficulty with the game jam, it's hard to enter into a story, specially when she is not linear.

Still a really great game on one screen!

And by the way i love the title of the game.

TheNiki says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Very good game. I love the music and the whole game principle is really nice. Great work!

TKF15H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Fun little RPG, though the music looping gets a bit annoying after a while.

cutandreil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Great game!
Even if I haven't understand the ending ^^.

RevoluGame says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Nice game, even if the story is sad ... :) great job

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:05pm

This was really beautiful, I loved when I reallized what was happening. I wish the ending wouldn't have been so abrupt, but I guess that's why endings are so damn hard to make right.

Great work though, congratulations, really amazing mood.

Xaychru says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Impressive mood, I really liked the season transitions! The reversed timeline was a bit weird at first but turned out to be quite interesting. Also, I finished the game but I didn't have the heart, I don't know if this is intentional or if there's a way to get it. Anyway I enjoyed the story and will probably give it another try to get the last item. :)

elliottd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28pm

nice work

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Great work, I play until the end and it was pretty cool even if I don't get it all ;)
Nice mood.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Wow, loved the atmosphere

syawqy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:29am

I like when the season change

Valandre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:57am

Five stars mood, and atmospheric story. Music fit very well

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Sorry but I have no idea how to control the game (mac osx, firefox)

ncannasse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:53pm

@BananasInMyEars : click once to get focus, then WASD/Keys and SPACE/E for action

Thommy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Right in the feels!

Kep says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:15am

The story telling is nothing short of brilliant.
Great mood! (5/5)
Simply delightful, well done.

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:01am

That was absolutely fantastic! The graphics were great, the music and sound effects fit and the atmosphere and mood was so good! You nailed the theme, and built such a great story around these characters in a strange and thought provoking way. I loved this a lot! Outstanding!

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:20pm

The mood of the game is really good, I just had to walk around the island a few times. The music totally finishes the game! :)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Very beautiful. I love these kind of games. Fantastic work!!
I was almost at the end.

tMalicet says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Every game you make is so inspiring and innovative ...

Mase says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Floating islands are always nice. Very nostalgic. Good low-res art & sound.

The ending seemed abrupt... I wonder if there is a "good" ending..

I often accidentally triggered speeches repeatedly, as I pushed the button to skip/end the text.

It's linear... I mean, maybe I didn't want to be that kid's friend but it was the only way to advance.

runvs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:24pm

What a great game! I like the way you tell your story so much. Music has some real Final Fantasy quality and thoug it is a simple tune it is just so remarkable and just beatiful!
The graphical style follows this direction.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I like stories, including sad ones. You managed to blend the different parts of the puzzle so we can figure out the whole story even if we don't have the pieces in the chronological order. As always, a good entry from you, I can't wait the next LD ! :P

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:02am

Very nice, the mood is great! Simple but deep rpg :)

onilink_ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Nice game. It makes me remember the zelda with seasons on gameboy. Great feelings.

eolhing says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Fantastic mood ! I love how time loops with the seasons :)

alvarop says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Cool stuff dude!

InToGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Very charming. Falling out of the world (using the teleporter to the rightmost section after acquiring the bones) brought my game to an end, unfortunately. Love the presentation and the choice to do this kind of project.

Managore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:32am

Wow. The story and the way it all connects and plays out is mind blowing! Absolutely loved this game.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:18am

Great mood, beautiful history. I have some doubts about real time sequence and persons (was the fisher player's son) and so on. Also, one who does not like dogs it's not a good person =)

Amazing game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:49am

really impressive - i want to come back and finish it - top notch

flyingbear says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:15am

That was wonderful, thanks for making it. If you told me so few pixels could move me this much I wouldn't have believed you. The music really enhances the mood, and going through the seasons is such a nice way to time-travel while keeping to the one-screen theme.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Nice entry! Awesome music and i love the minimalist pixel art, also the story is interesting. The only negative thing imvho is that the pacing was a little slow, for my taste at least. But as always, very good job, congrats! :D

wooltech says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:49am

Had me hooked, played to the end. Great game.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Good use of the seasons !
I was expecting a less linear walktrought thought.
It reminds me of your precedent game adventure of noland.

Pixel-boy says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Cool little world and story, the game reminded me the trading sequence of Link's Awakening, graphics and music make a really pleasant ambience, nice work for 48Hrs :)

Wiering says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:34am

Amazing work! Interesting to read your source code, nice use of callback functions.

spotco says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:19am

Got pretty close to the end (2 more icons to collect?), but got stuck. Some noticeable grammar errors, and thought the second theme (the one that starts playing after you're asked to get a house) was a bit on the annoying side.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Beautiful music! Wonderful mood.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:55am

It was a nice story. I especially like the gfx+sfx on the ending. By the way summers seems pretty harsh on this island :)

anissen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Fantastic mood and great to see a game daring to bring up some unusual (and serious) topics.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:38pm

WOW. insane game. REALLY cool good job getting all the puzzles worked out, the ui, the text etc.

Jan 18, 2015 @ 4:57am

This really messes with your mind, the way causality has fallen apart.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]