Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Beautiful Yoga Explosion

by nosfer - Compo Entry

!!!UPDATE1!!! - I've completed post compo version of my game please check it out also!
-------------
Underground 2 player duel with guns and rocket launchers with one looped procedurally generated area.

Player 1 default controls:
Arrows + Right Ctrl (jetpack) and Right Shift (fire)

Player 2 default controls:
WSAD + 1 (jetpack) and 2 (fire)

ESC - restart, generate new level

You can change controls while starting game on Input Tab (joystick entries for Horizontal/Vertical movement are on the end of the Input list)

What's missing:
players avatars, sounds, more weapons etc., title screen

What's there:
Procedurally generated and destructable terrain that is also reconstructing itself from particles :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#404Theme3.71
#456Graphics3.24
#619Innovation3.05
#668Audio2.51
#711Overall3.05
#760Humor2.20
#814Mood2.63
#855Fun2.76

Comments

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Destructible terrain! How awesome is that? Nice multiplayer game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I didn't have a secound player to try it out with but I could be a fun 2-player game. It was a little to hard to see the map walls but maybe its be course of my screen brightness. Does the jet-pack cool off? More area required but it have potential!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32pm

wish i had another player :( would like online multiplayer. controls were a little hard. love the destructible terrain! not bad!

LabOne says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:38pm

There are lags if shooting.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:41pm

The destructible terrain was so cool! Excellent use of the theme, keeping everything on one screen but making the level alterable so it doesn't get boring. I found moving and aiming at the same time was really hard though.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Technically a very well made game, but the controls are weird & you can't shoot rock that you're standing on/against.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:11pm

It's actually quite an impressive game. Destructible terrain, explosions, Jetpack !! Great job.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:41pm

The terrain dynamic is really cool. Too bad it hurts performance so much.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:19pm

I just wanted to let you know I left the game running on accident when I went to work and it looked like this when I got back. CRATES EVERYWHERE!: http://i.imgur.com/auuHL9L.png

nosfer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Thank you all for your comments and playing my game, Please be patient and watch out because I'm making post compo version with optimizations, more weapons and avatars! :)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Awesome innovative game! I really like the concept! Well done

Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:17pm

That's some pretty neat terrain you got there! Controls aren't great which makes it a little frustrating, I never really took up speed as I always got stuck in some wall and was hardly able to move around efficiently.. apart from that however, it seems very solid and could surely be fun if I had somebody to play it with.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Well done!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:46pm

I think that for a two player on one keyboard setup these controls worked quite well, but I would have wanted the aiming to be quicker. Perhaps you can be inspired by the 2D Metroid games and just have vertical, horizontal and diagonal aiming. I guess it's easy to start thinking about smaller things when the game looks so good otherwise. Great work! :)

apiotrw says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:55pm

nice idea for the graphics. sad that you couldn´t make more assets in this clay style

Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Couldn't really play it properly due to not having a second player but the idea is really cool. The dynamic terrain is well done, if a bit heavy on the framerate at times. Seems to be quite fun to play, the jetpack and guns being quite satisfying to use.

schnerble says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:50am

Nice work! The destructible terrain is interesting, though easy to end up with giant gaps, and there were a few respawns into the ground. Graphics are nice though (even with sphere players!) and sound effects work well. Good job!

ceosol says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:46pm

I didn't play the post-comp, yet, but I think this has a nice open concept to develop further. It might be beneficial when distributing the game to write up some AI for a single player version. You already have a solid foundation of mechanics, but very few people can get two people on one keyboard to play. I know you wanted avatars, but I think the balls in the curved terrain kind of makes sense :)

Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Whoa, nice to see another same-screen multiplayer game :D I love the movement, nice and smooth!

Valeour says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Very nice terrain, plus destruction. Was laggy at times. Controls for WASD player was irritating. Wish I had someone else to play with!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Facing bad performance here as well. Could be more fun, but the unwieldy compo version's controls makes it hard to enjoy.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Interesting game. I Included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/onSxxkN9CmE

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]