Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Rainbow Maze

by FrozenCow - Compo Entry

This is a fast-paced exploration-like game (or however you'd like to play it). The world is a maze. Everything in the game is always shown on screen (including manual and history). You need to get to the end of the maze, but since the world is big, you will use a magnifier to see yourself and your surroundings.

** Chrome is highly recommended **
(Firefox doesn't render text efficiently, still need to optimize this somehow)

Controls:
* Mouse to control magnifier
** Drag to move magnifier
** Scroll to zoom
** Drag + scroll to resize magnifier
** Drag map to focus magnifier on part of maze
* WASD/Arrows to move
* Space/X to jump
* R to reset to nearest checkpoint
* Drag + R to reset to focused checkpoint

No worries, you can always look at the tutorial, since that is shown at any time.


EDIT:
Thanks for all the great feedback (in advance). I spend a long time on level/maze generation. It should be always solvable, since there is one way from beginning to end. Shortcuts from this path can be quicker, but can be dead ends.

I wasn't happy with the game until very late in the jam. Once the rainbow coloring was added it felt wayy better even though the controls weren't what I wanted them to be yet.

I hope to improve it by:
* Smoothing out the controls. Wall jumping isn't satisfying and sometimes you jump sideways when you're standing against a wall. I'd also like the ball to be driven by realistic physics so that the controls feel more like Nightsky.
* Adding better sound for the ball.
* Adding chill DnB music (I think this is fitting)
* Making the maze easier by putting the checkpoints on the 'main path'.
* Making the maze more interesting by:
** Adding spikes/sawblades. This should make the magnifier more useful.
** Having random elements in each room, so the rooms aren't as repeated as they are now.
** Some pebble at dead-ends to go quickly back to where you were, leaving some kind of fireworks behind.
* Some way to keep the magnifier out of your way.
* Do something about the tutorial. I could probably leave out most of the magnifier controls if the magnifier automatically moves and has decent starting values (zoom-level, size, etc).

Anyway, all of your feedback is greatly appreciated. Let me know what you think!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#11Theme4.56
#63Overall3.85
#72Innovation4.01
#238Mood3.31
#273Fun3.40
#316Graphics3.49
#613Humor2.41
#770Audio2.31

Comments

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16am

Very cool! Really nice interpretation of the theme.

Sos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29am

Wow! Is that procedurally generated?

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:15am

Proper respect to procedurally generated map and the beauty of rainbow.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:00am

Whoah, this is huge ! Great game concept, fits the theme perfectly !

RevoluGame says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:55am

Nice concept !

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Best trickjump goes to @obskyr for this amazing quintuple backflip: http://obskyr.io/filer/ronebowmooz.gif

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:00pm

beautiful game, Well done

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Wonderful game! I liked it!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:16pm

It lookes great! The game has vary nice functionality and graphic.

Norgg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Aaaaa, so big! Really nice use of the theme.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Really nice use of the theme, the controls were funky in my opinion, but still fun

gana0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30am

Very nice concept. I'll admit I didn't make it all the way to the end though :( Very cool interpretation of the theme though!

Lissar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

Wow! This was pretty great. I love how you've used the theme here. I really want to see something more complex use this same concept.

VictorL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:07am

Very smart design!

mortus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Great concept and beautiful execution! I love that smart and simple minimap implementation.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Great idea !

Rothens says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Cool!

DaniDK says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Awesome game, Really like the new mechanic

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:20pm

This entry is just aMAZing with his procedural generation and enlarged map. I like the final result when the circle have done the entire way in order to reach the exit. The colors on black screen are beautiful. It's a really good entry - one of my favorites. Well done. Bravo and THX ++

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:09am

The magnifier mechanic was interesting, but it was too cumbersome to use, and I ended up beating the game just looking at the map and moving the magnifier off into the corner. There is an impressive amount of space to explore, and it would have been nice to have a reason to go see it. Something as simple as coins for points would have added a reason to go exploring. It was a good take on the maze game idea, and the graphics were really nice, it just didn't have a whole lot going on as far as gameplay.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:08am

Very slick idea, controls where a bit unresponsive on my computer but I think that's just mine. Overall a very pleasant, colourful experience.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:11am

Blimmin fantastic game!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:14am

Crazy awesome game! Amazing what you can fit into one screen!

flatgub says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:17am

Awesome interpretation, but i'll never get to the end because i'm terrible at mazes...
Well done, Very well done!

cabezotta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:19am

So great! awesome work!

AGausmann says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:33am

This was a very fun game to play! I loved all of the different visual appeals this game has, such as the "exploration effect" on the map in the background. Overall, this is an amazing game!

Simon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:14am

This is so clever! Great use of the theme and very awesome game!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:02am

The presentation is awesome and the game looks great. But in the end I felt like I was just walking around a maze, no real challenge.

NuSan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Good concept, i like the colors on the path. I'm glad I got to the start !

The Jahn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nifty, but could use a bit more variations in the level pieces for something so massive.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Really awesome game. Love the use of the theme, the map, everything!!! Well done!!!

mahu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:33pm

What a great game!!!

LMT says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Really awesome interpretation of the theme

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Amazing Entry!!

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Pretty nice.

Mase says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:25pm

The platforming is a pretty bland but using the magnifier is very interesting and unusual. Excellent maze game... could just use something to make the jumping bits more engaging. Perhaps some little props or decorations in the zoomed in view would make it look more lovely as well.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Love the idea of this, too bad I dont have a mouse wheel. I Included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Sw1gBeS2zkc

Tortoise says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Really cool concept. The trail path is neat and the (I'm guessing this is procedural generated) maze generation is nice. The camera zoom and controls are cool. I had to stop a quarter way through because the size is overwhelmingly large. It'd be cool to have different size options for the maze.

doitle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:19pm

This is incredible. The magnitude of the map by itself is impressive given the time constraints. The movement of the... dot? is very tight and not at all frustrating. You approached the "limitation" of one screen in an extremely innovative way. The rainbow trail is such a nice aesthetic addition to the map in addition to a useful tool so the player is aware of backtracking. Even though the maze looked imposing I solved it with relative ease and had fun doing so. It lasted just long enough. The ending as well was great fun with the colours filling out all the paths of the maze. After you beat the game, you can keep jumping into the end star and it will continuously launch new colour waves through the maze. Great job.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:33am

Amazing way to use the theme. It's a very unique idea, don't think I've ever really seen anything like it. My main problem with it is it's a huge maze and probably takes a little while to get through it(didn't make it very far if you couldn't tell). I felt like music and maybe more audio elements might have kept me interested. But I felt like I was lost in the dark and started feeling scared and alone and just wanted to go home to my puppy. It might be fun to have smaller mazes that are connected here so you feel like you are accomplishing something rather than jumping around getting stuck and hoping for the best. Felt overwhelming to me but the use of the theme and the magnifying glass element made up for it. Very good entry!

gre says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:02am

Pretty cool and original concept.
I think the take on the theme is pretty solid.
The map is pretty big so that's a great work on the level design.
Graphics are ok, I like the rainbow style in the map. The gameplay probably deserve some more juice to be fully enjoyable (you know effects, shaking, stuff like that :-D).


I have found the game mechanisms not very finished and I will try to detail why in the following feedbacks.

I think when you introduce a game mechanism you should think more about what to do with it, to me it seems there is too much game mechanisms that are not enough essential to the game (by essential, I also mean as part of the game challenge):

- I'm not sure if the mousewheel is useful at all, better leave it unzoom? Maybe you could have scale the size of the circle too so that it encourages you to scale down to see the map (but you see less of your sight).

- Something should prevent me to not just play with the map. Right now, a way to play your game is to just forget about the magnifying glass and just look at the map. Maybe dragging the magnifying glass needs to be more essential in the game.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:39am

Absolutely lovely. The rainbow trail on the full screen creates a beautiful and impressive image. My only suggestions would be to try to make the magnification controls a little more streamlined, and add a little inertia when the ball hits the ground instead of stopping it from moving immediately. Truly amazing work, congratulations!

barryrowe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:53am

This is one of the best games I've played. The magnifying glass is a great use of the theme, and a real challenge. That level is HUGE! And that rainbow trail just sets off the visuals so well. Nice nice work.

Kitch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Brilliant take on the theme. Really liked all the zoom options. Good work! Thanks!

AlbertoSM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:43pm

While the game could use some music, its a really nice idea. Plus the rainbow trail looks great :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Great use of the theme. I thought the controls were very good, but a bit overwhelming at first. I wish the magnifier was needed more though - some areas with secret tiny passages would have been cool. Good job!

sebasRez says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Really nice work with the magnifying glass and level structure. That was a nice maze game. What could use a bit more polish would be the movement and floor wall placement. Still, the magnifying effect really made it a cool experience.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Quite beautiful and a very clever use of the theme.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:56am

Really awesome idea. Great style.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:02am

Very cool !

Chris M says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Very nice idea, and nice payoff as the maze literally goes rainbow. After the tutorial though, I feel the mechanics were never really relevant to the gameplay. I spent all my play through just looking at the line I was drawing rather than the magnified view. Maybe a greater disconnect between the two views, forcing the player to use both, would put the emphasis back on your cool zoom mechanics? All said, great stuff for 48hrs!

Canyon says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:08am

Technically very impressive, and innovative. But, I had no reason to actually want to explore the maze. Seeing how complex it was only made it less interesting to explore. If this was an exploration/sandbox game, I think the mechanic would be more useful, but here, it just made me not want to play.

That sounds bad, but I actually rated you really highly (for everything except fun)

markusfisch says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Wow, what a big maze! Very interesting concept! I like it!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Nice maze game, I like the magnify control they are clever.
And the little rainbow trace is nice too :) Some monsters even simple ( static or moving in a loop ) would have help to make the player want to explore the maze.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:25pm

I love how you have made a really big level/maze and using a magnifier to make that you can see what you are doing. But I feels a bit empty.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]