Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Illinois Smith and the Temple of the Sky

by FacticiusVir - Compo Entry

Illinois Smith is the story of a treasure hunter - in the skies! Navigate the treacherous floating architecture and avoid the guardian golems to reach the treasure - but beware, the temple will twist around you as you explore!

--------------------

On the technical side, the game uses DirectX11, so it's Windows 7 (and up) only - sorry! Will try and get some ports out, but the engine is still very basic.
There's also a dependency on .NET 4.5, which you can get here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=30653

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#5Innovation4.60
#8Theme4.62
#227Overall3.55
#272Mood3.27
#291Fun3.38
#380Humor2.75
#518Graphics3.14
#642Audio2.56

Comments

cxsquared says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:12am

The idea is super cool! The controls could be a little tighter but the concept is so cool and original. Perfect interpretation of the theme.

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:12am

Very addicting, not the best art, but the effects on the map are incredible!

Fnkee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:13am

It can't get it to run. Running the Keeper.LD31.exe-file, but can't get anything but a gray display.
Running Windows 7.

Kwask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17am

Really awesome idea here! I didn't like the fact that it felt like I was hopping around on Mars, but I really like this concept!

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18am

This is one of the coolest "lives" mechanics I've ever seen. You get three tries before you fall off the screen. It perfectly fits with the theme and is just awesome. Though you will need the lives because the platforming controls are pretty difficult. AS a game itself it's not really playable but as a tech demo it's great. Hopefully you'll continue with this idea and make it into a full game some day.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18am

This was awesomely innnovative. At first I thought I was having weird graphical glitches, but then it becomes clear what's going on. Then I thought that I glitched through the floor, but surprise!, that was part of the plan too.

The only problem is the character moves so slowly I wasn't even able to get past the first enemy. Maybe I'm just missing something though. Do you take two hits from the golems?

FacticiusVir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18am

@Fnkee Had one or two people say the same thing - not sure what the missing dependency is, will try and fix it ASAP

Seraphina says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

Your level scrolling mechanic is amazing. My only real complaint is that the character moves WAY to slow. The way my laptop fan was running while playing this I think it might just be an optimization issue. Other than that this was a great take on the theme.

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:33am

Can't seem to be any exe file in the zip, but maybe I'm wrong. Anyway, couldn't play it :'(

FacticiusVir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:36am

@Andrea The file to run is Keeper.LD31.exe

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:06am

Great idea, hope you continue to work on it after LD.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58pm

This game looks bananas. In a good way.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59pm

What a crazy idea! I enjoyed it a lot, just couldn't get lost in it because of the graphics. I think with some art and audio this could be an A+ game.

AndresGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43am

Liked the concept, good take on the theme. Would have rather be able to move faster. I felt like a snail. Good job, keep it up!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:39am

Probably the first game I've ever played that I could best describe as "boustrophedonic." XD

Love the scroll effect, and the way the game reverses course between "lives," though the jump physics leave much to be desired.

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:21am

Really cool idea, difficult as hell but an amazing concept.

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Awesome concept. You've really nailed the theme there! The controls are a bit fiddly but I really love the mechanic for "Lives".

alecmilne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Great interpretation of the theme! Really interesting way to set the player back on a mistake.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Good Work ^^

alvarop says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I'm just gonna say WOW.

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:09pm

I love this idea and how the wrapping is so nicely integrated with how you lose lives. There's a lot of feedback issues with the platforming, but if you want to keep working on this, there's plenty of resources out there to help make that feel a lot better. The visual of the wrapping screen looked really cool. I think there are some fun design implications of this (like how on your second life you are suddenly going the opposite direction, etc). Nice job!

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Ok!Super cool idea!You rock!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:47am

Loved this when I saw this at the London event and still love it now, great stuff. Platforming seems a little iffy at times though.

ponk says ...
Jan 2, 2015 @ 8:10pm

AweessooOOoomme...!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]