Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Asking Out Simulator

by sanchitgulati - Compo Entry

This game is an experiment with interactive text based adventure, where you as a guy tries to ask a girl out.

Lacks depth as of this moment, but hopefully you will enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Humor3.96
#27Theme4.41
#54Mood3.77
#88Audio3.64
#132Overall3.70
#168Innovation3.74
#193Fun3.52
#419Graphics3.31
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

Boog33 says ...
Dec 6, 2014 @ 9:29pm

This is the most ingenious game ever made in the history of Ludum Dare. Good job.

Dec 6, 2014 @ 9:46pm

sweet game! finally survived after the first couple of tries! Reminds me of TellTale Games designs!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 6, 2014 @ 10:24pm

I can't cop with it - I am a weirdoo

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:50am

Lol, can you even win this? Very funny game. :D

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:58am

@crating4u ya, you can.
@everybody : thanks. loved your comments.
@Boog33 : you made my day.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Solid design, and solid gameplay. Much enjoyment. Cuts right to the action (unlike mine D: )

Newt_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19am

Very, very sleek! There were a few typos that distracted me a bit, but overall, very fun. And hard! It seems we had similar interpretations of the "Single Screen" theme. I guess great minds think alike! :)

Vtor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00am

That's great, my only complaints are the lack of scrolling up and the blank space at the bottom half of the screen.
You nailed it!

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:03am

@gallerdude : thanks
@Newt_ : sorry about that, we all were tired
@Vtor : thanks for the feedback, will polish it as soon as possible.

Gread72 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Well done ... This is definitely a top contender to win.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:26am

Fun little game! I actually liked the layout. It was fresh :-)

Wayward says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14am

Fantastic Idea!

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:30pm

@Gread72 : thanks , but sadly no votes this time.
@Meruki : thanks, can't take full credit for that
@Wayward :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Very slick design, and nice dialogue! The background noise really helps with immersion. I am bad at picking up girls though :(

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:41am

The feels are too real bro! :'(

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:20am

@Drtizzle , this game is not perfect, So don't get dis hearted. :P
@Lynx :'(

Domicuc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:10pm

First game on Ludum ? I like it! :) Also check my project if you have some time mate :)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Great concept. I didn't follow all the branches yet (so I don't know how far the story goes) but I can totally see where you're going with this. Very cool idea and well executed!

BK-TN says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:42pm

This is excellent, accurately simulates real life.. :(

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48pm

@Domicuc ..yupp, first LD.
but definitely will play your game mate .
But if end up on this page again,
try this url : gamejolt.com/games/strategy-sim/parenting-101/36266/

@ben_plxplz thanks. ya, it has come up well but could use a lot more work in story depth.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Quite funny. File me under the weirdos. Um wait, don't.

KeeperofBee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:57pm

This is super fun dude! Great job!, Would love to see a full version with different persons to ask out or such and more options maybe ;)

FoxFiesta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Hey that was FUN
and it reminds you how random life is
i'm going to cry now

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:58am

@JJEvil :)
@keeperofBee ya, there is definitely some potential here. Will try my best of devote some time.
@FoxFiesta game wasn't suppose to be total random. There was suppose to be a flow.Yes, girls do say random things at random time. But if you felt it was totally random, it's my fault.

DA_KID says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Pretty good, polished little game. Could use some more content though.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:10am

Kind of weird since I'm not sure if it's trying to teach morals or not -- it criticizes you for lying, yet apparently tries to encourage you to guilt trip a girl for thinking you're ugly. That was the only option I found from searching nearly all the paths that actually worked, but maybe there are others.

Funny in a weird way though, like a choose your own adventure where practically every option is terrible.

Where did you record the audio? I was thinking it was some good use of a source clip, but then I noticed it was a compo game. You found somewhere really ideal since I never noticed it looping.

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:32am

@GAFBlizzard : firstly, idealism doesn't work, so no path is wrong and no path is right. Basically you can come back from any path taken unless you went to far. It also depends how abrupt you were and how comfortable you made her feel.

My main objective with this game was to explore interactive dialog writing.
I spend only 6 hours on this, so it does have rough edges and if you trust me, cliffs as well.
But I learned a lot. Making this LD a winner for me.

That audio clip is from the internet, link is on the source page.

Even this framework is a work of a different game designer, as credited in the credit section inside the game. (although, he made this code unlicensed).

Florent says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:49am

Nice, that was an interesting entry !
You should put a link to there from itch.io.

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:04am

@Florent : done.
Why didn't I think of this before.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:57am

I liked the concept, but often the options I could pick and the results seemed surprisingly different from each other. And oftentimes the orange text would backseat drive and lecture me when I did something "wrong." How am I supposed to know that I'm lying when I say I'm the cute person in the photo? I can't see myself or the photo!

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:44am

I dont know why but for me I really liked the fact there was a 'third person' (the 'ghost'). Smooth & funny

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]