Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Strikethrough

by Ian Morrison - Compo Entry

Survive as long as you can against a gauntlet of security droids. With no weapons at hand, your only way to destroy the machines is to kick them into a wall or one another! Dash around them to avoid shots and set up the perfect angle, then set them flying with a well placed kick. Chain them together for bonus points and go for a high score!

Controls:
WASD for movement and choosing dash/attack direction
Space to jump and dash in midair (you can do this multiple times)
Return to attack

Update - alternate controls:
Arrow keys for movement and X for attack are now options
Controller support works, tested on XBox360 controller. A to jump, B to attack, left control stick for directions.

Engine: Unity
Code: C#, Visual Studio
Art: Photoshop and 3DS MAX
Sound: Unity SFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#21Fun4.03
#38Overall3.95
#108Graphics3.95
#193Innovation3.68
#238Mood3.31
#271Theme3.84
#552Audio2.72

Comments

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28am

Wow! Very fun game. I played a lot longer than any other game, so far. Really well done. Such good execution, considering the time frame.

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29am

Great animation and artwork! It took me a while to figure out the dashing mechanics, but it was pretty cool when I did. I'd suggest a different control scheme though, enter to attack was weird.

gamedevBear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29am

Loved it. Took a while to notice the health bar. I scored 885 :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30am

Insanely fun! A bit system taxing, but the physics and combat are solid. Very addictive gameplay. Awesome work!

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:41am

Just for the animations alone, to make this in 48hrs is amazing! I loved playing with the broken pieces.

Thommy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49am

Very nicely animated character. This is the kind of game I would like to play with a gamepad. Good job!

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02am

420 final score! Difficult but fun to play. It would be nice if the player looks in the attack direction.

maxyan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:37am

Well done!

ken says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:39am

Really impressive game! Only input from me would be that it would have been nice to include the menu in the same area as the battling takes place, just to include the theme into it just that much more.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:46am

The controls were a bit awkward, but it was a pretty fun, if simple, game. The graphics were incredible, I can't believe you pulled all of that off in just two days.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:50am

very cool! controls are a little unintuitive especially attack. i like the start menu.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:51am

Fantastic graphics and gameplay!

My only complaint is the controls. Why enter? Using X or something similar would have worked better, as it wouldn't be so foreign.
Maybe something entirely different? I don't know... It's just weird the way it is now.

zanenga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Awesome! I love the character animations! I wish the jump and dash were different buttons, though. It would make it a lot easier to play.

caporaltito says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Nice combat game!

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18pm

880, really fun, though I had the impression to rely more on luck than skill ^^
Nice work :)

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:19pm

A little late for a lot of you, but I've added some alternate control options (check the description). Thanks for playing my entry!

Rundrop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:24pm

I didnt think I would like this, but all the sudden I became a robot murdering ninja! Awesome game with easy to use controls and a great concept!

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24am

This was really cool. Very interesting take on platformer genre. Felt kind of like a super saiyan. Decent take on the theme.

jstzwd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07am

Inedible! Though the jumping is a little difficult to control, I like the kicking mechanism a lot!

DavidLv says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Cool, Do you build this game in 48 hour? It's amazing.

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I found the game rather difficult, but it was fun!

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Awesome game! It felt pretty sweet kicking those droids into each other and smashing them against the screen border. Great job!

Shpuld says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:39am

Really nice game, some music on the background would've been the cherry on the cake.

RadStar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:40am

Fun game! Control are a bit weird though

ragtagradical says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:44am

This game is really great! Played through twice. The strategy gets pretty interesting! The animations and FX really sell it.

QuexD says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:18am

wow that was awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]